We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing glimpse into history!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thomas Jefferson's Monticello

Thomas Jefferson's Monticello
931 Thomas Jefferson Parkway, Charlottesville, VA 22902
434-984-9822
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$95*
and up
Monticello and Thomas Jefferson Country Day Trip...
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Gardens, Cultural
Activities: Antiquing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Monticello and its many historical rooms, gadgets, furniture, buildings, and artifacts tell us a lot about Thomas Jefferson, the president who built it and lived there.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Petal, Mississippi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing glimpse into history!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

A colleague of mine and I made time during a recent business trip to visit Monticello. With our journey taking us through Charlottesville, it was too tempting not to take the opportunity to see the historic home of Thomas Jefferson. I have visited several historic homes and sites over the years. I would have to say this was the most diligently maintained historic site I've ever seen. It was an incredible learning experience and a true glimpse 'back in time' of what life was like for the Jefferson family, their friends and their servants and slaves as well. There is a wonderful visitor's center with a museum, cafe, theatre & gift shop. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable about the home and grounds. I was pleasantly surprised at the ticket prices for the guided tours. Much less than what I expected to pay. After the formal house tour, guests are encouraged to explore the grounds which include sites of the slaves homes, workshops, gardens and other areas of interest. It's incredible the amount of history still to be learned from Monticello. Archeological excavations were actually underway on the grounds while we were there. The surrounding countryside is beautiful and there is a lovely nature trail. You can also walk down a path behind the home to visit Mr. Jefferson's gravesite.
When you visit Monticello, be sure to allow plenty of time for your stay. There is so much to see, so much to learn, you definitely do not want to be rushed.
Very well worth your time to visit Monticello.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,801
    425
    68
    19
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Plan to spend the day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We arrived at Monticello at 9am and spent the entire day immersed in the world of Thomas Jefferson. I would suggest making reservations ahead of time on line for the two house tours that are available. The second floor tour is limited to 15 people and tends to fill up quickly. The garden tour and the slavery tour are both outside and do not require reservations. The guides on all the tours were excellent...well informed and entertaining. The grounds are beautiful and a pleasure to stroll around on a beautiful day. The new visitor center has an excellent gift shop as well as an introductory movie and a nice cafe serving food made with local ingredients. Check the weather report before going since so much of the Monticello experience is outside you really don't want to be there if it's raining.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Block Island, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“True piece of History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Jefferson was 1 smart man. all of this is exemplified through out his home and gardens. amazing how advanced he was with his tools , ice box, gardens and his writing machine. absolutely amazing place to visit if you haven't already

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was definitely the highlight of our trip. The tour was excellent and very well done. The grounds and exhibitions were top notch. The movie was interesting and informative. All employees were super courteous and helpful. We purchased the Presidents' Pass which combined Monticello, President Monroe's Highland and the Michie Tavern Tour. We were very glad we did as we enjoyed the other two properties, too. Would love to return in the spring to see the gardens in bloom.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Worth spending several hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Mabe because Monticello is a place on my bucket list, we really enjoyed our visit. There are multiple tours to take, depending on your interests and time. The Behind the Scenes tour was the only thing definitely NOT worth the time and money--we hardly got to see anything additional and the tour guide wanted to talk almost solely about his involvement with Monticello.
As a bonus, the cafe offers a very good variety of interesting, healthy food.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thomas Jefferson's Monticello also viewed

 

Been to Thomas Jefferson's Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thomas Jefferson's Monticello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.