We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Charlottesville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Charlottesville to your Saves list
Omni Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   212 Ridge McIntire Rd., Charlottesville, VA 22903   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Richmond, United States
1 review
“Wonderful Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I received excellent customer service from the front desk workers and they were so helpful in answering questions that I had after my arrival when I had to call back downstairs. The room was so clean and it smelled so fresh, it was wonderful that the room had robes and an iron/ironing board. I did not expect to find those items in the room nor did I expect that the room would have a fridge either but to my surprise it did. The only thing that would have put the icing on the cake, if my room also had a microwave.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    318
    74
    42
    13
See reviews for
231
313
45
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Illinois
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

While visiting UVA, we spent one night at the Omni Charlottesville. Its not spectacular by any means but its a solid hotel in a neat location right on the pedestrian walkway. The rooms were comfortable and provided all the necessary things. The walls are pretty thin so hearing closing doors is a regular occurrence. We only ate breakfast in the hotel and the buffet was quite good. There are several restaurant choices within close walking distance. Bottom line is that its a reliable and perfectly acceptable hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We went to the Omni Charlottesville for one night because we were going to the Sarah McLaughlan concert at the Pavillion that evening. There were several things that really annoyed me about this hotel.

1. On some websites it states that if you are going to something at the pavilion you get a 10% discount. This apparently isn't true.

2. They don't have a AAA discount. Moreover I burned time because even the person booking originally thought they did.

3. If you don't choose valet parking, you have to go park in a parking garage, and it appears that you have to pay to go in it, which annoyed us as we were staying there. Apparently you didn't, but it would have been nice if that had been posted somewhere so we weren't thinking we were paying more.

b. Adding to this. People who use the valet for some reason get the prime parking spots in the garage even though they aren't getting their cars. I would love to know why the valet gets all the best spots in the closest location to the hotel. It should be the other way around. Are the valets guests? Aren't they working?

4. The whole hotel is in this muted, brown color. To me, it fits a style reminiscent of the 1970's. Also, there was a smell on our floor that wasn't pleasant.

5. Don't advertise breakfast on our bed- ecspecially if it's going to be 13-19 dollars for something that you can get for 5 dollars a block away.

6. Our tub didn't drain. When we reported it, they wanted to give us free things from the gift shop. Too late.

7. Half the rooms have a decent view. The other half get the view of the entrance of the hotel where people meet and have dinner. While not apparent at the ground level, the lighting is that typical of what you see in a hospital or public school. You find that out when you try to sleep at night and it's shining through your window. At least have blackout curtains.

8. The room was adequate, but not worth 175 dollars a night. We could have done the equivalent a little farther away for MUCH cheaper. Heck, the #1 hotel on trip advisor was cheaper than this one.

9. The air conditioning, while working, certainly didn't go down to what we set, and made quite a bit of noise.

10. Paid WiFi? Really?- and for 15 dollars? We could go to the Hampton Inn, pay 70-80 a night and get it for free!

When we get the opportunity to go to Charlottesville in the future, we will not be going to the Omni. It's only real perk is that it has a great location close to the walking mall and the pavilion. There are other hotels that I am sure are much better not too much farther away. I made a mistake not following trip advisor and getting the best hotel, and sacrificing quality for location. I won't make that mistake again. This hotel is only average, and honestly, has some gall calling itself a resort. The only thing that qualifies it as a resort is that they price stuff like it's a resort. It's nothing of the type.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get the room that face the pavilion area (where the restaurants are). Insist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Charlottesville, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience concerning your recent stay at our hotel.

We read your comments with our team related to the visit you had to our property. I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations on the areas mentioned. We feel terrible that your experience was unsatisfactory.

Our Director of Engineering and Director of Housekeeping are working on the comments related to the room to make sure we can fix and improve those areas. We did not have the AAA rate available on that date due to a sold out night. I looked at the website of the nTelos Pavilion. I saw the 10% discount you mentioned however that discount is offered by the South Street Inn Hotel only, not for all the businesses on that page.

Once again, thank you for bringing these matters to our attention as it is through concerned guests such as yourself that we may be made aware of situations that might otherwise go unnoticed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The hotel is in a great location at one end of the historic downtown mall. There are so many dining and shopping options within a short walk. The hotel is fine, not spectacular, but comfortable and the staff is friendly. Great shower pressure. I felt it's just a little overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The omni is perfectly situated in downtown charlottesville. Plenty to do on downtown mall and just a short drive to UVA. We try to always stay at the Omni when ever we are in town. Comfortbale clean rooms and a pleasant staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying a night at the Charlottesville Omni Hotel. The hotel is beautiful and the room was clean and full of special touches to make my stay special. The staff was friendly,and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Charlottesville.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms Brook, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We were ecstatic with our room in the tree tops and the sophisticated, cultured and considerate atmosphere created for us as guests. From the front doorman through the automated elevator voice, we were treated gently with profound deferrance. Outstanding customer service transferred into a perfect stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Charlottesville

Address: 212 Ridge McIntire Rd., Charlottesville, VA 22903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#1 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Charlottesville 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Omni Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Omni Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Omni Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Charlottesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.