We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Charlottesville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Charlottesville to your Saves list
Omni Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   212 Ridge McIntire Rd., Charlottesville, VA 22903   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

The rooms are comfortable and nicely appointed, but a little worn with age. Very comfortable beds and pillows. Had great staff with one exception, I observed a doorman "pretend" not to see an elderly lady and let her struggle with the door herself. Never ok, in my opinion. If you work at the hotel and are standing by the door, you should ALWAYS hold it open for a guest. Otherwise a pleasant place to stay. Located in a downtown area. Seems like a pretty safe area, lots of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    298
    66
    39
    13
See reviews for
210
283
42
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
189 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

This hotel is located on the Downtown Mall of Charlottesville.

Check out the Charlottesville Ice Park which is right next door if you've got kids with you or if you want to play hockey they have various drop in and pick up times.

The rooms are nice and the restaurant and bar area are nice.

This hotel is located downtown so is great for business or pleasure.

There are a number of other restuarants located in the area.

I've also learned this is where the bands/groups stay when playing at JPJ as well.

  • Liked — Location, Ice Park
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ridge Mountains
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

I stayed at the Omni for 3 nights on a business trip in March 2008. Check-in was a breeze and my room was very clean and comfortable. I found no problems with any of the elevators in the entire hotel. There are dozens of restaurants and boutiques within walking distance, and I didn't need to use my car for my entire stay. Room service was very fast and the breakfast was good. I used the fitness area twice and it was very clean, all the equipment worked, and they provided water and towels. The pool and jacuzzi area was small but appeared to be clean. Hotel staff was very accommodating and I was able to sleep well with the exception of a few noisy guests that checked in late and didn't seem to care if anyone else was asleep. Other than that, pleasant stay, great location, clean rooms, and polite staff. It's a great place to have a convention and a very convenient location.

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — The price is rather high.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2008

Spent one night at the Omni recently while on a business trip in Charlottesville. Loved the feel of the hotel and the location - right at the edge of the downtown pedestrian mall area, walking distance to a ton of restaurants, the ice rink, movie theater. Room was very cozy, they had the TV tuned to some special channel that just piped in relaxing new-age music with beautiful outdoor scenery. So peaceful and relaxing that I left it on all night without even realizing it. They have an alarm clock with an MP3 player hookup - I have a Zune and *HATE* places that only give you an iPod port. The best thing about the hotel was the staff - they really were bending over backwards to satisfy my every need. It started with the front desk people that had me checked in before I arrived. Later they gave me directions, booked me a cab (and sent over a written confirmation!), got me toothpaste... Everything I possibly needed, they were there for it. The only sub-par aspect was the pool/spa area. The indoor pool was tiny and the water looked somewhat unclean. The Jacuzzi was even worse - not bad, but very industrial looking, not at all relaxing. I didn't use the gym but it appeared small and not that great.

  • Liked — Customer service, location
  • Disliked — jacuzzi & pool
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, VA
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

The location of this hotel is fantastic. Located at the end of the downtown open air mall you have many dinning and shopping choices. The mall seems to stay fairly busy regardless of the weather. Our room was very clean, up to date, and well appointed. The only down side to the stay is on the morning of check out, at 8:30, the cleaning staff knocked on our door to find out if we were checking out that day. Fortunately we were up and getting ready and not trying to sleep in. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Liked — Location, location, location!
  • Disliked — Early knock from cleaning staff.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2007

We went to Charlottesville on Christmas Day to spend the night at the Omni (repeat visit) so that we could visit a particular store on the 26th. Excellent customer service, some of the best seen. If you are interested in the "old town" section of the city, this is the best place to stay. Excellent food, although a bit expensive. Bathrooms are a bit tired, but the rest of the room is up to scale that one would expect from an Omni Hotel. We really enjoyed our stay and will return again.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west england
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2007

The location of the hotel, directly on the Downtown Mall, makes this place worth the $200 a night that we paid. That and its upmarket feel.

The front desk staff were welcoming, helpful and efficient. The room was very comfortable with a mini-bar, bathrobes and a somewhat excessive seven pillows on each bed. There's secure parking underneath the hotel.

If there is to be one criticism, it's the thin walls. The occupants of the next room could be clearly heard, erm, "having fun". It was mercifully brief (if you know what I mean).

Dinners at Bizou and the Downtown Grille were both good. Breakfast in the hotel was OK on morning we tried it. The other morning we had breakfast at a diner on the Mall (Chaps?).

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Thin walls & price
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Charlottesville

Address: 212 Ridge McIntire Rd., Charlottesville, VA 22903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#3 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Charlottesville 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Omni Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Omni Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Omni Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Charlottesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.