We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to visit again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Charlottesville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Charlottesville to your Saves list
Omni Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   212 Ridge McIntire Rd., Charlottesville, VA 22903   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Can't wait to visit again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

The Omni offered attentive service and comfortable, clean and nicely decorated rooms. We received free morning beverages delivered to our room since we signed up for the Omni Select Guest Program. Hotel is situated at the end of the downtown walking mall, so restaurants and boutiques are just out the doors. Fitness center was stocked with towels and chilled lemon water. Many unexpected luxuries!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    297
    66
    39
    13
See reviews for
207
282
41
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Located on the 'Mall' area of historic Charlottesville with convenient walking to shops, restaurants, art galleries, live music venues, and the University of Virginia. Gracious staff and well-maintained property with covered parking. In town transit just outside of hotel to all points in the city. Mall starts here and is an adventure in every way! Monticello a short five miles away.

Room Tip: Ask for views of the Blue Ridge Mts. or the University area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
441 helpful votes 441 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

My spouse and I stayed at this hotel over the Memorial Day weekend in late May 2011. This hotel has a prime location on the downtown pedestrian mall. The hotel was a bit difficult to find by car, but perhaps relying solely on our GPS led us astray. It’s also difficult to see the hotel entrance from the street, as well as its name on the marquis over the door. An atrium filled with trees and a fountain is quite attractive; part of the restaurant/bar also enters into the lobby, making it a pleasant place to eat or drink. The hotel restaurant also has outdoor seating overlooking the mall. Outside the entrance to the restaurant, complimentary coffee is offered in the morning; complimentary water is offered in the lobby throughout the rest of the day. The hotel has a small coffee shop serving Starbucks products, but it is only open limited hours; the shop also sells items that you may have forgotten and a few souvenir items. Be sure to sign up for the Omni Select Guest program, which delivers a hot beverage and a cold beverage to every guest in your room at a self-selected time each morning, along with either a local or national newspaper. In the evenings, Select Guests receive a turndown, with some sort of small bar snack and bottled water. (We’ve enjoyed this Omni perk for years, and always wonder how long they can maintain this complimentary service for their guests.) Self-parking is free in a covered garage (alternatively, it costs $10 to valet park). We did not get a room upgrade despite having a coupon; the hotel was supposedly sold out because it was hosting a wedding that weekend. (The atrium area featured both an afternoon reception and an evening reception on the Saturday night that we were there, showing that we were not the only people who found the space attractive.) The hotel has a gym and an indoor/outdoor pool. Both parts of the pool are small, but it was nice to sit outside and get some sun and take a dip if the weather is cooperative. (There were about six lounge chairs, and one table with four chairs and an umbrella.) Our standard king-size room was very large and comfortable, but bathroom was quite small and dated; there is barely enough room for one person to stand, and you could not close the door without squeezing past the toilet. The free city shuttle throughout the town stops near the hotel, but it’s also possible to walk to many restaurants and shops on the pedestrian mall. I would definitely stay here again - the location can’t be beat!

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Charlottesville, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
We appreciate your review of The Omni Charlottesville Hotel. We apologize that you initially had trouble finding our entrance. GPS systems will frequently bring travelers to the back of our hotel instead of our main entrance. We've been working to resolve this issue with many of the GPS providers but until we can have it corrected, we list an alternate address on our website directions that will bring you directly to our main entrance. Thank you for all of the compliments you shared in your review and for being a loyal customer of Omni Hotels. We are thrilled that you enjoy our Select Guest program and hope to welcome you back to one of our hotels soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

A modern outward appearance masks a slightly tired feel to this hotel , particularly the bedrooms . This did not in any way , however, spoil the enjoyment of our three night stay here . Probably the most centrally located of all Charlottesvilles hotels , a large, bright , airy atrium leads directly out on to the city's famous pedestrian mall . All public areas are kept spotlessly clean . Bar and restaurant had a wide variety of drinks and food at not ridiculous prices with staff who were both friendly and professional. There is some outdoor seating overlooking one end of the mall. To the rear of the premises ,a large parking area..partially covered..and complimentary..is accessable from an elevator near reception. There are also pool / fitness / conference facilities which I cannot comment on , ,but seemed to be well used and appreciated by other guests. Would I stay here again if visiting Charlottesville ?..Yes , if a good rate could be negotiated , and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone else heading for this area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Charlottesville, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Omni Charlottesville. Thank you for all of your complimentary comments and we hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elstree, Hertfordshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

The Omni is a seven storey hotel in the heart of Charlottesville, right on the Downtown Mall. This is a great location for the Downtown restaurants and shops. My wife and I had a very comfortable and clean room and we found all of the staff to be extremely helpful. They went out of their way to provide very good service, with help and advice about the local attractions. The hotel has a small indoor pool and an outdoor pool in a walled area, with lounge chairs, where we sunbathed. If you're staying in the Charlottesville area - either for business or pleasure - this is a definitely a hotel to consider.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Charlottesville, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Thank you for your recommendation of The Omni Charlottesville on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you and your wife enjoyed your time with us and we hope to have you as our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VIRGINIA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

What a great spot for Charlottesville. I parked my car in their free under-the-hotel garage and never went back to it until we checked out. Spent a relaxing weekend shopping in the artsy, walking mall, taking in a kids' movie matinee with a grandchild, and seeing the beautifully staged local opera production of "The King and I" at the Paramount Theatre. Great restaurants and yogurt shops with healthy choices and outside seating. Visible police presence along the mall each night, so we (3 generations of females) felt totally safe at all times.
Oh, and the Omni hotel itself is lovely: a multi-story atrium of glass, sun, fountain, and greenery greets you. Our room was comfortable with upscale bedding and toiletries. All staff were friendly and courteous. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Charlottesville, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
What a pleasure for us to read how much you and your family enjoyed your time in Charlottesville and at our hotel. We consider a return stay to be one of the highest compliments we can receive and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ijamsville, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I have stayed in a number of hotels in the Charlottesville area while traveling there for business and I found the Omni to be among the best I have visited. The desk staff was professional, courteous and fast during the checkin process and the valet parking attendant was very helpful to me in locating the free guest parking garage.

Parking, while free and roomy, was difficult to find at first based on the GPS directions I had. The parking is actually around the corner from where the GPS took me, but was easy to figure out.

I opted not to take advantage of the maid service during my stay, but noticed that they seemed quite helpful and attentive. My one negative about my stay was the self service refreshment bar. I decided to munch on a can of Pringles chips only to find that the can had been emptied by a prior guest and replaced as if onopened. The maid service did not detect this. After notifying the front dest however, the can was immediately replaced gratis to me.

I enjoyed my stay at the Omni and give it high marks for service and accomodation. Free Wifi for Omni Select members, as well as free parking, is a wonderful plus.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Charlottesville, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
We appreciate your complimentary review of The Omni Charlottesville. We have been trying to resolve the issue with GPS directions but have yet to come upon a solution. In the meantime, we do list an alternate address on the directions page of our website that will bring GPS users right to our front door. It was a pleasure for us to read your review and we hope to have you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Charlottesville

Address: 212 Ridge McIntire Rd., Charlottesville, VA 22903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#3 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Charlottesville 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Omni Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Omni Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Omni Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Charlottesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.