We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place To Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Emmet St, Route 29 South, Charlottesville, VA 22901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Clarksburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place To Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We can't say enough good about this place. Staff is WONDERFUL!! From check in, restaurant, room service, & check out- everyone was awesome! Rates were good, service was great, pool area nice, room service prices reasonable & food was yummy!

Room Tip: We were on third floor, which is the main floor. We were close to elevator, restaurant, check in/out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thanks for your great comments. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    83
    55
    20
    20
See reviews for
72
48
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Had to stay here for a couple of days while attending a conference. Staff were friendly and accomodating, and very helpful in giving directions and recommending places of interest.. Rooms were decent and clean very well. Overall, I have no complaints, however, I would recommend that they implement a shuttle service to the area malls located up and down Emmet Street. It would be very helpful for those not familiar with the area.

Room Tip: I would begin my room selection starting with the 4th floor. 3rd floor is the lobby, and second flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear needabrake31,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We decided to take our three daughters on a last minute trip to Charlottesville, VA to visit Monticello and UVA. The hotel staff was very friendly and made us feel very comfortable. There was nothing special about the room - it was a typical hotel room. Nothing great and not terrible. I did like the location as it was close to UVA. We would probably consider staying there again we're also interested in exploring other lodging.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear LJMQZ,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

It is marked as 3 star hotel. But when we get in the room, it smell bad, it feels like a 1 star hotel. The wall paper is peeling off. The toilet seat has burned mark on it, the bath tub is very old, have marks on it. The towers are stiff. The bathroom fan is not working. Overall, just not worth the price

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your helpful feedback. From these comments, we were able to identify the guest room and address the issues you referenced. Further, we have reviewed our guest room preventative maintenance and cleaning inspection processes to ensure such a room does not fall through the cracks again.
This room will be among the first redecorated later this summer. We hope that you will return and give us another chance to provide you with the value experience you expect and we usually provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hill, VA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed here with friends, had a total of 4 rooms. The rooms, while not anything fancy or super special, were clean, and that's what matters. The best thing was that there is an excellent patio area with a ton of chairs and lounge chairs, perfect for visiting with friends. The kids were able to swim, and it was right there next to the patio. A short drive to UVA, made it perfect for our sightseeing. The breakfast buffet was nice, lots of variety. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
We are glad to hear you had a clean room and enjoyed our patio and pool area. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed our proximity to UVA and other local attractions.
We are looking forward to a guest room redecoration later this Summer. After which, we expect you will find our rooms to be special and fancy! So we hope you will return later this year to check out our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, VA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has had a lot of work over the years. It has become a great hotel. Its conveniently located to UVA as well as restaurants. There is a grocery store right across the street. This hotel also has a bar area.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
We are glad to hear that you appreciate our proximity to UVA and great restaurants. We invite all of our guests to experience our own Emmet's restaurant and lounge.
We also appreciate that you noticed work that the hotel has completed in recent years. We look forward to additional improvements to the hotel beginning this Summer. Come back to check us out again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Had to go to Charlottesville last weekend and ended up staying in the Holiday Inn. It was in a great location on Rt 29 near the local mall, lots of restaurants and close to downtown. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the hotel was clean and organized. The room was large and everything worked well. The internet was fast. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thanks for the awesome comments. Our guest rooms are among the largest in the city and we recently made upgrades to our complimentary high speed internet access. We are glad you noticed.
And we are pleased to hear you experienced helpful and friendly service. Our team members pride themselves on their southern hospitality, while helping guests to feel at home. We look forward to hosting you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area

Address: 1901 Emmet St, Route 29 South, Charlottesville, VA 22901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Charlottesville Hotel- University Area and Conference Center. Our hotel is conveniently located on (Route 29) Emmet Street. The University of Virginia is located within one mile of the hotel. Nearby attractions include the University of Virginia, Monticello, Ashlawn-Highland, Wineries, Michie Tavern, Montpelier, and various boutique shops and galleries. Nearby companies and government offices include State Farm Regional Office, GE -Fanuc, Northrop Grumman, Lexi-Nexis, Klockner, Sprint, PRA, National Ground Intelligence Center, J.A.G. School, UVA Health Systems, and Biotage Technologies. Our newly renovated, spacious rooms include free high speed wireless Internet. We also offer a business center, fitness facility, pay per view movies, coffee/ tea makers, room service, guest laundry, free USA Today on the weekdays and complimentary shuttle service to the Charlottesville Airport. During your stay we invite you to dine at our Lobby Cafe'. We are the ideal location for your wedding, banquet, meeting or any special event. The Holiday Inn University area offers facilities to accommodate up to 300 people, with over 4,900 square feet of meeting space. Let our expert staff work for you in accommodating your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area Hotel Charlottesville
Holiday Inn University Area
Charlottesville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.