We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Emmet St, Route 29 South, Charlottesville, VA 22901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Waynesboro, VA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This hotel has had a lot of work over the years. It has become a great hotel. Its conveniently located to UVA as well as restaurants. There is a grocery store right across the street. This hotel also has a bar area.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
We are glad to hear that you appreciate our proximity to UVA and great restaurants. We invite all of our guests to experience our own Emmet's restaurant and lounge.
We also appreciate that you noticed work that the hotel has completed in recent years. We look forward to additional improvements to the hotel beginning this Summer. Come back to check us out again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    75
    54
    19
    20
See reviews for
70
42
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Had to go to Charlottesville last weekend and ended up staying in the Holiday Inn. It was in a great location on Rt 29 near the local mall, lots of restaurants and close to downtown. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the hotel was clean and organized. The room was large and everything worked well. The internet was fast. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thanks for the awesome comments. Our guest rooms are among the largest in the city and we recently made upgrades to our complimentary high speed internet access. We are glad you noticed.
And we are pleased to hear you experienced helpful and friendly service. Our team members pride themselves on their southern hospitality, while helping guests to feel at home. We look forward to hosting you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, Delaware
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Recently stayed at this HI near the college. Older, but recently remodeled. Very clean and very hospitable staff. Enjoyed the hotel and outdoor pool. We had a room at the end of the hall that was odd shaped. It had a gigantic foyer/hall extension upon entering the room. It was like they had forgotten this part of the hotel in the design. I could have been an excellent suite if they had incorporated the space into the room.

Room Tip: Try a room away from the road as there is a lot of traffic outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Our great team works hard to provide a warm and inviting atmosphere for our guests. We are glad to hear you appreciate our efforts.
In fact, the corner room described is large and unique! And we see the opportunity that you did. We will begin renovating those corner rooms later this summer to create new suites. We invite you to come back and request one of these special new rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hill
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here to be near a relative in the hospital. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was nice. There were plenty of places to eat and shop around the hotel and it was only minutes away from UVA and the hospital. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thanks for your great feedback! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our proximity to great, UVA, many tourist attractions, shopping, and restaurants are valued by many of our guests. In addition to so many other retail and eateries, the new upscale Shops at Stonefield boasts great shopping, a movie theater, great restaurants and is right across the street from the hotel. We also invite guests to try Emmet's restaurant which is located right inside the Holiday Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

the room was pretty clean, beds were not so comfortable. there was nothing special about the hotel or the room so i thought it was a bit over priced. i also would have liked a free breakfast, but you had to pay unfortunately

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for taking for taking the time to provide this feedback. While our team works hard to deliver a great stay experience for our guests, we are looking forward to a guest room redecoration this summer to increase our guest's value perception.
We also invite our guests to reserve the popular Best-4-Breakfast Package, which includes a full hot breakfast with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed here for the second time (prior visit in 2008), and saw noticeable improvements. Rooms, lobby, bar area, etc. All nicely upgraded. Very comfortable stay if visiting the Univ of Virginia and Charlottesville. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
We are glad to hear you had a comfortable stay, that is certainly one of our most important goals. And we are glad to hear that you found us convenient to the University and other attractions in the Charlottesville area. And we are excited that past improvements were well received. We are optimistic that you will enjoy the improvements that we have planned for 2014. So come back and check out our progress over the next several months!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The room was clean and pretty nice, except the phone and two of the lights were not working. Didn't ask to change room since we were only staying one night. There were two buses full of HS students checking in after us, so I guess this place tends to cater to travelling school events. The hotel is located near restaurants and a Trader Vic's as well as a bunch of shopping malls, so it's pretty convenient if you are tired and don't want to drive around looking for a place to eat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
We are happy to hear that you found us convenient to shopping and restaurants (most notably our own Emmet's restaurant). While we occasionally host some student groups, most of guests our families (leisure) and corporate travelers; so we work hard to ensure that our hotel would meet your needs!
We are very sorry that that we did not ensure that all the lights/phone were working properly in your room. We have reminded our team that that should be part of our daily routine when preparing guest rooms. We realize that you have multiple lodging choices, so we will do a better job ensuring a more consistently comfortable stay experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area

Address: 1901 Emmet St, Route 29 South, Charlottesville, VA 22901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Charlottesville Hotel- University Area and Conference Center. Our hotel is conveniently located on (Route 29) Emmet Street. The University of Virginia is located within one mile of the hotel. Nearby attractions include the University of Virginia, Monticello, Ashlawn-Highland, Wineries, Michie Tavern, Montpelier, and various boutique shops and galleries. Nearby companies and government offices include State Farm Regional Office, GE -Fanuc, Northrop Grumman, Lexi-Nexis, Klockner, Sprint, PRA, National Ground Intelligence Center, J.A.G. School, UVA Health Systems, and Biotage Technologies. Our newly renovated, spacious rooms include free high speed wireless Internet. We also offer a business center, fitness facility, pay per view movies, coffee/ tea makers, room service, guest laundry, free USA Today on the weekdays and complimentary shuttle service to the Charlottesville Airport. During your stay we invite you to dine at our Lobby Cafe'. We are the ideal location for your wedding, banquet, meeting or any special event. The Holiday Inn University area offers facilities to accommodate up to 300 people, with over 4,900 square feet of meeting space. Let our expert staff work for you in accommodating your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area Hotel Charlottesville
Holiday Inn University Area
Charlottesville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.