We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three night stay, well located, clean and tidy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Emmet St, Route 29 South, Charlottesville, VA 22901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Seaford, Delaware
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Three night stay, well located, clean and tidy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Recently stayed at this HI near the college. Older, but recently remodeled. Very clean and very hospitable staff. Enjoyed the hotel and outdoor pool. We had a room at the end of the hall that was odd shaped. It had a gigantic foyer/hall extension upon entering the room. It was like they had forgotten this part of the hotel in the design. I could have been an excellent suite if they had incorporated the space into the room.

Room Tip: Try a room away from the road as there is a lot of traffic outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Our great team works hard to provide a warm and inviting atmosphere for our guests. We are glad to hear you appreciate our efforts.
In fact, the corner room described is large and unique! And we see the opportunity that you did. We will begin renovating those corner rooms later this summer to create new suites. We invite you to come back and request one of these special new rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    70
    51
    17
    20
See reviews for
67
39
15
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Hill
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here to be near a relative in the hospital. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was nice. There were plenty of places to eat and shop around the hotel and it was only minutes away from UVA and the hospital. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thanks for your great feedback! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our proximity to great, UVA, many tourist attractions, shopping, and restaurants are valued by many of our guests. In addition to so many other retail and eateries, the new upscale Shops at Stonefield boasts great shopping, a movie theater, great restaurants and is right across the street from the hotel. We also invite guests to try Emmet's restaurant which is located right inside the Holiday Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

the room was pretty clean, beds were not so comfortable. there was nothing special about the hotel or the room so i thought it was a bit over priced. i also would have liked a free breakfast, but you had to pay unfortunately

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for taking for taking the time to provide this feedback. While our team works hard to deliver a great stay experience for our guests, we are looking forward to a guest room redecoration this summer to increase our guest's value perception.
We also invite our guests to reserve the popular Best-4-Breakfast Package, which includes a full hot breakfast with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed here for the second time (prior visit in 2008), and saw noticeable improvements. Rooms, lobby, bar area, etc. All nicely upgraded. Very comfortable stay if visiting the Univ of Virginia and Charlottesville. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
We are glad to hear you had a comfortable stay, that is certainly one of our most important goals. And we are glad to hear that you found us convenient to the University and other attractions in the Charlottesville area. And we are excited that past improvements were well received. We are optimistic that you will enjoy the improvements that we have planned for 2014. So come back and check out our progress over the next several months!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The room was clean and pretty nice, except the phone and two of the lights were not working. Didn't ask to change room since we were only staying one night. There were two buses full of HS students checking in after us, so I guess this place tends to cater to travelling school events. The hotel is located near restaurants and a Trader Vic's as well as a bunch of shopping malls, so it's pretty convenient if you are tired and don't want to drive around looking for a place to eat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
We are happy to hear that you found us convenient to shopping and restaurants (most notably our own Emmet's restaurant). While we occasionally host some student groups, most of guests our families (leisure) and corporate travelers; so we work hard to ensure that our hotel would meet your needs!
We are very sorry that that we did not ensure that all the lights/phone were working properly in your room. We have reminded our team that that should be part of our daily routine when preparing guest rooms. We realize that you have multiple lodging choices, so we will do a better job ensuring a more consistently comfortable stay experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

we had a room around the corner in a nook. despite a bachelor's party in the main hall, we never heard a sound even though it was a Friday night and the hotel was full. breakfast was a choice of buffet or full service either of which was excellent.b

Room Tip: if you have a room in a nook hallway like we did, go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for this valued feedback. Our team is dedicated to delivering great service to every guest and we are glad that your stay reflects our effort. We are especially glad to hear that you enjoyed our Holiday Inn Best-for-Breakfast experience. You can even reserve a special rate stay that includes breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We booked through Hotels.com and were placed in a smoking room. They said they had nothing else available and they would not issue a credit or refund for the second night so that we could move elsewhere. The room was in the basement and disconnected from the main part of the hotel. Dirty, dingy and horribly stinky. Nor was our room cleaned in a timely manner - we arrived back at 5pm and it still had not been cleaned. Do not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We are sorry for your experience. I will work with our Housekeeping leadership to ensure our smoking rooms are in better shape and the smoke smell cleared after each guest departure. We are looking forward to guest room redecoration projects beginning later this summer to all rooms, that will especially upgrade our few smoking rooms.
Additionally, we encourage guests to book reservations through the hotel, our website, or Holiday Inn reservations; where you can take advantage of the Best Price Guarantee. Moreover, we will confirm a non-smoking room at the time of booking, if that is your preference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area

Address: 1901 Emmet St, Route 29 South, Charlottesville, VA 22901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Charlottesville Hotel- University Area and Conference Center. Our hotel is conveniently located on (Route 29) Emmet Street. The University of Virginia is located within one mile of the hotel. Nearby attractions include the University of Virginia, Monticello, Ashlawn-Highland, Wineries, Michie Tavern, Montpelier, and various boutique shops and galleries. Nearby companies and government offices include State Farm Regional Office, GE -Fanuc, Northrop Grumman, Lexi-Nexis, Klockner, Sprint, PRA, National Ground Intelligence Center, J.A.G. School, UVA Health Systems, and Biotage Technologies. Our newly renovated, spacious rooms include free high speed wireless Internet. We also offer a business center, fitness facility, pay per view movies, coffee/ tea makers, room service, guest laundry, free USA Today on the weekdays and complimentary shuttle service to the Charlottesville Airport. During your stay we invite you to dine at our Lobby Cafe'. We are the ideal location for your wedding, banquet, meeting or any special event. The Holiday Inn University area offers facilities to accommodate up to 300 people, with over 4,900 square feet of meeting space. Let our expert staff work for you in accommodating your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area Hotel Charlottesville
Holiday Inn University Area
Charlottesville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.