We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, Inaccessible, Not Worthy of Holiday Inn Franchise” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Emmet St, Route 29 South, Charlottesville, VA 22901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“Old, Inaccessible, Not Worthy of Holiday Inn Franchise”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had the worst possible stay on a rainy weekend. Unfortunately, I cannot think of anything nice to say about this hotel.

Charlottesville is a beautiful city but if you pick a bad hotel, your stay can be the most unsatisfying. This hotel is located on a busy intersection and it is really difficult to get in and out of the parking lot. Once you are in your room, you can enjoy the ugly views of the same busy street and grocery store across the road. Don't expect views of Shenandoah from this hotel.

The hotel is also very dated. The furniture is falling apart. We had a 1 foot long metal rod sticking out of one of the uncomfortable beds. Watch your shins in this one.

I am surprised that Holiday Inn is willing put its name on this operation. Certainly not worthy of a major brand and definitely not a 3 star hotel. Stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCF48, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Bobby RVA,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience in Charlottesville. We are sorry to hear about your stay and we are remorseful that you had nothing nice to say about your visit. I believe the weekend that you stayed; it did rain for three straight days. I am sad that it was rainy and gloomy for your visit. As you stated Charlottesville is a wonderful city to visit.

We have two entrances, one on Hydraulic Road beside the hotel across from the new town center, and then the front entrance on Emmet Street N. I know that busy weekend traffic can be a aggravating in Charlottesville. The Shenandoah is located 40 plus miles west from Charlottesville. On your next visit to Charlottesville try visiting Carter’s Mountain, which has spectacular views of the Charlottesville area. On a clear day from our top floors one can view Carter’s Mountain. We have replaced all beds with Serta bedding in the past year, which is their top of the line bedding. I know bedding can be very subjective.
Again thank you for your comments and please feel free to call me, I would like to know more about your past stay.

Warmest regards,


Charles Friend
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    70
    51
    17
    20
See reviews for
67
39
15
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durham, NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed two nights on a weekend while attending a wedding. Overall, a fine stay and a good value. Some thoughts:

Pros:
Friendly service.
Clean rooms.
Free access to Gold's Gym right across the road
Indoor pool looked nice, although we did not take advantage.

Cons:
Rooms (mainly bathrooms) could use some updating
Fitness room was a joke. Two treadmills, a bike, and a broken stair climber. But, see the "pro" above about Gold's Gym.
Getting in/out of this property can be a nightmare during busy traffic times.
Would have been nice to have breakfast included.

Next time I'm in Charlottesville I would probably look for another option, but wouldn't rule this one out!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I've been here for 3 days and have only gotten a 25 percent off coupon for the very sub standard breakfast. I still have not had a maid enter my room and the rooms are very noisy. The shuttle will take you anywhere within a five-mile radius which is nice but sometimes you have to wait an hour to get it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Peanutranch,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. It is unfortunate that we were not able to meet or exceed your expectations on this visit. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you may have had with the housekeeping service and noise levels experienced.

We value you as our IHG Rewards Club Gold Member and we all hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Had to make a last minute reservation for coming in to Charlottesville, VA. The lobby and parking area clean. Friendly staff. The room was clean and quiet. Shower had wonderful water pressure for shower! The bed was a little to firm for my liking. This Holiday Inn does not offer a breakfast. Plenty or restaurants and a Whole Foods within walking distance.

Room Tip: Request a room on the back side of the hotel. This hotel is on a busy street. There could be the pot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

While go to Myrtle beach south Carolina our family stop here to visit Thomas Jefferson monticello. The price was reasonable and the bed where uncomfortable. The pullout couch was more confortable. we go the two queen beds and they look smaller than usual. The bed were sleep number and I tried to put it soft but it was still firm. The food for breakfast was good. This always what your going to expect at a hotel

Room Tip: Go with just a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Lorenzo D M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here for the weekend with my Mom. Not bad for the price. The good: Clean, convenient, very friendly staff, price is right. The Bad: Difficult to get to the property coming off I-64. You have to do a U-turn and immediately turn from the far right lane. This is almost impossible during high volume traffic. The walls are very thin. We could hear voices from the next room speaking at a normal conversation level, and any hallway noise will wake you. Overall, no major problems. We ate breakfast in the restaurant - good. I never eat dinner at hotel restaurants as they are usually average at best, so can't comment on this one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewistown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I took the family to visit relatives and we stayed here. It was a great deal for a nice room. The hotel was clean and the room was a good size with a large window. We have a very hard time getting in and out of the hotel parking lot because it's located on a very busy street. There is an alternate exit out but we didn't learn about that until we were leaving. Some of the hotel staff was helpful but many, when we asked about what to do and see, only said Monticello. I was not up for taking my 3 kids there but they were not able to give me many other suggestions. The restaurant only partially functions most of the time. It appeared to be closed often. Breakfast was nice though.

Room Tip: Do your own digging for other activities in the area. Use TripAdvisor! It's way better than many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Sean J,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our rooms and cleanliness.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding parking arrangement and the restaurant. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area

Address: 1901 Emmet St, Route 29 South, Charlottesville, VA 22901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Charlottesville Hotel- University Area and Conference Center. Our hotel is conveniently located on (Route 29) Emmet Street. The University of Virginia is located within one mile of the hotel. Nearby attractions include the University of Virginia, Monticello, Ashlawn-Highland, Wineries, Michie Tavern, Montpelier, and various boutique shops and galleries. Nearby companies and government offices include State Farm Regional Office, GE -Fanuc, Northrop Grumman, Lexi-Nexis, Klockner, Sprint, PRA, National Ground Intelligence Center, J.A.G. School, UVA Health Systems, and Biotage Technologies. Our newly renovated, spacious rooms include free high speed wireless Internet. We also offer a business center, fitness facility, pay per view movies, coffee/ tea makers, room service, guest laundry, free USA Today on the weekdays and complimentary shuttle service to the Charlottesville Airport. During your stay we invite you to dine at our Lobby Cafe'. We are the ideal location for your wedding, banquet, meeting or any special event. The Holiday Inn University area offers facilities to accommodate up to 300 people, with over 4,900 square feet of meeting space. Let our expert staff work for you in accommodating your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area Hotel Charlottesville
Holiday Inn University Area
Charlottesville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.