We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Emmet St, Route 29 South, Charlottesville, VA 22901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Chesterfield, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Stayed here to go visit UVA with my daughter. On plus was it was close to the college....otherwise, look elsewhere. First, I think the mattresses were older than the building itself. It felt like you were sleeping on the springs. The rooms were old and outdated. The TV looked like it was a yardsale throwaway and sounded like it too. Stay here if you want cheap but that is what you will get!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    78
    54
    19
    20
See reviews for
71
44
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North East
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

The hotel decor was attractive with a welcoming real fire in the lobby on a cold evening. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious with a choice of firm or soft pillows though they were on the small side. We found everything to be very clean and well kept. Even though our room was on the street side, the traffic noise was not annoying.
Breakfast-while not included in the room price-was very reasonably priced and good value.
We were very pleased with our stay here and will definitely return when we are next in Charlottesville.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back would be quieter on weekday mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

First, we got better price just calling directly to the front desk than the web.
The pool is convenient, very small, the water wasn't heated enough for my 5 y.o., and it didn't look very clean to me. The exercise room was ancient, but I got to go for a walk without incidences. It was smelly for sure.
The TV, although it is a brand new flat screen, had very poor reception and very few channels. It had HBO, so that was nice.
The beds were very hard for me and the pillows just uncomfortable.
The stuff was OK, I guess. I didn't have to interact much with any of them.
I didn't use the restaurant. I was expecting a Continental Breakfast for free, but no. We had Bagels from BODO. Best bagels ever. It was very crowded both morning, but it moves very quick. Coffee was excellent too.
Cleanness of the room: Various issues here.
1- Bathroom was fine. No problems here.
2- Dust: some dust on corners. Carpet wasn't very clean. I found a couple of chocolate wrapping papers they weren't mine.
3- Window/Balcony: the door only open 4", enough to have some fresh air if needed. But you could tell how old was the place and bad maintained over some decades. It had webs and bugs all over the place.
4- the AC/Heater unit: oh boy! Be aware. DIRTY. Filters was probably cleaned a few months back (it should be at least a weekly task) and mold (oh dear) all over the aluminum surfaces. I had to clean the filters myself with hot water and shampoo in the bathtub. Very easy task and very good for your lungs.
5- Elevator. One word: SCARY. Very old and scary

Overall, very convenient location, close to UVA and Historic downtown. We went to Monticello, and the Old Tavern.
I'd probably look for a hotel with a pool and breakfast for free next time. I didn't know this chain won't offer it.
And I'll read reviews before I book it!!!!
I hope this one helps

Room Tip: If you don't need a connected room, make sure you don't get one. It has worse sound insulati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

One night stay mid December. Check in went fast mid evening. Priority Club gets you a discount card for breakfast or dinner at the restaurant.

Room faced side parking lot (same side as Indian restaurant which I've tried on previous visits...very vood food there btw). see if you can get a room there # in high 20s if you are sensitive to traffic noise which starts around 630 am. Room was clean. Nice flat screen tv. Multiple HBO channels. Room quiet even though guests in rooms either side.

Restaurant excellent for breakfast and dinner. Stays open til 10.

Exercise room is not stellar. Two treads each worn and needing repair. a stairmaster & stationery bike all circa 1990s. One tread ok as long as you weigh less than 140 and dont want incline. the other I would nickname 'Bucky'. tv in there is circa 1990s too. A refurb is indicated although you can risk your life darting across Emmet Rd to the gym acros the street at no extra charge.

Not a bad stay overall. Excellent if you're of couch potato persuasion.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I stayed at this hotel a couple of times and wrote an honest review, but never published.
The people work there are very polite for sure. I got upgrades every time due to the platinum status (Priority Club). But the property is aging and needs renovations badly. The room and part of the hotel like fitness room are smelly. After one of these stays, my credit card was charged with a small amount that I did not charge. So, check your credit bill after your stay. I do not recommend this property if you have another choice.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

A very nice property that had the only pool open though the week we spent out in DC area in June of 2008. Everything was clean and really nice, staff was very helpful, location was really good. Breakfast got messed up, they were doing a big catering for out group and at least 1 other big group, and ran out of alot of the foods, but did get more out later, so at least did get something.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

This property is nicely redone. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Traffic outside the hotel on Rt. 29 can be very heavy at times. This property is very close to UVA, and its proximity along with the friendliness of the staff make it a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area

Address: 1901 Emmet St, Route 29 South, Charlottesville, VA 22901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Charlottesville Hotel- University Area and Conference Center. Our hotel is conveniently located on (Route 29) Emmet Street. The University of Virginia is located within one mile of the hotel. Nearby attractions include the University of Virginia, Monticello, Ashlawn-Highland, Wineries, Michie Tavern, Montpelier, and various boutique shops and galleries. Nearby companies and government offices include State Farm Regional Office, GE -Fanuc, Northrop Grumman, Lexi-Nexis, Klockner, Sprint, PRA, National Ground Intelligence Center, J.A.G. School, UVA Health Systems, and Biotage Technologies. Our newly renovated, spacious rooms include free high speed wireless Internet. We also offer a business center, fitness facility, pay per view movies, coffee/ tea makers, room service, guest laundry, free USA Today on the weekdays and complimentary shuttle service to the Charlottesville Airport. During your stay we invite you to dine at our Lobby Cafe'. We are the ideal location for your wedding, banquet, meeting or any special event. The Holiday Inn University area offers facilities to accommodate up to 300 people, with over 4,900 square feet of meeting space. Let our expert staff work for you in accommodating your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area Hotel Charlottesville
Holiday Inn University Area
Charlottesville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.