We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for Charlottesville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Fifth Street SW, Charlottesville, VA 22902   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Earth
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good choice for Charlottesville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I have stayed at several hotels in the area, and this is a good choice. Like most good hotels in this area, it is expensive but worth the extra cost. The rooms were typical of the Holiday Inn chain, and it is located near one of the main streets. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    97
    64
    31
    13
See reviews for
72
88
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clarksburg, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

was so excited for first night of vacation. was so disappointed. they said they were giving us a newly remodeled room. it was almost ok. but then the A/C decided to bang and clank from 1:30am until i fot up at 4am and kicked it and took it apart... and finally had to turn it off and open the window (summer heat), which was right over the entrance (plus you could here interstate traffic). it was one of the worst nights' sleep my family ever got. and when i brought it to the staffs attention at check out, all the guy said was "i'll notify maintenance. thanks for your stay." and turned to help someone else. worst night at a hotel ever and i didn't even got a "sorry." i expected a refund. we won't be back (and we've been going there since 2001 on the way to the beach).

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAEHOLIDAY, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
I am deeply troubles to hear about your experience at our hotel and want to apologize for the inconveniences and lack of service you experienced. I would love the change to speak with you about your stay. Please send me an email at merickson@hicharlottesville.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, MS
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Needed a room in the area. This hotel was in a good location for us, at a reasonable price. It was fairly full. One night was somewhat expensive for the chain the other nights reasonable. The room was decent and clean. Not much noise from the interstate.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAEHOLIDAY, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and leaving your valuable feedback, as it helps us improve the service we provide. Our location is close to interstate 64 and 2.5 miles from the downtown historic mall. The mail is a great area to shop and dine out. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tybee Island, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Excellent staff, good location,fair prices,nice restaurant,clean and nice rooms, quiet,everything worked as it should. Yes, I would stay here again without hesitation. One of the big issues I have with hotels and motels are the noisey and inefficient AC units. This one had very quiet units with a wall thermostat that actually worked.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Easy access from highway.
Very helpful front desk staff ,always availbe to offer suggestion on sites to visits or restaurants.
Large rooms with all the facilities.
Good breakfast at very reasonable price

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Charlottesville has some amazingly fabulous hotels - this one is average. Dog friendly which always makes me feel queasy - cleaners do a great job to minimise dog presence. Location is fine if you have a car - too far to walk anywhere - we just took a cab back to UVA and Downtown. Thankfully it has a great restaurant. Rooms are a great size. Bed and linen were fabulous - king size and very comfy. Staff very welcoming. Laundry facilities were a welcome extra for us.

Room Tip: Front rooms don't have a view of the car park and motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAEHOLIDAY, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hi Annabel B,
We are ecstatic that you enjoyed dining in our restaurant and our comfy beds. Thanks for noticing the care we take in clean our rooms too. You are correct, we would recommend a car for getting around Charlottesville as some of our historic site are a short drive from the center city. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadley
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located to I-64. We stayed 2 nights on the second floor. The hotel was clean, had been renovated recently. There was a huge glass shower in the bathroom and the entire rome seemed brand new complete with granite. The pool looked clean and refreshing even though we did not use it. It is conveniently located yo historic sites and university of Virginia. We would ditsy here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello

Address: 1200 Fifth Street SW, Charlottesville, VA 22902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Monticello Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, we are 2 miles from the Historic Downtown Mall . We are the closest hotel to nearby attractions such as: Monticello; Ash Lawn-Highland; and Michie Tavern, and a convenient 3 miles from the University of Virginia and the UVa Hospital. Our hotel is just minutes away from the numerous arts and entertainment events held at the Paramount Theatre, Downtown Pavilion, Starr Hill Music Hall, Ash-Lawn Opera, and our newest venue, the John Paul Jones Arena also known as The Jack or JPJ . For visitors traveling on business we are close to State Farm Regional Office, GE-Fanuc, Hyosung, Lexis Nexis, SNL Securities, Klockner Pentaplast, UVA Medical Center, Martha Jefferson Hospital, , and Luck Stone Corp. This Charlottesville hotel features comfortably appointed rooms, free high-speed Internet, local phone calls, HBO, pay-per-view movies, irons & boards, hair dryers and coffee makers. The full service restaurant Charlotte s serves breakfast, dinner and room service daily. We have over 2200 square feet of versatile meeting and banquet space to host events for business meetings, weddings, reunions , and events . Let our experienced staff focus on the details to ensure that your event is a complete success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.