We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really just an "average" property” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Fifth Street SW, Charlottesville, VA 22902   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Herndon, VA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Really just an "average" property”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My son's baseball team reserved a dozen rooms at this location. This is the second year for them, but the first year I have stayed at the property. It will be the last. I'm very surprised at the other people's reviews. I want the room and the price they got! My room was beaten up, bathtub was dirty, bathroom floor tiles cracked, and A/C didn't seem up to the job.

Additionally, we stayed on the 4th floor and we started calling it the phantom floor, because the elevator would pass right by it, and not let us off. This occurred randomly and on several of the elevators, so we couldn't find the way around the problem.

Front desk staff was nice, but that was the hook to get me in. After that, it wasn't a nice stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a floor other than the 4th. Away from the pool if you go to bed early. One was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear redheadmom23,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. It is nice to know that you found the desk staff to be nice. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered over the room's condition. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. We hope that you give us a chance to change your perception of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    104
    65
    32
    13
See reviews for
75
89
15
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lutz, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I got this hotel on Hotwire.com and it was good for that price. Clean and room with king bed was large. Bathroom very small. Indoor hallways a plus but I have never seen such bland halls. I'm not there for the decor but the hallway looked like a hospital hall, a bit strange for a hotel. Doors bang pretty loud, otherwise quiet. No free breakfast, but good location. Less than 10 minutes to UVA, historic downtown mall and Monticello/Ash Lawn. Would stay again for same price.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wise, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I've stayed in some high dollar hotels costing much more than this, and I have to say the quality of the rooms in this hotel are actually nicer, especially since the renovations. The hotel is immaculate. Me and my mom both have to come to Charlottesville for medical reasons several times a year, and this is always stay. They give us a discount too, since we are there for health reasons. I highly recommend this hotel, it's conveniently located near I-64, several restuarants, and a grocery store,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I booked this over Priceline and wasn't disappointed. The rooms are tres modern and chic, and the staff was nice. I paid $75 so I can't complain! It was excellent. One thing: if you park in the front parking lot and panic because you can't see your car, then you've probably parked in the part of the parking lot you can't see because there is a stupid line of trees that blocks that part of the lot from view when you exit the front lobby. I thought my car had been stolen or towed or something! But it was fine.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hotel was good, very clean and a great shower head with a lot of pressure.

The only bad thing was that I had such a hard time finding this hotel off of I-64 W. the bushes hide the sign and the hotel is not seen from the road on 5 TH Ave. we had to call the hotel plus ask two people on the street just to find it.

So if you are coming this way I believe it is the first street you come to when you are on 5 TH Ave. there is not a light where you turn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Upon check in, our sink had scum, dirt and hair - like dumping a dirty bucket & leaving it. Sink clogged and didn't drain. Moldy old windows. Really old fixtures. Pool chairs largely falling apart and lined with mildew and bird droppings. No towels. Door to room didn't close right. Housekeeping missed our room. I went to desk asking to clean it. Hours later - still didn't clean our rooms. Upon checkout - same guy I asked to clean our room never asked how our stay was. I told him about the problems. He said he would ask housekeeping what happened and that was the extent of his care. Bring your own toilet paper and towels. We paid $180/night - area hotels sold out. We would sleep in our car next time.

Room Tip: Noisy highway along pool. Avoid all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Mendezdad,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had with the condition of our facilities, cleanliness and the service you received. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This holiday inn does not have the free breakfast but the restaurant was good and they have local wines. It is in a quiet location and was relaxing. I will go back when in the area. Very comfortable.we checked in five minutes before the restaurant was closing but the chef still managed to make us a great salmon filet with fresh dill sauce and a prince Michel red that complemented it well.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello

Address: 1200 Fifth Street SW, Charlottesville, VA 22902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Monticello Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, we are 2 miles from the Historic Downtown Mall . We are the closest hotel to nearby attractions such as: Monticello; Ash Lawn-Highland; and Michie Tavern, and a convenient 3 miles from the University of Virginia and the UVa Hospital. Our hotel is just minutes away from the numerous arts and entertainment events held at the Paramount Theatre, Downtown Pavilion, Starr Hill Music Hall, Ash-Lawn Opera, and our newest venue, the John Paul Jones Arena also known as The Jack or JPJ . For visitors traveling on business we are close to State Farm Regional Office, GE-Fanuc, Hyosung, Lexis Nexis, SNL Securities, Klockner Pentaplast, UVA Medical Center, Martha Jefferson Hospital, , and Luck Stone Corp. This Charlottesville hotel features comfortably appointed rooms, free high-speed Internet, local phone calls, HBO, pay-per-view movies, irons & boards, hair dryers and coffee makers. The full service restaurant Charlotte s serves breakfast, dinner and room service daily. We have over 2200 square feet of versatile meeting and banquet space to host events for business meetings, weddings, reunions , and events . Let our experienced staff focus on the details to ensure that your event is a complete success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.