We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Quiet Courtyard Marriott” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   638 Hillsdale Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Quiet Courtyard Marriott”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Spent 3 days for godson's wedding. Room was re-decorated but not renovated. Plumbing and bathroom a bit worn. Beds were comfortable and it was very quiet even with 2 weddings and a large crowd from UCLA. Good location near the airport. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear CatherineP248, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and for spending such a special weekend with us! I'm so happy that you had a comfortable and quiet stay. I hope that you'll have the opportunity to visit us again on your next trip to Charlottesville. Sincerely, Elizabeth P.-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    22
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
17
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Stayed for two nights at this location. Staff could not have been nicer. After some issues with the 800 number reservations person, I got to the hotel late at night and was pleasantly surprised by the people that worked there. The hotel is a typical Courtyard with the lobby amenities, etc. We had two queen beds and a comfortable size room. Bathroom a little small - but that is being overly critical.
The location is fine - right off Route 29 a bit north of the University. It was convenient for getting around - nothing more than ten-fifteen minutes away.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear DrivingMama, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel. I'm so pleased to see that you said the staff could not have been nicer! We look forward to having you as our guest again soon! Safe travels! Sincerely, Elizabeth P.-General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

This is pretty much the typical Courtyard with a major renovation earlier in the year. This is very good for the road-weary traveler. You can count on good linens and a restful night's sleep.

Good: well-trained, helpful, professional front desk staff (Samantha); quiet location one block from busy Route 29; current, contemporary Courtyard lobby with Bistro, lounge and business center; good, 14 inch thick mattress; 9 foot ceilings in room; modern room furniture; sofa portion of sofa bed (twin) more comfy for sitting than typical; mini-fridge in room (no freezer); close proximity to many restaurants, shopping, grocery stores (use Hillsdale to avoid some Route 29 traffic); the classic 80's Courtyard building layout with a nice courtyard in the middle.

Not so good: water closet door somewhat out of kilter and difficult to shut completely (room 265); wifi speeds noticeably slower in the evening (typical for most hotels); the classic 80's Courtyard building layout where the elevator is nearer the center of the building rather than close to the lobby (hard to change this original feature in the recent renovation).

Room Tip: Second floor on side of building where the pool is (farthest from the driveway) is the quietest thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Oski_Bear_DC, Thank you very much for your recent review of our hotel. I'm so glad you found our staff well-trained and helpful, our location convenient and our guest rooms comfortable! Thank you as well for letting us know that your bathroom door needs adjustment. We'll take care of that right away! We look forward to having you as our guest again soon. Thank you again. Sincerely, Elizabeth P. -General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Spend a week week while a business trip and I will be happy to go back.
Rooms have been recently renovated, so modern and comfortable. The bistro is very useful, offering good coffee and decent food and ran by very friendly staff.
The hotel is far out of downtown, but a large mall and other shops are in a 5-min walking distance. You can catch the very useful town bus services from the mall, so not difficult to explore the city by hopping on and off the buses all day on a $1.50 day pass

Room Tip: Get an outside facing room if you want quiet. Upper floor have balconies with chairs and tables, bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear 100NowWhereTo, Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel! We love hearing that you found our rooms to be modern and comfortable and that we have a very friendly Bistro staff. Thank you! We look forward to having you as our guest again on your next trip to Charlottesville! Sincerely, Elizabeth P.-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrisvale, wv
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

a first.
we have always loved the courtyard but not this one.
at the end of the hall were about 6 maids carts, just sitting parked in the hallway, the garbage bags were still on the carts full of garbage. this was about 7:00pm so Im sure they were done for the day. at the top of the garbage bag on one cart was dirty pampers...REALLY!!!
don't order the sausage for breakfast, its the same as mcdonalds, our mini fridge had a terrible odor that attached to every item we placed inside. The pool area and hot tub were very nice and clean, but we really had to search to find them. No map of the property any where. all in all better than motel 6, but not marriot standards

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear a17030, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback about our hotel. I'm am extremely sorry that we did not deliver the outstanding experience you deserved at our hotel. We do have staff from housekeeping here until 11pm that clean, restock the carts and such, but seeing that work in public view, especially unattended, is unacceptable. I thank you very much for letting us know so that we can make sure it doesn't happen again. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to regain your trust on your next visit to Charlottesville. Sincerely, Elizabeth P.-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Ontario
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This is obviously another hotel that has been renovated and re-branded. In this case, that is a good thing. Loved having patio door access to our car on our first floor unit and being right across from the pool. The location isn't close to downtown but it's an easy drive (parking is expensive in the garage downtown). Service was very good at this hotel and we enjoyed the breakfast area in the morning. It isn't included but was reasonably priced and convenient. We got a great deal on the hotel and even if we'd paid the full rate… it's a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Laforge, Thank you very much for your great review of our hotel! I did want to let you know that we are not a rebranded hotel. We are a proud original Courtyard built in 1989. We did just go through a complete renovation as you guessed though. I'm so happy you liked the hotel and especially the service. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon! Sincerely, Elizabeth P. - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We spent August 8th and 9th at the Marriott, the main purpose of our visit was exploring Monticello and visiting a few wineries. Pleasantly surprised, room was clean, bed was comfortable, staff couldn't be nicer! We were on the 3rd level, with an outside facing room, it was nice and quiet, but the courtyard is very pretty, so, if we make a future trip, I would definitely request an inner courtyard facing room. AND...Starbucks every morning at Le Bistro, doesn't get better than that!! ;-)

Room Tip: Request a floor on the 2nd or 3rd level, facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Yummychunk, Thank you very much for your great review! I'm so happy that you had a wonderful weekend with us and hope that you return to the area again soon. Your Courtyard view room will be waiting! Sincerely, Elizabeth P. -General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North

Address: 638 Hillsdale Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22901
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#13 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott Courtyard Charlottesville North hotel is conveniently located off Route 29 North, just minutes from historic downtown Charlottesville. This Charlottesville hotel is in close proximity to a variety of specialty shops and restaurants, as well as, near the University of Virginia (UVA), home of the Cavaliers. Courtyard Charlottesville is a short drive from Monticello Plantation and in close proximity to the southern entrance of Shenandoah National Park.Designed for the business traveler, yet pleasing for all, the Courtyard Charlottesville North knows what is important to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charlottesville North Hotel Charlottesville
Courtyard Charlottesville North
Charlottesville Marriott
Charlottesville Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.