We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Management Attention” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   638 Hillsdale Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #12 of 33 hotels in Charlottesvill...
Chicago
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Management Attention”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We checked in after driving the Blue Ridge Parkway. The room was pleasant and clean. I needed to do a load of laundry using the on-site washer and dryer, however the little store in the hotel was out of laundry soap and the front desk clerk said they did not have any in stock. The manager saw that I was tired and upset. She asked for my room number and said she would find some somewhere and have it delivered to my room in 30-45 minutes. Sure enough 45 minutes later a maintenance man brought me a box of Tide! I think she sent him out to pick some up at another Marriott or a store. Bravo for her on customer service!

The amenities of the hotel were typical of Marriott Courtyard's and the bed was comfortable.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    7
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
4
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Recent adult 3 day trip to Monticello, Montpelier, Ash-Highlands and historic UVA and Charlottesville. The hotel has been redone and the Bistro serves just as good food as ANY $$$ restaurant in town. A nice place to come to after an entire day of " touring " to recoup, have an adult beverage or two:) visit with folks and get a great nights sleep. The manager Elizabeth was very professional, stood up welcomed us AND when the Bistro got busy she and other staff members came to assist the Bistro staff so customers were served promptly without delay. Lakesha who fixed my friends special Starbucks coffee every morning and at all times the front desk staff were organized and ready for our questions, check in and questions at check out! Come to this hotel you will NOT be disappointed

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Always feel at home while staying at the Courtyard. The rooms have received an update with new carpets, sofa set and bathrooms as well. Certainly worth staying with the Fashion Square Mall next door and easy access to the highways.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Andrew998, I can't imagine a better compliment than it "feels like home"! Thank you very much for letting us, and your fellow travelers, know that. I'm so happy you had a wonderful stay and we look forward to having you as our guest again soon. Sincerely, Elizabeth P, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Typical Courtyard, it is well run, clean, and the staff are well trained. Location is poor as its far from everything you would want if travelling to Charlottesville. Only complaint I have is that the Bistro has very limited hours and if you are not willing to drive around, it can leave you hungry for food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Courtyard with a Balcony. Avoid ground floor as it opens into a very publi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear dracop9, Thank you for taking time to review our hotel! I'm happy to see that you loved our guestrooms and staff while you were here. While our Bistro is open 7-8 hours per day, don't forget that our Market is open 24/7 and it is stocked with fresh food made daily and lots of other easy meals, snacks, drinks and more. We never want our guests to go hungry! Our associates are always ready to offer recommendation for nearby restaurants if you prefer to dine in a local spot. We have a lot of options nearby. It's one of the benefits of our location. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts on our hotel; it is very much appreciated! We look forward to having you back again soon. Sincerely, Elizabeth P. -General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the best of the hotels I've stayed at on the north side. I will likely repeat here in the future. Very clean hotel, no complaints with the room. The made-to-order breakfast in the morning is a wonderful perk -- sure beats powdered eggs and gray sausages.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Western12345, Wow! What an outstanding review of our hotel! Thank you so much! I'm so glad you love our made-to-order breakfasts. We agree that a fresh, specially prepared breakfast is the ONLY way to start your day! Thank you again for taking the time to share your praise. We certainly appreciate it and look forward to having you back again soon! Sincerely, Elizabeth Paitrick-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this room through Priceline. I called ahead to make sure we would get a room that fit 4 people. I was told that ALL rooms in the hotel could accommodate 4, even the king rooms since they had a pull out sofa bed for 2. When we arrived at the hotel we were told that all the rooms with 2 queens were gone so we were given a king room. Only at about 10 pm when we got the sofa bed pulled out did we find out that the room only has a twin sized sofa bed and did not fit 4 people!!!! We were extremely disappointed. Besides that the hotel was recently renovated and looks lovely. The rooms was very clean. The only thing we found were used beer bottles on the balcony which was gross. But the bathroom was very clean. DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL IF YOU HAVE 4 PEOPLE IN YOUR PARTY!!!!!

Room Tip: Do not accept a king sized room if you have 4 people in your party. The sofa bed only sleeps one pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Dianemom2, Thank you so much for taking time to provide your feedback of our hotel. Thank you for mentioning the "lovely renovation" and clean rooms and bathrooms. I'm so sorry there was miscommunication with our sofabeds. I have already addressed this issue with my front office staff to ensure that the correct information is always delievered. I hope you will return as our guest again soon for a more comfortable stay. Thank you again for the very helpful feedback. Sincerely, Elizabeth Paitrick-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stay in this particular Courtyard several times per year due to traveling to Charlottesville to visit my elderly mother. The staff is incredible. If I need something, all I have to do is ask. Rooms are always super clean. Beds are comfortable. The little snack selection next to the check in is especially nice when I am traveling by myself. The recent (OK much needed) renovations are pretty and welcoming

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Deborah K, Thank you very much for your outstanding review of our hotel. I appreciate you recognizing my staff as incredible; they will love to hear that. I'm so glad that you love our renovation as well. We're proud to have the newest rooms in Charlottesville! Thank you again and we look forward to having you as our guest again soon. Sincerely, Elizabeth Paitrick-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North

Address: 638 Hillsdale Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Charlottesville
#11 Business Hotel in Charlottesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott Courtyard Charlottesville North hotel is conveniently located off Route 29 North, just minutes from historic downtown Charlottesville. This Charlottesville hotel is in close proximity to a variety of specialty shops and restaurants, as well as, near the University of Virginia (UVA), home of the Cavaliers. Courtyard Charlottesville is a short drive from Monticello Plantation and in close proximity to the southern entrance of Shenandoah National Park.Designed for the business traveler, yet pleasing for all, the Courtyard Charlottesville North knows what is important to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charlottesville North Hotel Charlottesville
Courtyard Charlottesville North
Charlottesville Marriott
Charlottesville Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.