We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice- Class Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boar's Head

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Boar's Head to your Saves list
The Boar's Head
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   200 Ednam Drive, Charlottesville, VA 22903   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Stay for New Year's Eve!
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Frenchtown New Jersey
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very Nice- Class Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

We stayed here a number of times over the last year when on one of our daughters was applying to the University of Virginia. Very nice place. Beautiful grounds. The recreational areas are second to none. The restaurant and bars were very good and service was great and provided by folks with genuine southern charm and grace. Though located somewhat out of town and away from the campus -everything is close by. Great place to stay when in Charlottesville which is a very cool and historic place to visit. Highly recommend this unique property.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    162
    70
    39
    28
See reviews for
136
224
18
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

Spent 3days (2 nights) at the inn -- the room was lovely, clean and very peaceful. The staff are very accomodating and it's a great place to hang your hat when touring the historical sights around Charlotteville. My friend took advantage of the spa and I enjoyed a challenging round of golf. All in all, a very sastisfying stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

One of the best non-chain hotels we have stayed in during trips to the US. The Inn is full of character and excellently palced for local attractions such as Monticello and Skyline Drive. Our room had a four -poster bed and was well equiped, spacious and was clean. The whole site was quiet and relaxing We only used the spa pool while we were there and not the main sports facilties - this was clean and, while we were there, had lifeguards.

We ate both nights at the bar, which offers a good selection of food. The main resataurant also offers a wide choice of starters and entrees. Our only criticism would be the breakfast - the first morning we selected off the menu - this was fine- but on the second we went for the hot buffet. A lot of the buffet items were running out when we ate (only two cereal bowls left, no milk for cereals, no fruit ) and the staff were slow at replemishing these and coffee at the table. Other than this, the staff were really pleasant and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable - top marks to Michael and Jason in the bar; they were great company while we ate..

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

This is a big complex with staff that wants your stay to be nice. The first room they gave us had a bad odor. They immediately switched us to a better room and gave us a voucher for free breakfast. In this economy, there is a lot to maintain and it is evident. They also have a large part of the lawn dug up. We swam in the pool which was delightful. Overall, it was a good experience, but somewhat ho hum.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

The room was average and suprising dirty with left over soda bottles on the floor near the desk and a sticky desk. No wireless service. The hair dryer was broken and the TV did not work. It was corrected with a call to the front - they just never could get the trash picked up. The food was the worst. We were there with a group (I can only imagine if it had been a wedding). The food was salty and below average. Almost inedible. You would think that the chef would get the message with the dishes not eaten going back to the kitchen! The location was great - too bad a VA icon is slipping away. Poorly managed.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

I took my mother to the Boar's Head Inn for a 2-day getaway, after having used their Spa several times in the past (Their spa is OUTSTANDING, I highly recommend it!). The hotel clearly needs some rennovation, but overall it's nice. The grounds are spectacular in the spring, and very well maintained. We spent an entire afternoon just walking around the property, though there was some construction, it was still really peaceful.

The rooms were dated, but functional, the beds comfortable (no Heavenly Bed, but good enough). The staff was very helpful, bringing (& offering to set up) a pack and play for my toddler, and then later a wine opener. They even gave my mother delicious chocolate truffles, as I had mentioned the occasion upon checkin. They didn't blink an eye when I asked for a late check-out, and I always appreciate a door-man :)

We didn't eat there, but I've head wonderful things about the multiple resturants, and the view from the Old Mill Room looks beautiful!
Don't overpay though; check out Travelocity or other search sites before booking, we got the room for half the rate listed on the Boar's Head website.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

We selected BHI for a long weekend getaway... a once a year trip without the kids.. so we wanted a place where we could feel somewhat pampered but still keep tabs on the expense. I loved the feel of the place.. the classic decor and wooded grounds. There did happen to be a LOT of construction going on while we were there and quite near our room but since the rooms faced out over an open space w/ a lake, we were not aware of it once inside our room. We had dinner at the Mill Room and it was amazing. We also had breakfast there one morning and while it was very delicious... it was also a bit overpriced for me. The location was great and we were able to explore the Charlottesville area easily and come back for a glass of wine on our balcony before heading out to dinner. I would say my one disappointment was that the website seems to indicate that you can use the adjoining Boars Head Athletic Club as part of your stay but you must pay... and its not cheap. We had wanted to play tennis each day but the cost kept us down to just one day .... I think it was almost $40 for us to play 1.5 hrs. That was a little steep for us but we did use the trails to run. Beware if you are a runner and consider using the neighborhood that is nearby... there are a lot of unleashed dogs. Overall, a lovely weekend and a lovely resort.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boar's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boar's Head

Address: 200 Ednam Drive, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#4 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#11 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boar's Head 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boar’s Head is a quintessential Virginia resort, offering a warm, intimate ambiance, exceptional service and unparalleled Southern hospitality. Located on a bucolic 573-acre country estate, our AAA Four Diamond resort offers 175 newly-renovated guest rooms and suites, Four Diamond dining in the Old Mill Room, a wide variety of world class recreational activities, spa and 22,000 square feet of meeting facilities for groups of 20 to 630.Owned and operated by the University of Virginia Foundation, Boar’s Head is just minutes from the University of Virginia that was founded by Thomas Jefferson, only two hours from Washington, D.C., and at the foot of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Boar's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boar`s Head Hotel Charlottesville
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Charlottesville
Boars Head Inn Charlottesville Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boar's Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.