We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boar's Head

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Boar's Head to your Saves list
The Boar's Head
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   200 Ednam Drive, Charlottesville, VA 22903   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed on business in a room in the main lodge. The room was beautifully appointed, with a comfortable bed and nice amenities. As it is an older wood building there was quite a bit of noise one of the evenings, the Saturday night. The grounds are immaculate and the restaurant is top notch. The fitness facility is amazing, part of the UVA from what I could surmise. I hope to go back one day with family.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    180
    75
    45
    28
See reviews for
154
248
19
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was at this hotel for business and my room was located in the original building. The decor was lovely, furnishings luxurious. It was a short stay, but I will be going back. The service was exceptional, conference spaces very nicely appointed. Beautiful grounds and landscaping and plenty of free parking.

Room Tip: The original part of the hotel did not have a balcony. However I prefer the architecture of the olde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah, Virginia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This place has so much charm and character. The rooms are amazing. The service on the hotel side is amazing. Some of the wait staff at the restaurant are a little strange but still friendly. It is so peaceful and relaxing, while being in a city.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a suite which was wonderful for students and families to come and visit together. The grounds are well-kept and served as a wonderful back-drop to our graduation photos.The room we had was very comfortable and spacious. There is a great deal of privacy and we did not hear any hall noise.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is an old style, quaint, romantic, resort type hotel. Great rooms with plenty of pace although ask for the top floor because in the multistory section the floor can be squeak. Fantastic restaurant and plenty of other very good restaurants within a short drive. Some rooms will have a nice view of the pond, etc. A great place to unwind. Spent plenty of time in the large sitting/parlor/community room - took me back in time.

Room Tip: Pick an upper floor if in the multi story area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed four nights and had a great time. The floors were a little creaky, but it didn't matter to us because we were on the top floor. (You might ask for a top floor.) They did a catered breakfast for our group of 100, and it was generous on the calories.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weems, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This is a lovely resort and I would stay there again in a heart beat. Beautiful setting, great spa experience, lovely lake and walking area and super restaurant - so why only four stars.... Our room was spacious and the outdoor balcony over looking the lake was terrific. My reason for not doing 4 stars - only one chair in the room with plenty of room for a second. With two queen beds you would expect two people to be in a room. I don't like sitting on a bed to work/read/write. No mini fridge or coffee set up... Ok I understand - they want you to buy drinks from them, but I never even saw the bar if there is one... I'm accept no coffee because they had a nice set up in the lobby area that we get. But it's such a lovely place I'll over look what's missing, bring my own cooler and just enjoy the beautiful resort. p.s. great wi-fi

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Boar's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boar's Head

Address: 200 Ednam Drive, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#3 Best Value Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#10 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boar's Head 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boar's Head is a quintessential Virginia resort, offering a warm, intimate ambiance, exceptional service and unparalleled Southern hospitality. Located on a bucolic 573-acre country estate, our AAA Four Diamond resort offers 175 guest rooms and suites, Four Diamond dining in the Old Mill Room, a wide variety of world class recreational activities, spa and 22,000 square feet of meeting facilities for groups of 20 to 630. Owned and operated by the University of Virginia Foundation, Boar's Head is just minutes from the University of Virginia that was founded by Thomas Jefferson, only two hours from Washington, D.C., And at the foot of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Boar's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boar`s Head Hotel Charlottesville
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Charlottesville
Boars Head Inn Charlottesville Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boar's Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.