We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice dining experience if not a little too pretentious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boar's Head

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Boar's Head to your Saves list
The Boar's Head
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   200 Ednam Drive, Charlottesville, VA 22903   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Date Night Package
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stanardsville, Virginia, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice dining experience if not a little too pretentious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a friend visit with us for a few days to help with my wife who just got out of the hospital after major surgery. Nice atmosphere and very attentive service (maybe too much). This is a jacket crowd of local movers and shakers and well heeled travelers. Food was excellent but very expensive. Worth it? Only your financial advisor knows.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BH_Courtney_Roane, Director of Food & Beverage at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Mike C, First, we hope your wife is making a speedy recovery from surgery. We are delighted you enjoyed the charm of the Old Mill Room with its 180 year old rustic, hand-hewn beams and flooring reclaimed from an abandoned grist mill. Also, it’s always a pleasure to have our guests post about our excellent cuisine. Many of our guests have shared that the slightly higher cost of dinner in The Old Mill Room is more than offset by the cuisine and the experience. Of course, Bistro 1834 is a more casual dining option served by the same culinary team. Our daily lunch buffet or Sunday brunch offers variety and value. Finally, as a food connoisseur, you’re sure to enjoy the Boar’s Head Glenlivet Scotch Dinner next Thursday, March 5th; a four course paired scotch dinner for just $95 per person. Call 434.972.2230 to book. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    169
    72
    39
    28
See reviews for
140
235
18
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I will preface that it was a snowy weekend that left the staff short and there were two conferences in the hotel. The person that helped us check, Johnathan, was a consummate pro. The spa services were excellent as was Ashley, the concierge. The patio off of our room was amazing. It was too bad the weather was in the single digits! The grounds are wonderful and the gym is outstanding.

What isn't so great was the food. I know there were short staffed but the buffet for breakfast was bland at 22 dollars a pop and the dinner the next night at the Old Mill Room was terrible. They did the smart thing with short staff and cut back on offerings. The bookings tripled due to people staying overnight so they were stressing. I wouldn't complain if I didn't think it a fundamental flaw. The only seafood on the menu was scallops for an app and salmon for dinner. I won't eat farm raised salmon so i asked if i could have the Scallops as an entree. Little did I know, they would charge me 45 dollars for 6 scallops in a gross chunky cream gunk that I couldn't eat. My partner had a small scoop of freezer burnt ice cream for 9 dollars.

The bed had hair all over it.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a Premier King room (715) over Valentines weekend. I have eaten at here before but never stayed over night. We checked in and made it to our room. It was beautifully decorated and loved the porch with view of the water. (it was freezing/snow/wind so we did not spend tons of time outside) We purchased a Valentines package. Strawberry's and wine were delivered to the room, which was a nice touch. We headed to the bar for some drinks and appetizer before dinner, which was nice and then made our way to the dinning room for a nice fix priced dinner with several choices. Breakfast the next morning with really good. Portabella mushroom benedict was really good. Actually all food was good but one thing we noticed with dinner and breakfast was the food was not hot. In fact, we actually had to send our dinner back. potatoes, veggies, and steak was actually cool. (like it sat waiting too long). No worries, they took it back and sent a hot dish out a few minutes later. Overall, it was a nice stay and we will return. It is a little over an hour from our house. At check out I mentioned 2 problems with our room and I hope maintenance has fixed them. One thing the toilet ran all night long.. We tired to fix it but it just kept running... and the outlets on the bedside wall did not work. No clock, no lights, no nothing, which kind of sucked when you wanted to know what time it was in the middle of the night. :/ so overall a 4 but would be back in the future :) for over 400 per night the hotel should be spot on :)

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Boars Head is a Hotel, Spa and Restaurant. The grounds and buildings are wonderfully typical of Virginia hunt country. Have sampled all. I do favor the rooms and the Spa, although the restaurant is quite good, especially for lunch. Every year I ask for Spa gift certificates because is it top notch and conveniently located here in Charlottesville. It's full service. Several massage selections and all are professionally given. Mani's and Pedi's are relaxing--no rush. Nice get away even if you live here.

Room Tip: Near the lake where a couple of white swans may meet you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wife and I went here for Valentines. Front desk was fast and our massages were top of the line. Old Mill room offers high quality meals, and the afternoon tea, coffee and pastry services is a nice touch.

Room Tip: The Hunt Club is close to the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was our wedding anniversary trip. Lovely physical plant with great linens, wonderful decor. Chocolate covered strawberries in the room and champagne at dinner provided complimentary from the inn. The spa was lovely, everywhere was super clean and well appointed. Now the downsize- first off I reserved a room in the main lodge, I had explained I had a physical reason for a room in the inn. But we were shown to a room in an adjacent building. It was lovely, so I decided not to fuss about the location, even though the cold and extra walking wasn't the best for my current state of recovery. But NO hot water in the morning as we were bathing for the day was the big disappointment. More importantly was the cavalier attitude of the check out clerk when we told her. She said the inn knew there was a problem and was working on it. No reduction in cost, apology, or other offer was made to rectify the lack of hot water. Poor form for a supposedly 4 star inn.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BH_Sam_Parry, Rooms Division Director at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, 1 week ago
First, let me wish you a “Happy Belated Anniversary.” We are honored that you chose Boar’s Head for your anniversary trip. We pride ourselves in being the premiere destination resort in Charlottesville. After looking into your lack of hot water we discovered that the hotel experienced a heater failure early that morning which affected the water temperature in your building. We regret that a member of our staff gave you the impression that we do not care about your well-being. Your comfort is our primary concern. On your next visit to Charlottesville, I sincerely hope that you will reach out to me directly and allow Boar’s Head the opportunity to showcase the very best our resort can offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I had never stayed here but we're SO glad we chose it! The hotel staff is super nice and helpful. We loved the room - clean, beautiful historical decor and a super comfy bed and pillows. The room service was prompt and delicious. The grounds are very quaint and you feel more like you are staying in a village than a resort. We can't wait to return for another stay!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boar's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boar's Head

Address: 200 Ednam Drive, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#11 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boar's Head 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boar’s Head is a quintessential Virginia resort, offering a warm, intimate ambiance, exceptional service and unparalleled Southern hospitality. Located on a bucolic 573-acre country estate, our AAA Four Diamond resort offers 175 newly-renovated guest rooms and suites, Four Diamond dining in the Old Mill Room, a wide variety of world class recreational activities, spa and 22,000 square feet of meeting facilities for groups of 20 to 630.Owned and operated by the University of Virginia Foundation, Boar’s Head is just minutes from the University of Virginia that was founded by Thomas Jefferson, only two hours from Washington, D.C., and at the foot of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Boar's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boar`s Head Hotel Charlottesville
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Charlottesville
Boars Head Inn Charlottesville Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boar's Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.