We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of Charm...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boar's Head

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Boar's Head to your Saves list
The Boar's Head
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   200 Ednam Drive, Charlottesville, VA 22903   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
2015 Valentine's Packages
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Full of Charm...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Excellent hotel in the C'ville area. Great service, clean and sizable rooms, reasonably priced and lots of amenities. Also enjoyed the bistro for drinks/dinner and the fireplace room to relax and enjoy tea and coffee.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    164
    70
    39
    28
See reviews for
140
229
18
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 2 night and it was a very pleasant experience. The staff was great. The first night had dinner in the main dinning room, the food, the plaiting of the food was great. We had a great waiter by the name of Douglas, he was by far one of the best waiters we have had in a long time. I will be coming back.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There are no words to fully describe the wonderful experience we had at The Boar's Head. We were only able to spend one night but was like an oasis during our crazy holiday travels. First, we stayed just before Christmas and the decorations were unbelievable. As we pulled in, all my husband could say is "wow - are we at the right place?" I booked through Priceline so our reservation hadn't come through we arrived but Jonathan who was working at the front desk was able to get everything worked out quickly. Jonathan talked with us while we waited and offered us a choice of rooms to make sure that our stay met our needs. He was also very helpful in directing us to some local destinations and showing us where things were located on a complimentary map.

Our beautiful room was spacious with a fantastic porch that overlooked the lake. I'm not sure which was more heavenly - the shower or the bed. We were so tired from our travels that we decided to order room service and it was the best decision we made. We lounged in robes and ate filet mignon that was like butter. I also had an amazing Caesar salad and my husband had a shrimp appetizer that he is still talking about.

There is nothing that could have made this stay better. It's not cheap but is well worth the money to stay and eat here. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We loved the rooms that overlooked the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Outstanding tennis facility and hotel property. Staff is committed to you enjoying yourself.

The sports club has a full range of activities. Charlottesville is very close and has a university town energy. The on property restaurants are well decorated and have quality fare.

Room Tip: All rooms I have been in are great. They all face the nice local views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great Hotel for a weekend getaway or a trip with friends. Everytime I go back it gets better. The rooms are clean and comfy, food is wonderful, and the facilities have a lot to offer. We were there for a weekend tennis tournament. It was so nice to be able to get up in the morning and have a cup of coffee sitting by the fire in the main hotel to get our day started. The Bistro is a great place to then end up the day with the team to talk about the days events. Wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Boar's Head Inn is the best place to stay in Charlottesville. It is located just outside the city. You feel like you are really getting away when you drive down the long lane to the hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are spacious. The Bistro and Restaurant are great. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Boar's Head is very charming and has a lot of character. Beautiful grounds and nice tennis facility. Staff is always very friendly and helpful. We enjoy staying here during Mixed Doubles championship weekend every year its our 4th year we stayed. Although a bit pricey but convenient to tennis center. Great meals at the inn.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boar's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boar's Head

Address: 200 Ednam Drive, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#5 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#11 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boar's Head 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boar’s Head is a quintessential Virginia resort, offering a warm, intimate ambiance, exceptional service and unparalleled Southern hospitality. Located on a bucolic 573-acre country estate, our AAA Four Diamond resort offers 175 newly-renovated guest rooms and suites, Four Diamond dining in the Old Mill Room, a wide variety of world class recreational activities, spa and 22,000 square feet of meeting facilities for groups of 20 to 630.Owned and operated by the University of Virginia Foundation, Boar’s Head is just minutes from the University of Virginia that was founded by Thomas Jefferson, only two hours from Washington, D.C., and at the foot of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Boar's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boar`s Head Hotel Charlottesville
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Charlottesville
Boars Head Inn Charlottesville Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boar's Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.