We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boar's Head Not a Bore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boar's Head

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Boar's Head to your Saves list
The Boar's Head
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   200 Ednam Drive, Charlottesville, VA 22903   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Stay for New Year's Eve!
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Boar's Head Not a Bore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Boar's Head to attending the Darden Boar's Head Ball. Staff very friendly and helpful, room very clean and spacious and comfortable. The outside was decked out in Christmas lights and the store was very quaint. Ballroom is what you expect a top notch hotel ballroom to be and very appropriate for a Virginia affair. Plenty to do in CVille - the biggest small town I have ever seen.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    162
    70
    39
    28
See reviews for
136
224
18
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We've stayed at The Boar's Head for several years now around this time to play in a national tennis tournament. We could not ask for more lovely place to stay. Friendly, courteous staff; rooms that are perfectly appointed with all mod cons; two restaurants ... one a bistro (Bistro 1834) with a very sufficient menu and the other for fine dining fans (Old Mill Room). It is conveniently located within 10 minutes of dozen of other fine restaurants. The only "complaint" I have is that they are not into environmental conservation at all ... new towels and toiletries every day ... no choice.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BH_Sam_Parry, Housekeeping Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for your shining TripAdvisor review. Our staff is one of our strongest assets. We appreciate your comment that the rooms are perfectly appointed as much effort was made to understand what our guests require. Also, Boar's Head is committed to measuring and reducing our carbon footprint. In fact, we are a Virginia Green Lodging Partner and the squash center is a LEED certified green building. You should have discovered a card on the amenity tray in your bathroom regarding how guests can assist us in conserving water and energy towels and sheets by reusing the linens. To review Boar’s Head’s other green initiatives, please visit http://www.boarsheadinn.com/About/History-Overview/Fact-Sheet.asp. Thanks for helping us conserve during your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent customer service at the front desk to the Bellman who helped us to our room. Great night stay in our room. Everything was prestine. The housekeeper was wonderful and made our weekend stay perfect very attentive and alert. The carriage rides and breakfast with Santa were incredible. Truly a vacation to remember. Thank You all for your hard work and effort.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a long day of travel, we saw a sign for Monticello and decided it was a good time to stop for the evening, grab a room, grab some dinner and take a sight seeing trip to Monticello in the morning. Little did we know that we'd find this gem! We were shown to our room by a wonderful gentleman. It can be a bit tricky to navigate this place if you've only seen it at night! Our room was so comfortable. Great bed, amazing bathrobes and amenities, comfy chair and views of the water. Such a shame that it was too cold in the morning to sit out on the patio with a cup of coffee to enjoy the view. We didn't use any of the extra amenities of the resort outside of what was provided in our room. We WILL come back. Fantastic staff as well!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water have a great view. The resort is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BH_Pat_Burnette, Public Relations Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. We're so glad you discover this gem. Charlottesville and the Boar's Head resort have so much to offer one night is never enough! Our fantastic staff looks forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Va
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Decided to book a night at the Boar's Head after enjoying Skyline Drive. We checked in and were located in the main building. What a surprise at our newly decorated room - no old inn feel here. It has been updated tastefully, nice linens and great bed. Loved the extra-large shower after a day of driving. The bar area is especially relaxing and offered a good selection of drinks. We decided to dine in room. The filet was excellent! Overall a very enjoyable visit. Will be visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BH_Pat_Burnette, Public Relations Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thanks for your TripAdvisor post and for choosing Boar's Head after enjoying the Skyline Drive. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I had a wonderful romantic getaway. The staff was lovely, excellent breakfast and dinner and martini's. Can't wait to come back!! We are on the younger side of the typical guest, we loved this aspect. It reminds use to slow down and enjoy good food, good wine and good company.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BH_Pat_Burnette, Public Relations Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Your TripAdvisor review is much appreciated. We feel the same way...Boar's Head is the perfect place to slow down, enjoy good food, good wine and good company. We can't wait for you to return for your next romantic getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to Boar's Head for Thanksgiving buffet. This was a birthday gift for a friend. Although a bit pricey it was very good. We spent two nights and had both the Thanksgiving buffet and the breakfast buffet the next morning. Food was very good and the staff were more than accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BH_Pat_Burnette, Public Relations Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your TripAdvisor post. We hope you will make Thanksgiving at Boar's Head an annual tradition with friends. We appreciate your patronage and wish you all the best this holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boar's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boar's Head

Address: 200 Ednam Drive, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#4 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#11 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boar's Head 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boar’s Head is a quintessential Virginia resort, offering a warm, intimate ambiance, exceptional service and unparalleled Southern hospitality. Located on a bucolic 573-acre country estate, our AAA Four Diamond resort offers 175 newly-renovated guest rooms and suites, Four Diamond dining in the Old Mill Room, a wide variety of world class recreational activities, spa and 22,000 square feet of meeting facilities for groups of 20 to 630.Owned and operated by the University of Virginia Foundation, Boar’s Head is just minutes from the University of Virginia that was founded by Thomas Jefferson, only two hours from Washington, D.C., and at the foot of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Boar's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boar`s Head Hotel Charlottesville
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Charlottesville
Boars Head Inn Charlottesville Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boar's Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.