We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, high--quality, college town hotel and inn. A great stay all around!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boar's Head

Save Saved
You added The Boar's Head to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Boar's Head
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   200 Ednam Drive, Charlottesville, VA 22903   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Air Balloon Package
Ranked #10 of 33 hotels in Charlottesvill...
Oyster Bay, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Superb, high--quality, college town hotel and inn. A great stay all around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

They made it easy for us to really enjoy UVA orientation. Quick check in, clean rooms and we got an upgrade without asking. Breakfast was great, good dinner and bar. Beautiful setting. Can't say enough about this property. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    141
    66
    35
    27
See reviews for
117
197
18
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Relaxing is so easy at The Boar's Head Inn. I wouldn't stay anywhere else when in the Charlottesville area. The fine furnishings and spa quality bathroom amenities make you feel like royalty and the staff treats you like you are.

Room Tip: The main building does have some hallway noise, but the furnishings seem to be more cozy. The rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just spent 3 nights celebrating with my daughter for her 20th birthday. The hotel is charming, our room was perfect, the staff are all helpful, and very friendly. We had room service one evening because we had an early balloon ride planned for the next morning, so we ordered room service, it was delivered quickly, was hot, and delicious. We asked the chef to pick our cheeses for our cheese plate - great choices. Dinner at the Old Mill Inn was spectacular. To start, great cocktail list, my daughter and I starred with a seared foie gras and a lump crab appetizer, ceaser salad and an old mill salad, then we shared the lamb shank - enough for 3 really. We will certainly visit again.

Room Tip: 716 is a really good room Lake view with a balcony and because it was myself and my daughter, we pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I recently returned to The Boar's Head Inn for a two night stay for our summer vacation trip. It is extremely well maintained and the service is terrific. The food at the Old Mill Room is expensive, but it offers a great dining experience, especially if you are not use to such a fancy option for dinner. Room service is great and is delivered promptly. Breakfast has many options, all of which were delicious when tried. We used the Inn Pool, as well. It is adults only and provides for a very quiet and peaceful swimming experience without distractions. This was our second stay at the Inn and we loved it. We highly recommend the place for anyone who likes to relax, take in the scenery and enjoy a peaceful and possibly romantic vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We particularly enjoyed the food and the service. We were handled like family. We'll return again for sure. The pool was great and we enjoyed our walks around the facility. We will be planning another this year (we usually only schedule one visit per year).

Room Tip: Work with the front desk folks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel over the Fourth of July and had a nice time. We thought the Ednam rooms were very nice with a large porch. We enjoyed fishing and walking the trails. Breakfast was very nice. Dinner at 1884 was fine but not a destination in itself. The Sports Club facilities were very nice. Wish they had mentioned Farmington fireworks could be seen from resort. They sent us to McIntire Park for fireworks which was a zoo. Boar's Head should do their own fireworks and have more planned for the Fourth of July. They should not send guests to McIntire Park.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BH_Pat_Burnette, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for choosing Boar’s Head for your Fourth of July holiday weekend and for your TripAdvisor post! We are very pleased that you took advantage of the Ednam rooms with their large porches. Also, we’re delighted to learn that you enjoyed fishing, the walking trails and the sports facility. Unfortunately, we are not at liberty to send guests to Farmington to enjoy the fireworks there as it is a private club and gated community. We regret that the McIntire fireworks display, a longstanding Charlottesville tradition, was too congested. We do hope you took advantage of some of our July 4th events: a day-long flag day golf contest at Birdwood; games such as water balloon toss and a 3-legged relay on the upper lawn at 10am; complimentary chair massages at the spa; the BBQ buffet; and, of course, the bounce house. Please know that we greatly appreciate your stay and your valuable feedback; it helps us improve and develop these activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just spent our first weekend away at the Boars Head. This hotel is fantastic the service was outstanding from everyone who i came in contact with. The rooms are clean and comfortable the gym is new with more equipment then anyone would need. This property is also very centrally located to all the Charlottesville attractions including great restaurants and vineyards. its a bit older but very clean and rustic. Will stay here again next summer.

Room Tip: Stay on the Bed and Breakfast the buffet is delicious. Have lunch at the family pool its a great me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Boar's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boar's Head

Address: 200 Ednam Drive, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charlottesville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesville
#11 Family Hotel in Charlottesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boar's Head 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boar’s Head is a quintessential Virginia resort, offering a warm, intimate ambiance, exceptional service and unparalleled Southern hospitality. Located on a bucolic 573-acre country estate, our AAA Four Diamond resort offers 175 newly-renovated guest rooms and suites, Four Diamond dining in the Old Mill Room, a wide variety of world class recreational activities, spa and 22,000 square feet of meeting facilities for groups of 20 to 630.Owned and operated by the University of Virginia Foundation, Boar’s Head is just minutes from the University of Virginia that was founded by Thomas Jefferson, only two hours from Washington, D.C., and at the foot of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Boar's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boar`s Head Hotel Charlottesville
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Charlottesville
Boars Head Inn Charlottesville Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boar's Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.