We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my favorite hotel but okay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boar's Head

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Boar's Head to your Saves list
The Boar's Head
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   200 Ednam Drive, Charlottesville, VA 22903   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Stay for New Year's Eve!
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not my favorite hotel but okay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on two separate occasions and were not WOWed by this place at all. The rooms were adequate but not outstanding. The restaurant is mediocre considering the price. There are far better restaurants in the area than this one. The beds were not totally comfortable and on our first stay they never refreshed the body wash the three days we were there. Thank goodness I brought my own. The pools are lovely and the grounds are nice.

Room Tip: I stayed in one building both times so I don't know what the other rooms are like. I can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    162
    70
    39
    28
See reviews for
136
224
18
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed two nights. Very nice room with a comfortable king bed. Staff very friendly. Used the lap pool, but this could have been better managed (non-lap swimmers in the lanes). Good food and coffee at the breakfast buffet. Really liked the bar area - comfortable seating, good service. Can walk to golf course next door and tons of tennis courts available. Will do those next trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here when we were at a wedding. Very nice and big room with a balcony. We paid $200 and this did not include breakfast had to stay in a different hotel on the Saturday as the rate for the Saturday might was a whopping $375. However other than price can't fault the hotel. Our room was a 5 minute walk from the main hotel area but that was not to bad as the weather was great. Nice swimming pool. Did not have breakfast here as we opted to hit the road early the next morning and to get a nice Dinner Beakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
367 reviews 367 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I only stayed for one night and I plan to come back for sure! The Sports Club gives you access to first class tennis, fitness and swimming. Not too often I can stay on the road and have access to a 50m lap pool. Several pools on property which is just gorgeous. Tucked in between several golf courses and quiet and relaxing.

I had a king room with balcony, updated room and wonderful tile work and granite in the bathroom. Nice enough, that I took photos for ideas when redoing mine in the future.

The con: the AC unit in the room was old 20 years ago. I never got cold. If I would have opened the slider and sat outside there is no way it would have kept up with the humidity. I wish when they updated the rooms they would have done something with the ac units. The humidity is an issue - there are dehumidifiers that actually sit in the hallways to help with temp control.

Dining on a budget: The Sports Club has a café that offers coffee and muffins in am, along with a large selection of wonderful sandwiches in the evening. For less than $10 I had a light dinner and was satisfied.

Room Tip: The facility is spread out, I specifically asked for a room closer to Sports Club - but I was not ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Falls, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Had higher expectations for a two night stay. Clearly others had better stays and chances are your stay won't be a repeat of ours, but regardless, here's what we experienced:

The good -
* really nice tennis, gym, squash facility
* very friendly staff.
* quaint overall
* plenty to see/do in the area - spend some time getting out.

The not so good -
* couples massage - ho hum,
* Saunas out of order - yes, all of them,
* Steam room out of order,
* Pool area a complete mess from the day, food trays, empty bottles, trash & towels. No one cleaned it up from the afternoon.
* Jacuzzi at the pool not working,
* C+ at best for restaurant service - wrong orders, late food, and warm. Re breakfast, stick to the buffet to avoid.
* woken at 2am to guest yelling in the hallway, shaking and pounding on our neighbor's door about a "life or death" situation. Desk staff fully aware of the situation and then asked how was our stay, hmmm.

In fairness, if the inn would have been "up and running", it would have been a much better stay and this would have been a positive review. Good or bad, glad we checked this one off our list.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

All 11 of our family stayed in
the Boar's Head for 3 nights. The grounds are just beautiful with a lovely lake and 4 swimming pools.
We ate breakfast in the dining room which was excellent but a little formal for evening dining with a strict dress code. Shame really as I am sure it would have been good.
Meals in the Bistro were very good including our last meal altogether in the States.
The gift card from our family to spend in the Spa was good too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I do recommend the Premium Rooms located in the Hunting Club. The view from your private porch is nice and the room we had was clean, comfortable and spacious. Note, there may not be an elevator in this building. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Of interest, the price per night went up significantly for the fall college move-in weekend - an oddity since The Boar's Head is owned and operated by the college's Foundation. For some reason, I expected the opposite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boar's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boar's Head

Address: 200 Ednam Drive, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#4 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#11 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boar's Head 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boar’s Head is a quintessential Virginia resort, offering a warm, intimate ambiance, exceptional service and unparalleled Southern hospitality. Located on a bucolic 573-acre country estate, our AAA Four Diamond resort offers 175 newly-renovated guest rooms and suites, Four Diamond dining in the Old Mill Room, a wide variety of world class recreational activities, spa and 22,000 square feet of meeting facilities for groups of 20 to 630.Owned and operated by the University of Virginia Foundation, Boar’s Head is just minutes from the University of Virginia that was founded by Thomas Jefferson, only two hours from Washington, D.C., and at the foot of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Boar's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boar`s Head Hotel Charlottesville
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Charlottesville
Boars Head Inn Charlottesville Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boar's Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.