We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends from Virginia Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boar's Head

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Boar's Head to your Saves list
The Boar's Head
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   200 Ednam Drive, Charlottesville, VA 22903   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Stay for New Year's Eve!
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Friends from Virginia Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Lovely place to stay but our AT&T cell phone didn't work at the Inn. All else was great. It was raining we asked for an umbrella and the staff brought out some. Floors in bathroom were heated - wonderful. The room was very clean and comfortable. All in all a very enjoyable stay, would have stayed another night but the weather was horrible, an east coast storm, looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    162
    70
    39
    28
See reviews for
136
224
18
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have been visiting The Boar's Head since the 70's so I have really seen an interesting progression, and this was my first stay since UVA had taken over ownership and completed renovations. Wasn't sure what to expect, but came away reassured the Boar's Head is still the place to stay in Charlottesville, VA. We stayed for two nights after helping family member ferrying vehicle to DC area. Having stayed in various buildings we requested room in old Hunt building...selecting your room is really key at the Boar's Head as it will directly impact what kind of experience you may have. There are some rooms in the actual Inn, others in the Hunt building (500 wing) very separate and peaceful, other in wings 600/700 very nice but hotelish in a two/three story building with common hallways. Ednam hall is where the conference center is, and it really feels like a glorified dorm for conference attendees, so choose wisely.
We had some maintenance issues with our room that required us to vacate so repairs could be made, but staff handled it well and adjustments were made and we had wonderful breakfast on the house, so all went well. Suggest staying in Hunt Wing if you wish to use Spa or adult pool, use wing 600/700 if traveling with kids closer to family pool. Resort fee includes bikes, fishing, and use of family pool area, so don't miss using those. We stayed only two nights, but really wish we stayed longer as The Boar's Head beckons you to stay longer and really enjoy a wonderful Resort Experience either for a romantic couple or family looking for some quality time together in a wonderful Virginia countryside setting.

Room Tip: See above, choose rooms wisely dont stay In Ednam Hall unless at conference, Rooms in 600/700 wing b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Greeted by Elliott, a young man who anticipated every need. We were blown away with his politeness and accomadation.

Room was clean, and comfortable. Deck needed paint, but they were redoing them at the time. Great to see upkeep.

Breakfast was really good, but a little obvious by menu choices you would go over the ALl you could eat Buffett price if ordering coffee and a meal. old Hotel trick I guess. Again the food was great.

Was able to go every where from this place and always came back to Elliott smiling and asking to help us in every way. Best service I have seen in awhile in this type of establishment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I've eaten here a dozen times over the last three years. I don't know if they recently hired a new chef but suddenly the food has improved exponentially. Before it was just "ok" pretending to be "great." Now it truly is excellent.

My wife and I had a lovely four course dinner with wine. The service was very good with servers who checked in the right amount and who never left us waiting there for the next course or dessert.

As for the hotel, some areas are dated, but others are very very nice. My wife and I celebrated our anniversary there and had a great room, with excellent new amenities overlooking the lake. The staff were courteous and kind. And even room service was top notch (again they must have a new chef or new management in the kitchen, somehow it's gotten much much better).

I look forward to eating there and visiting again. Excellent work boar's head, keep it up!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Arrived for a weekend and easily checked in to room - front desk was helpful with directions into town. Room was comfortable and plenty big enough for 2 people, bed was very comfortable. Housecleaning could have been better as they forgot to empty trash and leave additional shampoo, conditioner and soap. Free coffee to go in the main lobby - same coffee at breakfast table $3 Breakfast in the main dining hall was good, opted out of the buffet for an entree. Delicious but not the fastest service. Had a drink on the Mill room patio one evening, again expensive and slow service. The rest of the time we had dinner in historic downtown or near UVA - the atmosphere was much better and affordable. Went to the spa one afternoon - good - just be sure to ask for exactly what you want because 2 different staff members giving the same massage were very different after speaking with someone else. I would have liked some of the options offered by another masseuse. The property was very large and beautiful - nice to walk around. I probably wouldn't stay here again but it was nice to experience once - although I wouldn't recommend it unless you had extra money to spend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Being from the area, we had never been to The Boars Head. The lobby is definitely dated and needs updated; however, the rooms are newly renovated. The food was great along with the service. We had a few issues but hey were rectified quickly. The only reason we would not return is the thin walls and very loud doors. We were constantly disturbed by slamming doors and kids running in the halls. We moved the second night to an area where no one else was staying...unfortunately a storage closet was right next to our room so starting very early the door was slamming over and over and over....

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phladelphia, PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Weekend getaway following a college visit. The room in the 700 building overlooking the lake was clean, comfortable, and attractive. The view was lovely with the small balcony to sit and enjoy. The tennis facility is great and we appreciated walking over to book a court on our choice of court surfaces. I'm not sure there are many options to play if you want a clinic, lesson, round robin - best to investigate before you go. The breakfast, both in-room and restaurant was very good. Dinners were had elsewhere in town. Overall , a nice stay but certainly not inexpensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boar's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boar's Head

Address: 200 Ednam Drive, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#4 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#11 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boar's Head 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boar’s Head is a quintessential Virginia resort, offering a warm, intimate ambiance, exceptional service and unparalleled Southern hospitality. Located on a bucolic 573-acre country estate, our AAA Four Diamond resort offers 175 newly-renovated guest rooms and suites, Four Diamond dining in the Old Mill Room, a wide variety of world class recreational activities, spa and 22,000 square feet of meeting facilities for groups of 20 to 630.Owned and operated by the University of Virginia Foundation, Boar’s Head is just minutes from the University of Virginia that was founded by Thomas Jefferson, only two hours from Washington, D.C., and at the foot of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Boar's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boar`s Head Hotel Charlottesville
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Charlottesville
Boars Head Inn Charlottesville Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boar's Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.