We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill

Save Saved
You added The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill
18401 The Glebe Lane, Charles City, VA 23030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Charles City B&B and Inns
Mclean, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I just got home from 2 nights at the Peace Hill B&B, and we are missing it already! Tanya and Mike were wonderful hosts, and the whole stay was perfect. This was our first time staying at a B&B and we had a great experience. We were the only guests while we were there, and we enjoyed our time in the hammock on the porch, walking around the nearby pond and farm, reading in the sitting room, and gobbling up the delicious food! In addition to breakfast each day, we also enjoyed dinner one night, a picnic lunch, and even took some of the farm fresh chicken eggs to go. The Holdcroft room was very lovely and the bed was very comfortable. What a peaceful and relaxing stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days and had a wonderful time. Mike and Tanya are really wonderful hosts and the breakfasts really can't be beat! This would be top on our list to return to if we ever venture down to this part of Virginia again. We have stayed at lots of B&B's but this is really one of the best. The prices are very reasonable and the room was immaculately clean, comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jefferson, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The B&B's rural location serves its clientelle well in offering a pleasant respite; however, it is not so isolated as to be difficult to reach. We used it as a base for visiting some of the plantations in the county. Now, that I've been there, I would also recommend it for any who may be visiting Williamsburg area attractions. My husband especially enjoyed walking the path past the soybean field, into the woods, and back; I favored the screened back porch. Excellent food (and coffee!), thoughtful gestures (like snacks for traveling), lovely decorated rooms, and just the right mix of friendly conversation and privacy -- all contributed to our enjoyment. So glad I found it while researching our trip to the area!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Staying at this charming old farmhouse is a wonderful escape from the stresses of everyday life. The food is great and the owners take a lot of pride in their home and pampering their guests. The claw-foot bathtub is a treat!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The owners were so helpful. Very accomodating in spite of our late arrival Saturday night ~ 10 PM. They had a great full breakfast for my wife and I and 1 other couple the next morning, coffee and tea ready before breakfast, and gave each couple a snack bag after leaving for the day. We enjoyed visiting with them that evening after we had visited Williamsburg, […] Va. The next morning, we had to leave early to catch a flight , so they had breakfast for us (we were the only ones that morning) at 6 AM !! They will always accommodate people's needs for the time of breakfast. Our bedroom and the entire place was charming and beautifulIy decorated. I would highly recommend this place !! If you planning on coming, try to plan early, as the place can only accommodate two families, one family with one bedroom and bathroom, another family can have 1 or 2 bedrooms and share a bathroom. Fully air conditioned. There's a large sitting room downstairs and a screened in porch in the back. The bedrooms are upstairs which was not a problem for us. The owners would carry the luggage up and down if needed. This B & B really lives up to its name; it was a very peaceful place. Located about 20 minutes south of I-64 and 35 minutes west of Williamsburg. We stayed from Sat 7/21 to Mon 7/23 (two nights).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill for one night on our way to visit family. Mike and Tanya were very welcoming. The room was very nice, clean and comfortable. For us one of the most enjoyable features was the large screened porch. We enjoyed tea and coffee there while enjoying the beautiful view. Breakfast was delicious, plentiful and served with much care by both Mike and Tanya. They were delightful hosts. We would recommend a stay here for anyone that wants to get away and just relax.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill offered in abundance exactly what the name suggests--Peace. We all, my husband and I and mother-in-law, found it very peaceful and relaxing. Mike and Tanya are excellent hosts---a lovely couple with a knowledge and love of the area. The breakfast was delicious and the rooms clean, charming and very comfortable. Our plan for next time is to stay longer at the B&B at Peace Hill and visit more of Charles City and the other surrounding historical towns, i.e., Jamestown, Yorktown and Williamsburg. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had two rooms for the night we were there. The third room was equally as clean and cozy as our t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill

Address: 18401 The Glebe Lane, Charles City, VA 23030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charles City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charles City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the perfect place for a getaway whether it be romantic; girls' trip; fathers & sons; families. We pamper our guests and provide a place so peaceful that they tell us they have had the best night's sleep ever. Our breakfasts are full Southern country cuisine and are served right to your table so you can chose your helpings and have seconds - or more. We include hot, delicious biscuits, muffins or scones with each breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.