We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful get-away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charles City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill
Save
You added The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill to your Saves list
18401 The Glebe Lane, Charles City, VA 23030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Charles City B&B and Inns
bloomington
1 review
“Wonderful get-away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Staying at this charming old farmhouse is a wonderful escape from the stresses of everyday life. The food is great and the owners take a lot of pride in their home and pampering their guests. The claw-foot bathtub is a treat!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cromwell, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The owners were so helpful. Very accomodating in spite of our late arrival Saturday night ~ 10 PM. They had a great full breakfast for my wife and I and 1 other couple the next morning, coffee and tea ready before breakfast, and gave each couple a snack bag after leaving for the day. We enjoyed visiting with them that evening after we had visited Williamsburg, […] Va. The next morning, we had to leave early to catch a flight , so they had breakfast for us (we were the only ones that morning) at 6 AM !! They will always accommodate people's needs for the time of breakfast. Our bedroom and the entire place was charming and beautifulIy decorated. I would highly recommend this place !! If you planning on coming, try to plan early, as the place can only accommodate two families, one family with one bedroom and bathroom, another family can have 1 or 2 bedrooms and share a bathroom. Fully air conditioned. There's a large sitting room downstairs and a screened in porch in the back. The bedrooms are upstairs which was not a problem for us. The owners would carry the luggage up and down if needed. This B & B really lives up to its name; it was a very peaceful place. Located about 20 minutes south of I-64 and 35 minutes west of Williamsburg. We stayed from Sat 7/21 to Mon 7/23 (two nights).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill for one night on our way to visit family. Mike and Tanya were very welcoming. The room was very nice, clean and comfortable. For us one of the most enjoyable features was the large screened porch. We enjoyed tea and coffee there while enjoying the beautiful view. Breakfast was delicious, plentiful and served with much care by both Mike and Tanya. They were delightful hosts. We would recommend a stay here for anyone that wants to get away and just relax.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill offered in abundance exactly what the name suggests--Peace. We all, my husband and I and mother-in-law, found it very peaceful and relaxing. Mike and Tanya are excellent hosts---a lovely couple with a knowledge and love of the area. The breakfast was delicious and the rooms clean, charming and very comfortable. Our plan for next time is to stay longer at the B&B at Peace Hill and visit more of Charles City and the other surrounding historical towns, i.e., Jamestown, Yorktown and Williamsburg. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had two rooms for the night we were there. The third room was equally as clean and cozy as our t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Highly recommended! We stayed two day: friendly folks, clean decorated with beautiful antiques and great breakfast. They have two secluded rooms for relaxing (undisturbed) with enjoying coffee.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

What a wonderful get-away from everyday "craziness." We loved EVERYTHING--the house, the location, the food, and especially the "innkeepers," Mike and Tanya. They made us feel very welcomed from the minute we arrived to the second we left, and they were good company, in between. This is only our 2nd B&B, but will always be a favorite. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Approximately fifteen miles from bustling Williamsburg, a one hundred forty year farm house in rural setting, meticulously clean,morning coffee or tea at bedroom door, delicious Southern home cooked family style breakfast and gracious hosts (Mike and Tanya). Best of two worlds... enjoying Williamsburg and surroundings during the day and tranquillity in the evening (there is no TV) looking forward to visit again and sit on the large screened back porch.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill

Address: 18401 The Glebe Lane, Charles City, VA 23030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charles City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charles City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the perfect place for a getaway whether it be romantic; girls' trip; fathers & sons; families. We pamper our guests and provide a place so peaceful that they tell us they have had the best night's sleep ever. Our breakfasts are full Southern country cuisine and are served right to your table so you can chose your helpings and have seconds - or more. We include hot, delicious biscuits, muffins or scones with each breakfast. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.