We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite plantation to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berkeley Plantation

Berkeley Plantation
12602 Harrison Landing Road, On Virginia Route 5, Charles City, VA 23030
888-466-6018
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Battlefields, Historic Sites, Outdoors
Activities: Dining, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: First settled in 1619, this historic estate is the birthplace of Benjamin Harrison V, a signer of the American Declaration of Indepenence, and his son William Henry, who later became president of the United States.
Wentzville, Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“My favorite plantation to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

When I return on my next visit I will plan on spending at least a half a day here. Lovely drive up to the site, plenty of parking, and huge huge space to walk and tour at your own pace. Guided tour is fantastic and so informative. This plantation has so much history. Be sure to visit all the gardens, James River, Taps monument, graves, and museum. I'd bring a picnic lunch next time, too. This place is very relaxing, and every one of the staff members I met were so friendly. Lots of other plantations to visit. They are great, but this one is my favorite.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    54
    19
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aztec, New Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A peek into the past.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Two U.S. presidents lived here. The site of the first American Thanksgiving! Beautiful grounds and house. History everywhere!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Lots & Lots of History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We drove Route 5 from Williamsburg to Richmond. It is a very nice road that passé a number of James River plantations. We decided to stop at the Berkley Plantation, which is probably the most historic of the plantations.
The history of the plantation site goes back to 1619, where they held the first Thanksgiving and apparently brewed the first of what is today Boubon. As the home of the Harrison family it produced many notable Americans, including a signer of the Declaration of Independence and a president
It also played a significant role in the Civil War during Gen. McClellan's retreat from Richmond during 1862.
The house itself is not overly large and the tour does not take very long. It is well worth the stop.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Interesting but short tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The house is interesting, but you only get to see the lower floors. Neat display and short video in the basement. I think this tour is more about the people who lived at the plantation than the house/plantation itself.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
577 reviews 577 reviews
164 attraction reviews
Reviews in 182 cities Reviews in 182 cities
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
“So Much History Happened Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Nine presidents have visited here. A signer of the Declaration of Independence lived here. A president lived here. 140,000 Civil War soldiers camped here. And that's just a sampling of what has happened here since the early 1600s.

Your ticket (discounted for seniors) gets you full access to the grounds and a guided tour of the basement and first floor of the home. The tour guide was excellent and provided a wealth of information. The grounds are beautiful.

If you visit only one plantation on the James River, this should be it!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berkeley Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Berkeley Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berkeley Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.