We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A view of Old Virginia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berkeley Plantation

Berkeley Plantation
12602 Harrison Landing Road, On Virginia Route 5, Charles City, VA 23030
888-466-6018
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Dining, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: First settled in 1619, this historic estate is the birthplace of Benjamin Harrison V, a signer of the American Declaration of Indepenence, and his son William Henry, who later became president of the United States.
Salisbury
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“A view of Old Virginia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Berkeley Plantation is authentic and historical. Built in 1726 of brick fired on the plantation it occupies a beautifully landscaped area on the James River. The home is beautiful and is filled with a magnificent collection of 18th century antiques. Our tour guide was superb! We also enjoyed the outbuildings and walking around the ten-acre, landscaped grounds. Benches are arranged throughout the gardens to sit and enjoy this beautiful setting. Berkeley was the birthplace of William Henry Harrison, 9th U.S. President and Benjamin Harrison V, signer of the Declaration of Independence. "Taps" was composed here and this was the site of the First Official Thanksgiving in America in 1916, three years before the Pilgrims arrived.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    56
    22
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Fantastic Tour. Our mature female guide could not have been more polite, knowlgable or accomodating. She did acknowledge her co-worker's gum chewing compulsion, however there is a serious side to this issue as some people will use any method to vandalise beautiful valuable property of others. Well worth the time. 2 hours is NOT enough if you wish to enjoy the gardens. Be advised that the on-site restaurant is permanently closed. We discovered this North American historic treasure on a side trip while attending a convention is Williamsberg. This is living history. You can feel the steps of the historic persons that walked these floors and grounds. No re-creations here. See Shirley Plantation for a completely different viewpoint of a similar period similar site. Berkeley, history focused. Shirely, focused more on the families who stlll live and/or work on the site, They are very personable but quiet and discrete, you will not recognize then from the volunteers/staff unless you ask directly). For more history see Historic Jamestown. Definately miss the"Jamestown Settlement" unless you are int highly inaccurate reconstructions.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We recently chose the Berkeley plantation to visit over all the others nearby due to the reviews we read. Although it was beautiful and full of interesting history, I was greatly disappointed in the tour. I thought we would see much more than the first floor of the main house that took about a half hour, and the basement where we watched a short (and dull) film. It was not worth the money we spent on it. I was hoping for more as it does have an incredible history.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“This tour could use some work!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We went to Berkeley plantation based on the good reviews on trip advisor. On their website it said it is an hour and a half tour and self-guided tour of the gardens. We watched a ten minute video and then toured 3 rooms in the house, another tourist asked about the upstairs and the guide said she'd never been up there...there were other buildings on the property but they were used for storage, It was very disappointing and it only lasted abou 30-45 minutes! Although it had a great history...I do not recommend going here, simply because it would be a waste of money!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't tour with this guide”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Mr. John Curtis is the name of the tour guide we had the misfortune to experience this lovely plantation with on our tour. He is undoubtedly the rudest, most unpleasant, and poorest example of an ambassador employed in any capacity. Do yourself a favor and take a pass on a tour with this surly man. He rushed the entire tour, did not answer questions in a knowledgeable manner, and in general seemed angry he was even giving the tour. Honestly, this man needs to get another job.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berkeley Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Berkeley Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berkeley Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.