We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced and bad service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eggspectation

Eggspectation
5009 Westone Plaza Dr., Chantilly, VA 20151
703 263-7444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 126 Restaurants in Chantilly
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bakery, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Over priced and bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

There is not much that I liked about this place. It was overpriced and the service was very bad. The server kept forgetting everything and I don't even think he understood English. The food was just average the fruit plate I got my daughter tasted like it was going sour, it was not fresh at all. My Eggs Benedict was just okay for for the price it should have been good to geat. I was very disapointed in the place and expecially the service. I know a lot of people like this place but I would not go there again.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    39
    31
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not just eggs.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This restaurant also prepares vegetarian fare, and eggs any way imaginable. The price is moderate, but the food is always well-prepared. There is a notable dearth of good affordable food in the DC area.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Eggsellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Great selection of egg dishes. Very fresh and wait staff was outstanding! I frequented this establishment for a few months because of its unique menu and great service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Three Strikes and you're OUT!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Our third trip to Eggspectation, Chantilly, VA. Each time we ordered eggs and each time they asked how we wanted them cooked. Each time we said over-medium. Now with a name like "Eggspectation" we would all expect that cooking eggs would be their specialty, and we have a realistic expectation that they are good at cooking eggs - right?. No, not quite!!! Each time the eggs have come to the table undercooked. The whites of the eggs are not firm, but are runny, wet and watery...almost a perfect over-easy. The toast was cooked too soon and each of the three times the toast came out cold. Hey.... coffee was good!!! Really wish they had a better internal review system so incorrectly prepared meals would not be delivered to the table. Sure, they offered to re-cook the eggs, and the waiter agreed that they were runny and undercooked. Maybe they should invest in egg cooking training for the breakfast-time egg cook. We will not go back.. three strikes and Eggspectation is OUT!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great breakfast place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Great omelette combinations and great service. Overall not as good as the one in Montreal, but a good anytime meal experience

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eggspectation also viewed

Chantilly, Fairfax County
 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 

Been to Eggspectation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eggspectation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.