We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great idea -- quality of service and food can be improved” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eggspectation

Eggspectation
5009 Westone Plaza Dr., Chantilly, VA 20151
703 263-7444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 129 restaurants in Chantilly
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bakery, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great idea -- quality of service and food can be improved”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I've eaten at this restaurant twice in the past 3 months. The first time was lunch with my workplace team. The food was good, and the waiter was able to adjust one dish for my solo for dinner. I ate at the bar. I had several concerns. Papers and napkins at the counter next to me weren't removed throughout my dinner. I was waited on by 2 young women who were cleaning/setting up and waiting on personnel. I ordered a beer. After a long wait, I asked them what the holdup was. They got a waiter to bring my beer. I ordered the chicken pasta with lemon. Although good, one part of the chicken looked undercooked -- so I didn't eat that part. The dish was under=seasoned. Not enough lemon, nor herbs/spices. Nobody checked on me while I was eating. There were many restaurant personnel milling around talking and laughing. My overall impression was that nobody cared about making my meal an enjoyable experience. A manager was nearby but he made no attempt to speak with me. On the good side, there was a musician playing in the bar who was very good. Overall, I think they need to work on service and consistency.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    21
    32
    31
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dinner with a side of BUGS”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

My family and I recently went to the Chantilly eggspectations for the first time in years. It took forever for us to get our food even though the place was basically empty and when we did get it the dudgeon my moms was missing and my sausage was tough. Rather than cutting the links for the construction pancake in half they simply stuck whole links between the pancakes! While we were waiting for our food I saw a bug crawling on the wall by the bar and after the food arrived saw another crawling on our table! We will not be returning there. Don't waste your time and money there. However the one in Leesburg seems to be much better quality. I doubt we'll ever eat here again. NOT worth it.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“menu has a really nice mix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This place has all your meals in one place all day. I am a regular here and have never had a bad dish. Casual atmosphere, with really good fresh food.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good for business breakfast meetings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I've eaten at Eggspectations for breakfast several times and never been disappointed. The decors is eclectic but classy. Food is fresh and arrives quickly. Service is good. Back room is great for small business meetings (up to 25 or so).

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food for a Sat morning or anytime”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

The food was delicious and the customer service was excellent. I went with a large group and our food was served hot and with a smile.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eggspectation also viewed

 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 

Been to Eggspectation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eggspectation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.