We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great hotel !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Chantilly / Dulles Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham Chantilly / Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Chantilly / Dulles Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3940 Centerview Dr, Rt 50 & Rt 28, Chantilly, VA 20151   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale Save 25%
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Chantilly
Maryland
1 review
“What a great hotel !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

I stayed at the hotel for a couple of days for business. What a nice hotel !!! I have never stayed at a Wingate Hotel but what a surprise. The rooms were clean and large. The breakfast items in the morning made a good start for the day and it was FREE. The front desk staff were polite and helpful. I even ran into the General Manager in the hallway in passing and he stopped and talked to me about my stay and if there was anything that I needed. This was a first.

I've stayed at other Wingate Hotels since, but this hotel was by far the best property to date. The other ones have been some what of a let down after staying at this Wingate Hotel. This was the cause of my delay in posting my review. Keep up the good work!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    156
    74
    32
    9
See reviews for
155
73
30
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

This hotel is a great affordable alternative to D.C. hotels, especially with the free parking. My family and I stayed at the Wingate Inn Chantilly when we decided to visit the Washington D.C. area. The staff was very friendly, the room was spacious and clean. The location is close to the Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum and an easy drive to the sights in D.C.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

I am a frequent traveler (Business and Pleasure) and have never taken the time to review a hotel, as I feel that Trip Advisor is usually spot on. However, since this was the single worst hotel experience, I feel it necessary to take the time to warn other travelers. We have also written a complaint to the hotel manager so we are upfront with the staff and have not received a response to date.

Were there on business for a conference and this was one of the hotels recommended by the venue. There were several options, but we chose this one as it is a few blocks from the expo center.

We requested 3 rooms with kingsize beds. We emailed the staff a week prior to our stay of and confirmed with Manager in writing who assured us King Size beds were confirmed for all our reserved rooms. When we arrived a very unapologetic staff member let us know no king size beds were available for any of the three rooms and even though we had written confirmation they couldn't help us. We each were given double bed rooms instead. Again, had we not been assured the king size we would have booked elsewhere.

As I sat in the room late night trying to work at night, the internet, both wifi and ethernet connection was so slow that it was unusable.

I decided to turn in for sleep. The pillow had no form. And by no form it was as if someone stuck a cotton balls in a sack. I would have been better suited to take the mini pillow from the airplane. I went though both beds and all the pillows were the as same. I have never seen such a cheap pillow and was shocked at just how uncomfortable they were.

To make matters worse the planes were constantly landing, what seemed like overhead, every 20 minutes and I had a brief moment where i thought about the scene in "My Cousin Vinny" with the train. I wager some of the other hotels in the area were better suited or had thicker walls to defray some of the sound.

And as a final insult to the evening, I heard scurrying around the room throughout the night. What sounded like a critter was coupled with the air conditioning kicking on and off during the evening to make for a comically awful night. I had no sleep and was a mess for the conference. When I awoke I decided to take a shower, where they placed a bath mat. Unlike other hotels that have the mat carefully secure to the shower, this one floated like a hovercraft when water got under it and instead of giving me "no-slip" support, I was trying for the entire to keep my balance and not slip and kill myself the entire shower.

So there you have it. You be the judge and proceed with caution. I only wanted a stop over with my team to get some sleep after a long day of traveling, but was treated to the single worst hotel experience ever. My other coworkers were treated to the same experience so I figure this review is as good as three separate reviews. I am sure there are other hotels in the vicinity with better reviews for you to consider.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wgm5286, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Chantilly / Dulles Airport, responded to this review, June 16, 2009
The wingate by Wyndham strives to give our guests the best experience possible. This review surprises me1 All email goes thru my box and I have no records of sent or received for reservation requests during that period. As the General manager I handle all guests issues and have no records of a guest complaint directly with the hotel or Customer care department of Wyndham. Be assured all issues are handled until resolved, and our previous reviews prove it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

Hi, I've been to Chantilly, VA. On the corner is Marriot and Wingate big chain hotels. On 1 corner is Longhorn steakhouse, Boib Evan's family restaurant. On 1 corner is Pizza Hut & Sichuan chinese food. On 1 corner is Sully Plaza, a typical strip mall. Behind Sichuan is a Seafood & Subs place. There's plenty of places to eat around these two hotels.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madras
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

Clean, lots of amenities, convenient to shopping, and to the National Air & Space Museum. The staff shuttled us to the museum at opening time, no charge, and picked us up when we called in the late afternoon. It saved us a parking fee and hassle in finding the museum.
The breakfast room had tea, coffee, chocolate, available at all times, though the premade tea in the big urn was a surprise. As a tea drinker, I thought I had found the promised land, but alas, tea that sits in a big heated urn for hours is pretty awful. I give them an E for effort, though, and there were bags plus a convenient hot water spigot to make my own fresh tea.
Great pool and hot tub, quiet location, everything we could want was right there.
We will stay here whenever we are in Virginia.

  • Liked — the shuttle to the museum
  • Disliked — no onsite museum
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

In March 2008 our family and my sister's family stayed here for 2 nights. The staff was very helpful and friendly. When we checked in, the room we were given reeked of cigarette smoke. I went back to the front desk and they immediately changed our rooms, taking care to keep both families as close together as possible. The facility was clean and well-kept. The breakfast was good. If you've stayed at any Wingate location, the free breakfast is pretty much the same at all. Fresh eggs, make-your-own-waffles, etc.

The indoor pool was a treat in chilly March and the kids totally enjoyed it. The hotel is about 20 minutes from DC and we had no trouble commuting there for our sightseeing.

The next time we're in the DC Area, this hotel would be our hands down choice again.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2007

I just got back from staying here at Dulles Wingate and I must say it was one of the most safest places I had stayed before. I must say whe we checked in it was after 3pm and the Hazy center was open till 5pm and the driver brought us to there and came back for us without waiting long at all. When the driver picked us up we were hungry and he even drove us to a Wendy's for dinner at drive thru, I must say that was awesome and a load off my tired legs from driving from WV. The hotel front desk named "MAX" was so polite and very informational on everything I needed to know. My kids loved the fresh baked complimentry cookies (all kinds) for them to grab and free hot cocoa. I also enjoyed the Whirlpool and indoor heated pool and let me tell you it hit the spot after walking alot. I also enjoyed the buisness center cause it had free internet and free faxes and copies if needed (gotta check that email you know ) I also enjoyed the free breakfast with eggs, susage, muffins, and cereal and alot more I can't think of right now. I would say if you are wanting a close place to relax before going home on a flight or even going to DC to see the sites this place is it. I will stay here again cause it was like 20 minutes to DC and you didnt have to pay DC rates for a hotel and it had the quiet comfort of being safe here with all the free etc's to enjoy. I hope this helps you when traveling cause Tripadvisor rocks for info. PS go into Leesburg right down the road a bit and see all the history and little stores.

  • Liked — Very close to DC and the free shuttle to the airport and the Hazy center
  • Disliked — Nothing at all... Loved it
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chantilly
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chantilly - Fairfax / Dulles Airport
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Chantilly - Dulles Expo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Dulles Airport
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Dulles Airport Chantilly
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Washington Dulles Airport South/Chantilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Chantilly / Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Chantilly / Dulles Airport

Address: 3940 Centerview Dr, Rt 50 & Rt 28, Chantilly, VA 20151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Chantilly
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chantilly
#4 Business Hotel in Chantilly
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chantilly
#7 Family Hotel in Chantilly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham Chantilly / Dulles Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Wyndham, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Chantilly / Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Chantilly / Dulles Airport Hotel Chantilly
Wingate Hotel Chantilly
Wingate Dulles Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Chantilly / Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.