We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an ok place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Chantilly Dulles South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Chantilly Dulles South to your Saves list
Residence Inn Chantilly Dulles South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14440 Chantilly Crossing Lane, Chantilly, VA 20151   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Chantilly
Chantilly, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“an ok place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We were staying in this hotel for an extended stay. I don't have any major complaints, but can't say I was impressed either. There are a few things there, that could be improved. They almost don't have any dining service. There is breakfast in the morning with not big selection, and there is snack in the afternoon, but not on Fridays and not on the weekends. Food service people get growchy if you try to get something from a buffet and you are a bit early or a bit too late. So, maybe someone is a few minutes late, but if you still have the food out anyway, what difference does it make?
There is Target next door, and also Red Robin and Famous Daves.
The internet connection was very slow.
The gym is just big enough for them to be able to say they have one.
The place is not perfect, but it's also fairly cheap.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    21
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
5
8
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011 via mobile

We stayed one night as a weekend break. The small outdoor pool was clean and well maintained. The breakfast buffet was limited but had all the essentials (eggs, waffles, juice, fruit, yogurt,...). The A/C was reasonably quiet. Our room was on the second floor and the airplane noise didn't bother us. All in all a pleasant stay. The only thing we didn't like was the bed mattress - it wasn't very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We selected this hotel for severel reasons.

1. Had a 2 bedroom suite with a kitchen
2. Was close to Washington, DC
3. Have stayed with Residence Inn before.

1. This hotel was actually very nice. Some reviews had mentioned it was only ok, but our room seemed practically new. The 2 bedroom suite had bedrooms on the outside and the living room and kitchen in between. There was also a sofa bed and we had a rollaway brought in so that all 6 of us would be in a bed. No problems with any of that. Refigerator had an icemaker, kitchen had dishwasher, etc. Would have liked to have laundry, but it was available on the 4th floor for $1.50 per load which is not completely unreasonable. While we could have cooked our own breakfast, we did go to the provided breakfast everyday. They had cooked eggs, a waffle maker, cereal, fruit, juice, and then each day a change such as one day there was french toast, another had potatos and biscuits and gravy, etc. Actually very nice considering the price was $0! I'm sure I saved a lot of money (and time) eating there over going out each day with 6 people. For the room, at night could hear a little plumbing noise from upstairs, but discovered closing the bathroom door seemed to eliminate this. No problem getting on the "FREE" internet in my room.

Next, it was close to Washington, DC. Dare I say close because its only a matter of miles to the city, but there is terrible road construction on the highway going in and out of the city. On a Thursday night it took almost 2 hours to get to the Washinton Monument. However, the traffic seems to be hit and miss. Instead, we went to the Vienna/Fairfax Metro station which was about 5 miles away and rode in each day. The cost is about $9 per ticket and parking during the week is $4.50 per day. Well worth it considering there was very little parking in the city and very confusing parking signs. If you are doing the tourist attractions, just ride the Metro in, you will be glad you did. Plan to walk a lot, also take your lunch and bottled water in a backpack if you are on a budget because it is quite pricy to eat inside the tourist attractions. Your bag will be searched every time you go in a building. Forgot to mention this hotel is right across from a Target that sells groceries and a Costco. There is a Red Robin and BBQ place in the parking lot. Ate at the BBQ place and it was good ribs & chicken.

Good friendly staff that smiled each time we came through the lobby. A basketball was provided upon request for the basketball court and the pool was open until 8pm each night. Apparently there must be a lifeguard on duty. The hot tub was VERY HOT, but felt great after a day of walking. If you can not afford to be right in the city, then this is a good alternative. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We made our reservations while driving into the DC area, after reading the reviews on trip advisor. We were traveling with our small dog, so our options were limited. We chose to stay in the Chantilly area because we wanted to tour the Air & Space Museum at Dulles. We actually were able to reserve 2 rooms for 3 nights each for less than we could get the 2 bedroom suite elsewhere, and we were there over the Memorial Day Holiday weekend. We needed the 2nd room for our grown son. The staff was so polite and helpful, the rooms were absolutely wonderful with kitchens larger than our sons apt in NYC! The bed was comfortable, breakfast more than plentiful (and included in the rate), convenient to many shopping areas and many choices to eat, free parking and internet! It is quite a drive into DC, but if you do not need to be in the city, this is an excellent choice! It is only 1 exit away from Dulles, but they do not have a shuttle to the airport. I would definitely stay there again if I am in the area!

Room Tip: Ask for the internet rate if you have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Nothing about this hotel stands out as either superior or horrible. It is a Residence Inn, so you have a mini apartment of sorts. You will not be short on space here! The best part of the experience was the variety of the free breakfast. We stayed here for 3 nights so had the chance to have breakfast 3 different times. They give you more than bagels, cereal and toast, and even offer breakfast burritos, waffles, eggs, hashbrowns, breakfast meats and all of the items you can expect of a standard continental. I do not call this breakfast a standard continental, but they provide those things plus all of the above mentioned. The location is about 3 miles from the IAD terminal. Location is adjacent to a Red Robin, Famous Dave's and very close to a Target and other eating/shopping establishments. However, the next time we are in the IAD area, we may opt for another hotel closer to the terminal. This one isn't inconvenient, but we would just opt for something else another time! If you like Chipotle, you'll be happy to know there is one just 3 doors or so down! Not a bad hotel, just needs some updating to bring it up to standard Marriott par. Would stay again, but would first find another location first.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yardley pa
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

I reviewed this hotel 5 years ago, and felt the need to do an update. Since then we have stayed many times while visiting family. We travel extensively and have rarely seen a moderate price hotel (very inexpensive on weekends) provide such consistantly excellent value.

Rooms are always clean, service efficenient and friendly, and buffet breakfast consistantly excellent, wonderful with children. Just a wonderful place to stay while in the DC area. There is simply nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus ohio
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

The hotel is clean, comfortable and the rooms have a full kitchen for a long stay. The breakfast was good with a wide selection of food. The best thing about the hotel was it's proximity to Dulles Airport.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Chantilly Dulles South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chantilly Dulles South

Address: 14440 Chantilly Crossing Lane, Chantilly, VA 20151
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Chantilly
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chantilly
#6 Business Hotel in Chantilly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chantilly Dulles South 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Chantilly Dulles South is conveniently located just minutes from Washington Dulles International Airport, the Smithsonian Udvar-Hazy Center and Avion Parkway. Guest suites include a full kitchen, separate living area and a pull-out sofa for extra sleeping space. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, free internet access, weekly social hours and grocery shopping service at this Chantilly IAD Airport hotel. Stay in shape while visiting our Chantilly hotel’s fitness center, or relax by the outdoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Chantilly Dulles South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Dulles South Hotel Chantilly
Residence Inn Chantilly
Chantilly Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Chantilly Dulles South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.