We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow and quiet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Backyard Grill & Bar

Backyard Grill & Bar
13999 Metrotech Dr., Chantilly, VA 20151
703-802-6400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 129 Restaurants in Chantilly
Price range: $9 - $24
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Fish & Chips, Seafood, Hamburgers
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Round Hill, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Slow and quiet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My family went to backyard on a Saturday afternoon and the place was about half full. I cannot express how slow the service was. The waiter was polite, but would disappear for 20min periods. The foods was delicious, I had the Cajun chicken sandwich and my wife had the Reuben. I would say that our two sandwiches took about 50min to arrive after we ordered them. Also, it was near impossible to get a drink refill. An additional complaint would be that the restaurant is too quiet; they need some music for ambiance. If it wouldn't have been for the exceptionally slow service I would probably return in the future. As it is ill take a pass.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    26
    19
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Friday night ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Popped in at random on friday night. Great after work atmot sphere. Good selection of draft beers on tap. Diverse menu. I went with the mahi mahi. Tasty. Give it a try.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great for Football Games”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

AWSOME AWSOME, Great for families and groups for a great game of any sports. Everyone got along with each other despite the teams they were cheering for. Could get rid of the smoking thing. But again its a sports bar, I will deal with it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We wanted to find an outdoor area to grab a drink and this was perfect. Sort of an outdoor area on 1/2 the bar and "kind of" enclosed on the other half. Drink prices and selections very good. Bartenders are friendly and efficient.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“OK Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stopped for lunch and shared a steak-n-cheese; it was delicious and huge. We brought our family back for dinner but personally I didn't think the dinner menu food was all that good. To be fair, it might just have been my tastes that evening. The prices were definitely reasonable and the staff were friendly and efficient. I would give this restaurant a second chance if I'm in the area again. This restaurant is within walking distance of the hotel.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backyard Grill & Bar also viewed

Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 

Been to Backyard Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backyard Grill & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.