We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not understand why it is not busier” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Backyard Grill & Bar

Backyard Grill & Bar
13999 Metrotech Dr., Chantilly, VA 20151
703-802-6400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 136 Restaurants in Chantilly
Price range: $9 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Bristow, Virginia
Level Contributor
537 reviews
389 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Do not understand why it is not busier”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had a good meal at the Manassas location so tried this location. The website says you can make a reservation (since there were 5 of us for Saturday night), but when we arrived the hostess says we don't take reservations. So why does the website advertise this? It wasn't necessary cause the dining room never got more than 1/3 full on Saturday night. The tables never turned over and we were there for 2 hours visiting. Seems the establishment makes more of their revenue from the bar area which was very lively with numerous college football games on the TVs. I don't understand this cause the food is really good. Our waiter was not good. He was rude and not very attentive. Perhaps he was put off when we all ordered water from the start, but since we were his only table in the dining room you think we would have better service. We ordered the Southwestern Egg rolls to start -- as good as the Manassas location but they served it with plain gucamole rather than the avacado dip (in the Manassas location). The dip is far better. Two people got the soup and salad (big bowl of soup and plate of salad). The soup was excellent. Two got the teriyaki chicken -- very large portions and my husband brought some home. I got the mushroom cheeseburger and fries -- which were good but nothing special. Had to ask for refills of water and the waiter never checked on us after he brought the food. Remember to ask for rolls -- they are very good. Overall nice evening cause we were able to talk (two in the party are hard of hearing).

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kes1639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
450 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Good food, good beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A flight got canceled and we stayed overnight at the Comfort Suites in Chantilly. The desk manager recommended The Backyard Grill right around the corner. Good choice. We came in quite late and there were no indications of surprise or frustration about our ordering food. Our waitress, Wendy, was fun to talk to, quick and efficient. She did miss one request about not including cukes in the Backyard Steak Salad. They came anyway. Food was good, however, my Sirloin Tips in Oyster Sauce could have done with less salt. Perhaps they don't actually make their own oyster sauce and use a bottled version. They are always salty. Anyway, aside from that the meals were terrific. The manager is very nice and came to see how we were doing and stayed to talk for awhile. Great guy. I didn't mention the salt to him. Probably should have. Looked like the patrons in the bar section were really enjoying themselves and I could picture us going to this place a lot if we lived nearby.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocera Umbra, Italy
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The covered outside area is not appealing but the inside dining room to the left of the entrance is very comfortable.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Backyard tastes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Loved this place. Great beers on draft and amazing food. We were visiting from out of town and this place was recommended. We would return.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Geonu12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Late Wednesday night dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We did a local park/stay/fly. Needed dinner when we got into town and chose this place. Food was excellent. Atmosphere was like a happy hour sports bar type place. Thoroughly enjoyed our time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dbmathison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backyard Grill & Bar also viewed

Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 

Been to Backyard Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing