We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Backyard Grill & Bar

Backyard Grill & Bar
13999 Metrotech Dr., Chantilly, VA 20151
703-802-6400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 129 restaurants in Chantilly
Price range: $9 - $24
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Seafood, Steakhouse, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Woodstock, Vermont
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Good food, good beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A flight got canceled and we stayed overnight at the Comfort Suites in Chantilly. The desk manager recommended The Backyard Grill right around the corner. Good choice. We came in quite late and there were no indications of surprise or frustration about our ordering food. Our waitress, Wendy, was fun to talk to, quick and efficient. She did miss one request about not including cukes in the Backyard Steak Salad. They came anyway. Food was good, however, my Sirloin Tips in Oyster Sauce could have done with less salt. Perhaps they don't actually make their own oyster sauce and use a bottled version. They are always salty. Anyway, aside from that the meals were terrific. The manager is very nice and came to see how we were doing and stayed to talk for awhile. Great guy. I didn't mention the salt to him. Probably should have. Looked like the patrons in the bar section were really enjoying themselves and I could picture us going to this place a lot if we lived nearby.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

46% Recommend
    9
    19
    18
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nocera Umbra, Italy
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The covered outside area is not appealing but the inside dining room to the left of the entrance is very comfortable.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Backyard tastes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Loved this place. Great beers on draft and amazing food. We were visiting from out of town and this place was recommended. We would return.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Late Wednesday night dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We did a local park/stay/fly. Needed dinner when we got into town and chose this place. Food was excellent. Atmosphere was like a happy hour sports bar type place. Thoroughly enjoyed our time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, NC
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I was in Chantilly on business and Backyard Grill was across the street from my hotel. It was Monday night during football season and I was both hungry and thirsty. I didn't think I could go wrong at a sports bar ...and I didn't at Backyard.

The patio is amazing. It is huge and has two bars and a bunch of flat screens. I didn't experience the "stale beer" smell that one of the reviewers mentioned but, I can see how it is possible. The crowd was a mix of young professionals and football fans and everyone got along.

I sat at the bar. The bartender was excellent. She remembered my name and kept my beer glass full. The beer selection is mediocre. Sam Adams seasonal was about the best thing going.

I had the Backyard Burger. A burger topped with bacon, BBQ, mushrooms & provolone cheese Served on ciabatta bread. It was cooked medium rare and pretty tasty. It came with onion rings, which, if not home made, were excellent none the less.

I'll definitely come again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backyard Grill & Bar also viewed

Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 
Chantilly, Fairfax County

Been to Backyard Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backyard Grill & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.