We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great taco experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Picante: The Real Taco

Picante: The Real Taco
14511 Lee Jackson Memorial Hwy, Ste B, Chantilly, VA 20151-1511
703-222-2323
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Picante: The Real Taco is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 128 Restaurants in Chantilly
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Osage City, Kansas
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great taco experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We took a party of 10 and had a taco extravaganza! We order fish, beef, and two different types of pork. We had chips, dip, beans and rice. We were also served excellent margaritas. The staff was friendly and accommodating. It was a good experience .

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo M, Manager at Picante: The Real Taco, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the nice review! We are glad you enjoyed the tacos and margaritas, we hope you come back and try our house specialties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    15
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“cinco de mucho gusto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Wow what a way to celebrate cinco de mayo. Great time with local in house talent and family friends. It was a fiesta of song and music. The food was great and all of us sampled something different. The chicken and beef fajitas fresh and tasty, the pescado al mojo de ajo( fresh fish and garlic) ,camarones al mojode ajo( shrimp and garlic) both with choice of salad ,rice or soup, depending on which of thespecials you choose with sides were great. You can alsoorder spicy if you like. Great flan, coffee, and tres leches cake.
Always returning and trying something new. CeViche was another favorite as is anything on the menu. Especially the margaritas and the dance lessons by the tequila bar. Enjoy this relaxed always fresh mexican restaurant from the tyler texas style of cooking.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo M, Manager at Picante: The Real Taco, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding our 5 de mayo celebration!

We are glad you enjoyed your experience at Picante! We are always looking forward to seeing our customers again and give them only the best service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Solid pick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The food was tastey and there was a friendly bartender. The real rave is for the queso dip, which we were practically elbowing each other out of the way to dive into.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo M, Manager at Picante: The Real Taco, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the compliments on our chile con queso! We are happy to know that you enjoyed it and we'll be happy to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“me gusto mucho favorite shrimp and fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Started with the ceviche my new favorite fresh seafood combo appetizer. Then on to the two special for my guest and I. Pescado al mojo de ajo usually my guest only eats half and saves the other half for next day lunch at work. I on the other hand finish my camarones al mojo de ajo. The fish and shrimp platters are plentiful fresh and a great presentation with rice side sald or charros beans. Want to be romantic get the mother of all margiritas with two straws. This way your guest can't tell how much you really drank. Staff is great attentive and professional. Food fresh and tasty never disappointed. Try the desserts and coffee. Or just hang out at the tequilla bar and during the week they have salsa dance lessons. Enjoy this gem of a place it is the real picante.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo M, Manager at Picante: The Real Taco, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review! We are glad to know you got to try many of our house specialties, including the mother of all margaritas!

We hope to see you around here more often! Thank you for choosing and recommending Picante!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have been going here for years. The frajitas are fabulous as is everything we have had. The waitstaff are friendly and efficient. It is our favorite Mexican restaurant. We haven't found a better one yet.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo M, Manager at Picante: The Real Taco, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the review! We work everyday to offer only the best quality food & service to our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picante: The Real Taco also viewed

Chantilly, Fairfax County
 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 

Been to Picante: The Real Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Picante: The Real Taco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.