We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anitas Mexican Food

Anitas Mexican Food
13921 Lee Jackson Hwy., Chantilly, VA 20151
703-378-1717
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 133 Restaurants in Chantilly
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

slow service. food was marginal. Since my last visit, Anitas has dropped off.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    22
    11
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ok but not the great food I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by hotel staff as being "great authentic Mexican" but in reality the sign indicates New Mexican food.
We started out with the bean dip appetizer and ordered several dishes among us. The food was bland, and the signature margarita was mediocre at best. The service was adequate but not remarkable in any way.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What am I missing????”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I try to like this place; I really do. I've been in this location and others as well, usually at the insistence of someone else and I've never had anything that wasn't totally bland. It frustrates me because I know many people like this place but an enjoyable experience here has proved elusive. Service ranges from friendly to frostily dismissive.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldie, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A perfect hole in the wall New Mexico diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Its not glamorous, location isn’t great, and I get claustrophobic walking in the front door, but its been a legend for me for many years. Its about the 99 cent breakfast burrito ( now $1.29). I can’t tell you how many times I’ve gone and bought 20 or 30 for fellow co workers, family etc. now eating 2 is lots, 1 is fine.
Anita’s doesn’t pretend to be anything its not. It does a huge takeout business, so you’ll always see landscape trucks and construction vehicles outside. English is not a first language here either but the waitress’ are generally lovely and great English. Want a Corona and Huevos Rancheros? This is your place. Its reasonably family friendly. It can be a bit loud, but not hateful. Sit outside and watch the 6 lanes of traffic fly by on route 50. Food prices are decent and the food is good.
After you’re finished go next door to the variety store, Truly a gem stuck in time, You’ll know the minute you walk in and the ancient hardwood floor creaks under your foot. Start with a pickled

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good New Mexico Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Note: New Mexico food, not Mexican. I've frequented three or four of the Anita places in the area, most recently this one. Yes, it's a small, old building, but the outdoor area has been rebuilt and is now attractive. It's a nice place to have lunch.

If you like this type of Mexican food, Anita's is great. It's a well-run local family business. The food tends to run together on the plate, which is the style. If you like a little mom and pop place, and are in the area, it's recommended. If you want a better dining venue, there is a large, newer restaurant in Vienna. If you want real Mexican food in the area, try Picante a mile west on 50.

  • Visited October 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anitas Mexican Food also viewed

Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 

Been to Anitas Mexican Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anitas Mexican Food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.