We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willards BBQ Incorporated

Willards BBQ Incorporated
4300 Chantilly Shopping Center Dr, Chantilly, VA 20151-4012
703-488-9970
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 129 restaurants in Chantilly
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I think they could better with their Sides, but overall, the place is top notch. I prefer the Brisket over the pulled Pork, but the Pork is good - just a personal preference. The portions are very large.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    75
    50
    15
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
546 reviews 546 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
“Consistently good BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Here is one thing Willard's has over the other BBQ places around, consistency. The staff is not always friendly or inviting, in fact, they usually seem annoyed with you, but the food is always good. The sausage, the brisket, the chicken and burnt ends are always cooked well, moist and flavorful. The ribs are done to a nice temperature and have not been dry yet.

Another thing Willard's does well are the sides. The dirty rice, green beans, etc are all done well and there are some special sides which pop up occasionally. It used to be you could swap out the dry cornbread they give you for a small side, but now, depending on who is working the register, they will just not give you cornbread.

There are a lot of combinations you can choose from, including multiple meat platters, lots of different sides, and then throw in things like BBQ burritos, Brunswick Stew, there really is something for everyone.

The only two complaints I have are the unfriendly staff and the sweet tea. The tea is always a bit bitter, or oversteeped, or something. It's not a 5 star sweet tea, that's for sure. It's more like a 1 star sweet tea.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Blackeyed Corn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Black-eyed peas mixed with corn. One of my newest favorites. I do like the collard greens too. Can't go wrong with any of the meats at Willard's BBQ. Try the burnt ends if you like beef. They also have some specials usually. I like the Cuban sandwich. There is also another sandwich on the board which is not on their online menu, so I forget the name. It's like Jack's combo or something like that, with sausage and pulled pork. And plenty of sauces. I prefer the spicy ones.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Some of the best BBQ anywhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We've been going to Willards for some years, and the food is consistently very good. The ribs are always great, and we've recently tried the burnt ends, which are really something special. Cornbread is good but not outstanding. Sides are the same. The place doesn't have that many seats, but we've always found a table even at busy times. It's not cheap, but prices are not excesive either. Our biggest complaint is that Willards is quite a distance from our home, but we are happy enough when we can find an excuse to stop by. Why not five stars? It's hard to a BBQ place to get that fifth star.....

If you stop, take note of the photos on the wall. They offer a view of an America long gone but somehow still fascinating.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winkieunc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I liked the meal a lot. My dad did not like his as much. I had the BBQ, Ribs, dirty rice, and cornbread. The Mac N Cheese was the special that day and it was good. My dad did not like the coleslaw. he said the beans and potato salad were OK.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willards BBQ Incorporated also viewed

Chantilly, Fairfax County
 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 

Been to Willards BBQ Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willards BBQ Incorporated, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.