We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willards BBQ Incorporated

Willards BBQ Incorporated
4300 Chantilly Shopping Center Dr, Chantilly, VA 20151-4012
703-488-9970
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 134 Restaurants in Chantilly
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I think they could better with their Sides, but overall, the place is top notch. I prefer the Brisket over the pulled Pork, but the Pork is good - just a personal preference. The portions are very large.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
597 reviews
323 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Consistently good BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Here is one thing Willard's has over the other BBQ places around, consistency. The staff is not always friendly or inviting, in fact, they usually seem annoyed with you, but the food is always good. The sausage, the brisket, the chicken and burnt ends are always cooked well, moist and flavorful. The ribs are done to a nice temperature and have not been dry yet.

Another thing Willard's does well are the sides. The dirty rice, green beans, etc are all done well and there are some special sides which pop up occasionally. It used to be you could swap out the dry cornbread they give you for a small side, but now, depending on who is working the register, they will just not give you cornbread.

There are a lot of combinations you can choose from, including multiple meat platters, lots of different sides, and then throw in things like BBQ burritos, Brunswick Stew, there really is something for everyone.

The only two complaints I have are the unfriendly staff and the sweet tea. The tea is always a bit bitter, or oversteeped, or something. It's not a 5 star sweet tea, that's for sure. It's more like a 1 star sweet tea.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GoodFood88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Blackeyed Corn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Black-eyed peas mixed with corn. One of my newest favorites. I do like the collard greens too. Can't go wrong with any of the meats at Willard's BBQ. Try the burnt ends if you like beef. They also have some specials usually. I like the Cuban sandwich. There is also another sandwich on the board which is not on their online menu, so I forget the name. It's like Jack's combo or something like that, with sausage and pulled pork. And plenty of sauces. I prefer the spicy ones.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank COBrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
528 reviews
359 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Some of the best BBQ anywhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We've been going to Willards for some years, and the food is consistently very good. The ribs are always great, and we've recently tried the burnt ends, which are really something special. Cornbread is good but not outstanding. Sides are the same. The place doesn't have that many seats, but we've always found a table even at busy times. It's not cheap, but prices are not excesive either. Our biggest complaint is that Willards is quite a distance from our home, but we are happy enough when we can find an excuse to stop by. Why not five stars? It's hard to a BBQ place to get that fifth star.....

If you stop, take note of the photos on the wall. They offer a view of an America long gone but somehow still fascinating.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jxx9595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winkieunc
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I liked the meal a lot. My dad did not like his as much. I had the BBQ, Ribs, dirty rice, and cornbread. The Mac N Cheese was the special that day and it was good. My dad did not like the coleslaw. he said the beans and potato salad were OK.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank winkieunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willards BBQ Incorporated also viewed

Chantilly, Fairfax County
 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 

Been to Willards BBQ Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing