We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Willards BBQ Incorporated

Willards BBQ Incorporated
4300 Chantilly Shopping Center Dr, Chantilly, VA 20151-4012
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 134 Restaurants in Chantilly
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
595 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Consistently good BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Here is one thing Willard's has over the other BBQ places around, consistency. The staff is not always friendly or inviting, in fact, they usually seem annoyed with you, but the food is always good. The sausage, the brisket, the chicken and burnt ends are always cooked well, moist and flavorful. The ribs are done to a nice temperature and have not been dry yet.

Another thing Willard's does well are the sides. The dirty rice, green beans, etc are all done well and there are some special sides which pop up occasionally. It used to be you could swap out the dry cornbread they give you for a small side, but now, depending on who is working the register, they will just not give you cornbread.

There are a lot of combinations you can choose from, including multiple meat platters, lots of different sides, and then throw in things like BBQ burritos, Brunswick Stew, there really is something for everyone.

The only two complaints I have are the unfriendly staff and the sweet tea. The tea is always a bit bitter, or oversteeped, or something. It's not a 5 star sweet tea, that's for sure. It's more like a 1 star sweet tea.

Visited October 2012
Thank GoodFood88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Blackeyed Corn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Black-eyed peas mixed with corn. One of my newest favorites. I do like the collard greens too. Can't go wrong with any of the meats at Willard's BBQ. Try the burnt ends if you like beef. They also have some specials usually. I like the Cuban sandwich. There is also another sandwich on the board which is not on their online menu, so I forget the name. It's like Jack's combo or something like that, with sausage and pulled pork. And plenty of sauces. I prefer the spicy ones.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Thank COBrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
507 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Some of the best BBQ anywhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We've been going to Willards for some years, and the food is consistently very good. The ribs are always great, and we've recently tried the burnt ends, which are really something special. Cornbread is good but not outstanding. Sides are the same. The place doesn't have that many seats, but we've always found a table even at busy times. It's not cheap, but prices are not excesive either. Our biggest complaint is that Willards is quite a distance from our home, but we are happy enough when we can find an excuse to stop by. Why not five stars? It's hard to a BBQ place to get that fifth star.....

If you stop, take note of the photos on the wall. They offer a view of an America long gone but somehow still fascinating.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Thank jxx9595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I liked the meal a lot. My dad did not like his as much. I had the BBQ, Ribs, dirty rice, and cornbread. The Mac N Cheese was the special that day and it was good. My dad did not like the coleslaw. he said the beans and potato salad were OK.

Visited November 2012
Thank winkieunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Va.
Level Contributor
172 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“To de for BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ok, I would never go to this place with my Cardiologist nor with my personal trainer unless I just finished a marathon. But, a guy's gotta have some fun. Willard's is sooooo good. Not a lot of atmosphere, just great food served quickly. The line was almost out the door at 11:45 last Friday morning but my wait for take-out was perhaps 10 minutes. I had what they call soup but I call it "stoop."
It was a fabulous gumbo full of a variety of BBQ'ed meats with great BBQ flavor, beans and rich. My spoon stood upright in it. A pint, the usual serving, is a full meal plus there was a chunk of cornbread with it. On subsequence days, I has two different chili's which were also thick, tasty and amongst he best I've ever had. And all for less than $5.00!!!!!!!!
I've eaten there or had take-out 5 o 6 times and Willard's never disappoints.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Thank Bermudaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willards BBQ Incorporated also viewed

Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County

Been to Willards BBQ Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing