We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow--I just don't get it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Basil Restaurant

Thai Basil Restaurant
14511 Lee Jackson Memorial Hwy, Ste P, Chantilly, VA 20151
703-631-8277
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 129 Restaurants in Chantilly
Price range: $20 - $35
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Northern VA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Wow--I just don't get it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My second trip here for lunch as I wasn't overly thrilled with my first visit. I adore Pad Thai and try it as often as I can at various NoVA restaurants. Perhaps because they are planning for a large lunch crowd this dish suffers. I found it very dry (both times) and very bland. I feel they have cooked this earlier as they plan for the lunch crowd.

Sorry but I'm not going to give 'em a third try. FWIW--best Pad Thai I've found is a tiny place in Vienna--around the corner from Jammin' Java. No comparison if you try both!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    26
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Laid back, quick, and good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

On a major road outside, DC, pleasant people and quick service, next to a thai grocery store, proud of a Bobby Flay Throw Down, Pad Thai is their speciality but large menu, varied customers, local Thais and others like us

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Pad Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Tucked away and not visible from the road the restaurant is hard to find but well worth it. The restaurant had Pad Thai Throwdown with Bobby Flay and won. Can tell you the food was delicious. Pad Thai was amazing.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The Sashimi was good, but not as fresh as I could have hoped for. The chicken rice was not that great and they gave me too much rice and 1 pack of soy sauce. The spicy tuna was runied by the crunchy flakes they put on top.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My One & Only Thai Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

After sampling various Thai restaurants in the Chantilly area, I quickly zeroed in on Thai Basil. Even during the lunch rush, the service is fast, the wait staff is friendly, and the owner--Nongkran Daks--regularly visits each table. I usually get the Khanom Jeeb (steamed dumplings filled with lean ground chicken, shrimp and water chestnuts. served with soy-ginger dip) as an appetizer and Pad Wun Sen (cellophane noodles stir-fried with egg and mixed vegetables) with shrimp as the main course. I even took the cooking class so I could make my own steamed dumplings!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Basil Restaurant also viewed

 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 

Been to Thai Basil Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Basil Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.