We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homemade Pupusas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cerrito's Pupuseria

Cerrito's Pupuseria
43137 John Mosby Highway, Chantilly, VA
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 127 Restaurants in Chantilly
Cuisines: Salvadoran
Restaurant details
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Homemade Pupusas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

If you aren't wearing work boots, paint-splattered or grass stained clothes, you are overdressed for this establishment, but be prepared to enjoy some delicious pupusas, tender chicken and appetizing soup. If the atmosphere isn't in your comfort zone, the waitresses speak English and will prepare anything to go for you. The pupusas and tart slaw are really good and I once ordered enough to feed a moving van crew on a hot day and they loved it. And it was a real bargain. The restaurant is virtually on route 50, so pull in carefully as the parking lot is mostly dusty gravel with potholes, but this place is worth it for the food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Unbelievably authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

O M G.


My family was starving, looking for a reasonable place to eat in the Dulles Airport area and I came across this place while filling up gas nearby. Let's just say that my mom is still talking about the restaurant to this day.

It is a dive, it is located off the highway, and the parking lot becomes a mud pit if it rains heavily. The customers are 95% Hispanic (like me!) and look like they just stepped off the back of a work truck. There isn't any pretense. You go there because you're hungry, and want good food for a cheap price.

Stop reading this review (and other ones). Just go, and come back and thank me later.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tacos, Soup, never-mind the plastic tablecloth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The food here is absolutely amazing. The tacos are brimming with well seasoned meat (I get steak, and they're fantastic!), and served with the freshest crema and flavorful salsa. Their beef soup is the best in the area, and while pupusas aren't my thing, I have friends who say they are authentic, and delicious.

My co-workers and I visit probably once a week, and I've taken family members here and recommended it highly to friends, although I usually warn them of the following:

As the prior reviewer stated, this restaurant is absolutely packed with day-laborers between about 11:30 and 1:30, and only seats about 25. The outside gravel parking lot has potholes, the exterior (and interior) look a little run-down, and maybe a tiny bit seedy. None of that changes the amazing, quick, flavorful food. Yes, it helps to speak Spanish, but you don't have to (I don't).

Tacos will run you $2 ea, and are large. The Soup runs about $10 per bowl, but a bowl will have generous helpings of meat and will leave you quite full. They will split bowls if you ask.

Again, for someone willing to go a tiny bit out of their comfort zone in Northern Virginia-- this food is flavorful, inexpensive, and filling.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Comfort Food for Latinos”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Heard good things about this little place, but it's not my kind of food. It caters mostly to day laborers, at least during lunch, and they are a friendly bunch - but the place gets packed. Little English spoken, but we managed to get good service. Big portions, wide variety - everything was quite good, but too much corn for me (I prefer flour burritos.)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cerrito's Pupuseria also viewed

Chantilly, Fairfax County
 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 

Been to Cerrito's Pupuseria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cerrito's Pupuseria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.