We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Delicious seafood in busy restaurant"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ford's Fish Shack South Riding

Ford's Fish Shack South Riding
25031 Riding Plaza #150, Chantilly, VA 20152
+(1)703-542-7520
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 128 Restaurants in Chantilly
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Fish & Chips, Seafood, Family Fare, Oyster Bar
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Redwood City, California
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“"Delicious seafood in busy restaurant"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Visiting friends in the area and they recommended Ford's Fish Shack for good seafood. Our group of 7 arrived here on a Sunday evening without a reservation. The restaurant was very full, quite busy! We were seated within about 10 minutes. We didn't mind sitting outdoors as their was a slight breeze and the temperature was not as hot. Our server had warned us that a very large party was arriving so we got our order in quickly. Part of our group shared some mussels and oysters. Really delightful. I chose the special, a swordfish. Oh so fresh and delicious. Really enjoyed this meal. Also tasted my daughter's pecan crusted trout. Also fabulous. The chorizo Mac and cheese was very tasty as well. Server was efficient despite how busy they obviously were. Were had a wonderful meal and out in plenty of time to catch our flight leaving out of Dulles. I would definitely recommend Ford's for some really good seafood.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    32
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukie, OR
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great service, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Found this on Trip Advisor and am a fan of fish, so ate there the first night I was in Chantilly for business. Liked it so well I came back every night for three nights. The potato crusted halibut is fabulous. Halibut is on sautéed spinach and wrapped in very thin potato slices, baked and then served in a tarragon butter sauce along with a couple of spears of asparagus. Ate that two of the three nights I was there. Fish tacos also very good. Servers are friendly, engaging and knowledgeable. Will definitely return if I am in the area again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lobster Cobb Salad - Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Great late lunch after a great visit to the Air and Space Museum at Dulles with 3 friends. Service was fast and friendly. We shared the large Maine Chips - lobster, guacamole, tomatoes, and onions on potato chips - interesting and delicious. Two of us had the Lobster Cobb salad, one had the soft shell crab sandwich (it was the special) and one had the fish and chips. Portions were big and the food was fresh. We would definitely return!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best seafood off the coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Its hard to get seafood right when your not on the coast. This place is worth every single penny. Best lobster rolls outside of new england, hands down.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“3rd try & still good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Sunday brunch was immensely enjoyed by 4 having 3 crab benediction & 1 steak/lobster omelet. Impeccable! The potatoes were great as well. Looks like trip 4 coming up!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ford's Fish Shack South Riding also viewed

Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 

Been to Ford's Fish Shack South Riding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ford's Fish Shack South Riding, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.