We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Chantilly - Dulles Expo

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Chantilly - Dulles Expo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chantilly - Dulles Expo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4335 Chantilly Shopping Center, Chantilly, VA 20151   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 14 hotels in Chantilly
Whitby, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A good place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is a typical Holiday Inn; clean rooms, great fixtures, comfortable rooms.

Redwan checked me in; he messed up by not giving me breakfast vouchers. The next morning I went to the desk and Redwan was chatting with what must have been a regular customer. They spoke of family and hardships. The guest left saying that he'd see Redwan next month.

When Redwan checked my reservation he said..."This was my fault"...wow, so refreshing to see folks take ownership...a minute later I was of with my voucher.

If Redwan is the typical employee, small wonder that they get repeat business. For a large hotel, it is still a family shop. It is a place that cares.

This hotel is just a few minutes from the Udvary-Hazy Museum..easy to get to on major roads. I came up from Manassas and again it is easy to get to from the south.

The breakfast included was good...a fresh omelet both days for me, with trimmings, but you could have a buffet.

The rooms were very clean and roomy; the TV functional etc.

The Hotel sits on a plaza; in spite of some other reviews, my room was quiet, overlooking the pool area (great place in the summer). The surrounding stores only include a Walmart Superstore and some side stores ( not a full mall) but the plaza has a McDonald's, Wendy's, Taco Bell and...a Hooters.... and a gas station

Room Tip: Based on other reviews away from the hotel's fans on the north side; Walmart side is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    30
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
17
8
18
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and couldn't really fault it.

Shuttle is complimentary and runs very frequently.

I liked the restaurant quite a lot.

If you wish to kill some time, go to the Aerospace museum. To do this you could ask for the hotel shuttle to take you there and collect you from there. All complimentary.

Walmart is opposite this hotel which is only 3 minutes walk away

To get into Central Washington - take airport shuttle and go to the airport. From there take a bus to Washington. I do not remember the timetable but you could ask Hotel shuttle driver whom will surely help.

I will highly recommend is hotel for 1-5 nights stay if you happen to be in or around Dulles airport area.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Let me preface this review by stating that I am an IHG Platinum member and I stay at a lot of different IHG branded properties over the course of the year. With that being said, this was one of the nicest Holiday Inn properties that I have stayed at this year both from a friendliness, functionality, and features standpoinnt.
The property is basicallly located behind Dulles airport and is the centerpiece of a largish commercial area that includes many dining and shopping options as well as the Dulles Expo Hall.
You can easily walk to multiplle dining options as well as to a Wal Mart which is right across the parking lot..
The rooms looked to be recently upgraded and were on par with any 4 star property that you would compare them with.
They also have a complimentary shuttle that runs 24 hours to get you back and forth from Dulles.
I look forward to my next stay here and would not hesitate to recommend this property if you are in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This was my second time staying at this Holiday Inn location and they work hard at treating their guest well. I requested the same room as my previous visit 15 months earlier and the staff had it waiting for me. I am a civilian working for the Military and attend training in that area on occasion. The staff are always nice and welcoming, the rooms are great and the staff at the attached "Bob O's" restaurant makes you feel welcome and like you are family. The attached Bob O's is one of your best features. Thank you for a great stay, I will be returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westborough, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Cold room, nobody on staff speaks understandable english, never again for me. Room is way overpriced, though location is good. For what you paid for this room, at least breakfast should have neen included. Could not wait to check out. Room did not even have a tub to soak, along with not having a hot tub.

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chantilly - Dulles Expo, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on our hotel, and I am sorry that you were not satisfied. Without your reservation information, I do not know what you paid for your room. Our rates are typically lower than other full service hotels in the area, and we do have rates available that include breakfast. I don’t know if you mentioned the temperature in the room to our staff, but our maintenance people can usually make a quick adjustment to the thermostat, if there is a problem. If your room did not have a tub in your room, that would indicate that you stayed in a room with a King bed. We do have rooms with two Double Beds that have tubs, and our staff will gladly move a guest to these rooms if a tub is important to their stay.

We are very proud of our award winning, diverse staff. The comment about communication issues is not one that we hear often, and I’m sorry that you feel you were affected in that way.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Bob Janis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

It's not a 5-Star Hotel but tries to be like one! The desk staff is friendly and efficient. The free hotel shuttle to the Udvar-Hazy museum and local area was a huge plus. Room was very clean, bathroom area was also clean but was oddly-designed. Free hot coffee in the morning, but tea drinkers are left with a half-empty caraffe of luke-warm water. Pool area looked great although closed for the winter. Good IHG member reognition with bottled waters and free drink at the restaurant, Bob-O's, which was just OK, but better than the fast-food alternatives nearby. Would definitely recommend and/or stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chantilly - Dulles Expo, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you very much for your very nice review of our hotel, and for your positive recommendation. We are very proud of our staff, and I’m glad that’s the first thing you mentioned about your experience. I do hope you will return in the summer, so you can enjoy the pool!
Again, thank you for taking the time to recommend us, we appreciate it very much. I hope you will let me know the next time you stay so that I can say hello personally.

Bob Janis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Junction, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife & I checked in on the 26th of November and stayed for four(4)nights. We had previously stay at this hotel back in May of this year. We requested and received the same room as what we had in May. It was quite spacious, roomy and extremely comfortable. It was actually two(2)rooms. The first room had a TV, couch, table, sink, microwave. It also had a balcony that faced the pool
The 2nd room had a very large king size bed, TV ,tables and tons of leg room as well as a very attractive bathroom. In my 15 years with IHG Rewards Club we have stayed in many different types of properties and this property, by far, is the best. We were warmly greeted at check-in and our reservations were waiting for us. The restaurant was excellent with friendly and quick service.
Mr. Bob Janis and his staff were outstanding and will always recommend this hotel to my family, my friends and my fellow veterans

Room Tip: Try to get the "44"line of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chantilly - Dulles Expo, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear bnshirt;

Thanks so much for the outstanding review of our hotel! We appreciate the recognition of our staff in the hotel and the restaurant.

We're glad you enjoy our "44" series suite--an upgrade that is a benefit of your being an IHG Rewards member.

We look forward to your return to Chantilly. Thanks again for your review and for recommending the Holiday Inn Chantilly to your family, friends, and fellow veterans.

Bob Janis
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Chantilly - Dulles Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chantilly - Dulles Expo

Address: 4335 Chantilly Shopping Center, Chantilly, VA 20151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Chantilly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chantilly
#4 Business Hotel in Chantilly
#4 Family Hotel in Chantilly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chantilly - Dulles Expo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning full service hotel in the Dulles Airport corridor, the Holiday Inn Chantilly Dulles-Expo (Arpt), is located on site of the Dulles Expo Center complex and near the Udvar-Hazy Center. At our Chantilly hotel, convenience is key. We are located minutes from Dulles International Airport, in the heart of Northern Virginia s growing technological community. The historical sites and attractions of Northern Virginia and Washington DC are a short drive. This Dulles Airport hotel features beautifully appointed guest rooms, with free local telephone calls, free wireless high speed Internet, free airport shuttle 24/7,and all the amenities a guest could want. Bob O s Restaurant offers a daily continental breakfast buffet; a full a la carte breakfast, lunch, and dinner menu; and Kids Eat Free! The lounge offers daily beverage specials and multiple TVs for viewing your favorite sporting events. For added relaxation, this pet friendly hotel features a seasonal swimming pool and a spacious, well-equipped fitness center. There is also a 24-hour business center, convenience store and guest laundry in the hotel. Whether traveling on business or for pleasure, let the Holiday Inn Chantilly Dulles-Expo (Arpt) be your host. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Chantilly - Dulles Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chantilly - Dulles Expo Hotel Chantilly
Chantilly Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Chantilly - Dulles Expo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.