We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ghengis Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ghengis Grill
14412 Chantilly Crossing Ln, Chantilly, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 127 Restaurants in Chantilly
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This restaurant is a franchise eastablishment specializing in "Mongolian BBQ". I first had "Mongolian" on Guam in 1971 and found it a feature at most military clubs. It is usually quick, tasty and fun.
Ghengis Grill serves a product that is all of these. The selection of ingredients is varied, as are the spices and sauces. The facility is clean-ish...some serving bowls might be cleaner than they looked.
But all said, the final product is just OK. Maybe my selection of ingredients and spices were the best blend. Maybe the spices were old and past their flavor prime. But the bowl i received wasn't nearly as flavorful as i expected. The meal was OK but only OK.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Make your own bowl”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

love that I can make my own bowl and there's such a variety to choose from! I only wish, that after coming here and asking for a year now, there would be more gluten-free options in the sauces...gluten-free soy sauce is SO easy to have!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great, but just not 5 stars.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

The premise and facility is great. It's something different to change up dinner time. The cons are, in my perspective, as follows:

-they cook orders on one open slab, separating them by what look like wooden kebab like instruments. Sometimes stray pieces of someone else's bowl contents end up in yours. No big deal, unless you detest something and find a bite of it. Good news is that they personalize to cater to allergies etc. so it's a minor nuance

A personal gripe...I am literally sitting in the restaurant now waiting for my order. My waitress is nice, but is also a larger girl (absolutely don't mean anything negative by this) so therefore the running/bussing seems to be wearing her out. She is sweating profusely, and it is all but dripping off her face. Not appetizing to consider she has been handling my food and drinks. I've seen her use the back of her hand to wipe it, which made me feel a little gross. She should know that a hanky or quick blot break is more appropriate than being a melting snow cone in the serving business.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Top Contributor
393 reviews 393 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Kids Like It”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

This is a chain that serves Mongolian BBQ. Here is the drill --- they give you a bowl and then you make your dinner. You choose from several types of protein (chicken, beef, seafood, tofu) and from numerous vegetables. You add the seasoning and choose the sauce. You then take it to the grill and they cook it for you. You also get to decide if you want rice (white, brown or fried) or noodles.the kids love to make their own dinner and decide what veggies they are going to have. They then bring your meal to your seat. Great if you are watching what you eat cause you choose the ingredients. There are also a few items on the menu that you can order if you aren't into making a "bowl". It is not cheap -- still $10 a person per bowl and drinks are $2.50 each (lots of specialty teas and lemonades) but they do have free refrills. The restaurant has a warehouse open ceiling and a concrete floor so it gets very noisy. They do give a free dessert if your child is celebrating a birthday.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Do it yourself, if you're a chef”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Fantastic assortment of meats, veggies, sauces, starches and other ingredients queued up on a Mongolian BBQ! What could go wrong? Me, that's what. I consistently choose things that don't go together well, being seduced by the a la carte self-serve buffet. Or they should go together well, but when they are lumped in a single bowl, then dumped onto the grill, the different ingredients are cooked together, which can ruin some of them. Different items need different attention on the grill, which doesn't seem to happen. I've tried this place 3 or 4 times now, and have never been really satisfied. Might try again, and stick with one of the prescribed "recipes".

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghengis Grill also viewed

Chantilly, Fairfax County
 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 

Been to Ghengis Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ghengis Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.