We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but just not 5 stars.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ghengis Grill

Ghengis Grill
14412 Chantilly Crossing Ln, Chantilly, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 133 Restaurants in Chantilly
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great, but just not 5 stars.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

The premise and facility is great. It's something different to change up dinner time. The cons are, in my perspective, as follows:

-they cook orders on one open slab, separating them by what look like wooden kebab like instruments. Sometimes stray pieces of someone else's bowl contents end up in yours. No big deal, unless you detest something and find a bite of it. Good news is that they personalize to cater to allergies etc. so it's a minor nuance

A personal gripe...I am literally sitting in the restaurant now waiting for my order. My waitress is nice, but is also a larger girl (absolutely don't mean anything negative by this) so therefore the running/bussing seems to be wearing her out. She is sweating profusely, and it is all but dripping off her face. Not appetizing to consider she has been handling my food and drinks. I've seen her use the back of her hand to wipe it, which made me feel a little gross. She should know that a hanky or quick blot break is more appropriate than being a melting snow cone in the serving business.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristow, Virginia
Level Contributor
493 reviews
355 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Kids Like It”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

This is a chain that serves Mongolian BBQ. Here is the drill --- they give you a bowl and then you make your dinner. You choose from several types of protein (chicken, beef, seafood, tofu) and from numerous vegetables. You add the seasoning and choose the sauce. You then take it to the grill and they cook it for you. You also get to decide if you want rice (white, brown or fried) or noodles.the kids love to make their own dinner and decide what veggies they are going to have. They then bring your meal to your seat. Great if you are watching what you eat cause you choose the ingredients. There are also a few items on the menu that you can order if you aren't into making a "bowl". It is not cheap -- still $10 a person per bowl and drinks are $2.50 each (lots of specialty teas and lemonades) but they do have free refrills. The restaurant has a warehouse open ceiling and a concrete floor so it gets very noisy. They do give a free dessert if your child is celebrating a birthday.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Do it yourself, if you're a chef”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Fantastic assortment of meats, veggies, sauces, starches and other ingredients queued up on a Mongolian BBQ! What could go wrong? Me, that's what. I consistently choose things that don't go together well, being seduced by the a la carte self-serve buffet. Or they should go together well, but when they are lumped in a single bowl, then dumped onto the grill, the different ingredients are cooked together, which can ruin some of them. Different items need different attention on the grill, which doesn't seem to happen. I've tried this place 3 or 4 times now, and have never been really satisfied. Might try again, and stick with one of the prescribed "recipes".

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good place for an office lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

This is a good place for an office lunch because each person gets to pick out exactly what to have and it's possible to get in and out within an average office lunch hour. It's a very fun place, but the food is simply average.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Go once if you are feeling intrepid but I'm sure you will not go back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

A great concept and I've been to these types of restaurants in the past that have done it right. Here it's about the details that give or take away. When you first walk in it seems ok, energy, decor,etc but look more closely and things turn bad quick.
First it's not clean. A place like this can get messy very quickly if you don't stay on top of it, and they don't. There is a salad bar type setup where you fill a provided bowl with meat and veggies then take to the grill so they can cook it for you. Inevitably there are some spills and messes as people serve themselves. They were not cleaned up, also in some place there was so much food dropped into other bins that I didn't know what was actually supposed to be in there, lettuce? Spinach? Mixed veggies? Got me wondering about the meat.... Lots of food on the floor too. One thing that I didn't get was it looked like there were two sides to the food bar but tonight they were only using one so the line was long to get through. Maybe they were short staffed (Saturday night?) but it did remind me of those open bar parties where they make you wait a long time for a watered down drink to stretch the budget.
A side note on the bowls and utensils - they were I guess washed since they were wet still and never really dried off before being put back out. Think of a salad bar where you grab a plate from the stack and it's still wet from the dishwasher. My bowl was not only wet but there were specks of food as well-gross.
The grilling process was thorough though, I've seen other people say their food was overdone but in this case I was thankful to minimize any problems with the meat. You pick your type of rice or noodles to accompany your food. Walking back to your table is a challenge since the tables are very close together and in a self serve place like this it makes no sense.
It seems like everywhere you turn they are trying to squeeze a buck. The tables are cheap as well as the chairs. There are more pages on the menu dedicated to fancy drinks than food. But its most evident in the food prices. When you get your bowl back from the grill look at it at decide if it was worth $10.99, for me it it really missed the mark. A pleasant surprise was when I unwrapped the napkin and found a metal fork instead of a plastic one.
The wait staff seemed half engaged. They were more interested in socializing with each other and their school buddies who came in that night. Brings me to my final point that this place is more for the staff and their friends to hang out than a decent place for a meal. The only other people I saw were ones working the system where they would pile high their bowls of meat with a leaf of lettuce on top.
So if you are a high school kid with a friend that works here I'm sure you will love it, otherwise you will probably be happier going to chipotle next door where it's clean, food is fresher, staff attentive and the value much better!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghengis Grill also viewed

Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 

Been to Ghengis Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ghengis Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.