We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for an office lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ghengis Grill

Ghengis Grill
14412 Chantilly Crossing Ln, Chantilly, VA
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 134 Restaurants in Chantilly
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Reston, VA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good place for an office lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

This is a good place for an office lunch because each person gets to pick out exactly what to have and it's possible to get in and out within an average office lunch hour. It's a very fun place, but the food is simply average.

Visited April 2012
Thank RamblerReston_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Go once if you are feeling intrepid but I'm sure you will not go back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

A great concept and I've been to these types of restaurants in the past that have done it right. Here it's about the details that give or take away. When you first walk in it seems ok, energy, decor,etc but look more closely and things turn bad quick.
First it's not clean. A place like this can get messy very quickly if you don't stay on top of it, and they don't. There is a salad bar type setup where you fill a provided bowl with meat and veggies then take to the grill so they can cook it for you. Inevitably there are some spills and messes as people serve themselves. They were not cleaned up, also in some place there was so much food dropped into other bins that I didn't know what was actually supposed to be in there, lettuce? Spinach? Mixed veggies? Got me wondering about the meat.... Lots of food on the floor too. One thing that I didn't get was it looked like there were two sides to the food bar but tonight they were only using one so the line was long to get through. Maybe they were short staffed (Saturday night?) but it did remind me of those open bar parties where they make you wait a long time for a watered down drink to stretch the budget.
A side note on the bowls and utensils - they were I guess washed since they were wet still and never really dried off before being put back out. Think of a salad bar where you grab a plate from the stack and it's still wet from the dishwasher. My bowl was not only wet but there were specks of food as well-gross.
The grilling process was thorough though, I've seen other people say their food was overdone but in this case I was thankful to minimize any problems with the meat. You pick your type of rice or noodles to accompany your food. Walking back to your table is a challenge since the tables are very close together and in a self serve place like this it makes no sense.
It seems like everywhere you turn they are trying to squeeze a buck. The tables are cheap as well as the chairs. There are more pages on the menu dedicated to fancy drinks than food. But its most evident in the food prices. When you get your bowl back from the grill look at it at decide if it was worth $10.99, for me it it really missed the mark. A pleasant surprise was when I unwrapped the napkin and found a metal fork instead of a plastic one.
The wait staff seemed half engaged. They were more interested in socializing with each other and their school buddies who came in that night. Brings me to my final point that this place is more for the staff and their friends to hang out than a decent place for a meal. The only other people I saw were ones working the system where they would pile high their bowls of meat with a leaf of lettuce on top.
So if you are a high school kid with a friend that works here I'm sure you will love it, otherwise you will probably be happier going to chipotle next door where it's clean, food is fresher, staff attentive and the value much better!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
2 Thank 5torm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Mongolian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Okay, so if you know about Mongolian, you know that it is you that is mostly responsible for whether the it turns out good or not. They have a large enough selection of meats and veggies, so you can get a great variety of flavors. It is a bit different than other places I have been for a couple of reasons. First, there is a spice rack that you put right on your meat. A good variety of spices that really works for Mongolian. Second, most of the sauces are premade mixtures of basic sauces. I would prefer just the basics and making my own mixture, but in general this still works. You can only put your sauces in a seperate bowl from the meat and veggies and it is then mixed on the grill. A little odd, but the flavor mixes in well later. A couple of tips: you can ask for the rice to be "mixed in" with the meat and veggies to spread the flavor better. You can also ask for soy sauce to be added at the grill or they will bring soy sauce to the table if that is how you like it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Thank VANoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, VA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Best Mongolian BBQ I've had”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I’ve been to many Mongolian BBQ restaurants and most every one has the same process: Grab a bowl, line up to add meats and vegetables, spoon in your sauce from a variety of components (e.g., soy sauce, oil, lemon juice, ginger juice, hot pepper paste, etc.), and then wait by the grill while your food is cooked. The process at Ghengis Grill is similar but there are many things that set this restaurant apart.

1) Fresh vs. frozen meats and seafood to choose from, and many more options for the meat selections. You can even prepare a southwest style bowl with the available ingredients.

2) The steak is very good and is provided in large chunks rather than the typical slivers of beef. I thought the meat and seafood quality was definitely the best I’ve had in this type of restaurant.

3) A huge variety of spices and sauces to choose from, most of which you definitely wouldn’t find at other Mongolian BBQ restaurants.

4) You have many choices for your starch including white, brown and fried rice, noodles, and even pasta or tortillas.

5) Two separate lines of ingredients and sauces for preparing your bowls. This makes a huge difference during the lunch rush.

6) One of the best changes this restaurant has made is that you don’t have to stand and wait for your food to be cooked. They give you a number for your table and it is delivered.

7) Ghengis Grill also has a pretty decent bar and some good looking cocktails on the menu.

Overall I was very impressed with the food and service, and will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Thank FudRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ridge, Virginia, America
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“clean, upbeat, interesting dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Ghengis Grill is the the typical Mongolian style; namely, you choose your meats and veggies, put on your sauces and spices, and hand it to the cooks to grill. It's a little strange at peak hours, seeing your bowl in a line with dozens of others, waiting for their turn at the grill, but the result is surprisingly good (if you pick the right sauces, and there are plenty to choose from. If it's your first time, they'll help you figure out which to use. It was pretty crowded the two times we were there, but I suppose that's to be expected at a good restaurant. My only "complaint" is that the bowl is too small. Otherwise, it's great!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghengis Grill also viewed

Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County

Been to Ghengis Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing