We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A complete Nightmare” 1 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South

Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14036 Thunderbolt Place, Chantilly, VA 20151   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #12 of 14 hotels in Chantilly
Herndon, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A complete Nightmare”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

The surly housekeeping crew run this hotel. They complain about cleaning and generally refuse to do it. If you try to address the issue with management, they defend their housekeeping crew. From the dingy lobby, to the nasty breakfast, to the lumpy mattress, to the lazy housekeeping crew and obnoxious management, I can't imagine a worse or less professional hotel. warn all your friends and family to avoid this hotel. I've always considered Marriott's to be a safe bet, but not after this horrible experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
6
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, VA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

A very solid choice, but nothing special. The hotel is clean and well-kept...however starting to show its age a bit. A little renovation with newer appliances/TVs would go a long way. I would stay here again, but there are some newer Marriott properties in area that might offer a better value.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

If you are looking for an extended stay, I would choose a different hotel. The quality of customer service is very poor. Housekeeping is terrible. They only "clean" once a week. They "refresh" daily, if you call refreshing coming in and changing out towels and wash clothes. We took the sheets/pillow cases off our bed and expected to at least have a set of sheets left. What we got was a bed made up, when my husband pulled back the comforter there were no sheets on the bed. It was around 11pm so we had to wait until housekeeping came the next day to get sheets, as the front desk had informed us earlier in our stay they could not give guests any linens after 5pm. There have been other incidents. This is just an example of what they offer as "customer service". My husband does alot of traveling with his job. We stay at alot of different hotel/motels and we usually don't have many,if any, complaints about service where we stay. This is the first time we have experienced service so bad, I'm writing a bad review. Also, if you do not want to smell pet odors, do not stay!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

I had just sold my house and was preparing for my retirement move to Thailand and needed a place to stay for about a week until leaving for overseas. Perfect location for me, and very near Dulles Airport, although the property does not have shuttle service to the airport (it's a $20-$25 taxi ride).

The place was pleasant with very helpful staff in the office, a bland but acceptable exterior, and rooms that were relatively pleasant with thermostats in both the living rooms and bedrooms. The kitchen was small but did the job. Living room furniture comfortable, although the televisions were quite small. The desk in the room was large and well designed for computer use. The bedroom was small, but I loved the very firm mattress. Hated the pillows.

The area is rich with restaurants within a short distance, as well as down-scale shopping, although one of the region's best malls is within a 15 minute drive.

I found the rooms relatively quiet, although the hotel is directly under the landing path for Dulles Airport. It didn't bother me at all, although it might some people.

All in all a very good stay and I recommend. Prices apparently drop the more consecutive nights you stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for one night in August, 2008 while driving from Orlando to Buffalo. We were looking for a room to sleep all five of us comfortably, and we got that and more.

We chose this hotel based on several factors: Marriott offered me a substantial discount as a card holder, the location was about right, the room size was perfect, and the reviews here were generally positive. This was the best deal I have ever had on a 2 BR suite. Room included queen beds in two separate rooms, and a sofabed in a small living area. Also full-size fridge, stove, dishes, cabinets, etc. Beds were very comfortable. Each room featured it's own television. High-speed internet was easy and free.

Service was really excellent. The woman who was on front desk (Miriam) was friendly, helpful and efficient. She arranged our wake-up call for us, and as we were leaving very early (before the limited breakfast is put out) she put together take-away bags of fruit, juice, yogourt and pastries which we got when we left at 6:00 AM. More than one expects, by far.

Downside: Location is not close to Washington, though not too far from parking at the Metro station off I-66. Suite was quite crowded--rooms are tiny. The building looks like it needs a facelift, and the walls and floors are pretty thin. We heard the family above us as they wandered around until 2:00 AM.

As we were paying very little, we didn't expect a palace. What we got exceeded our expectations and met our needs, and the service was excellent. For a limited stay with a family, this was a very good experience.

  • Liked — Price, room size, service
  • Disliked — Outdated furnishings, loud neighbours
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

We decided last minute to go to Washington, DC to see the fireworks. I researched several hotels and found this hotel for a great price. We drove about 10 miles to get to the Metro stop (Vienna, VA) to go into Washington DC.

I was able to rent a 2 bedroom suite for $74 a night over the 4th of July weekend. The room was clean except for the gum wrapper on the living room floor under the table. The one bedroom was larger than the second bedroom. The larger bedroom had a desk with the hookup for internet. We moved the internet connection box to the table in the sitting area. Both bedrooms had 19 inch TV in the room and the living room had a 27 inch (?) TV.

There was a full kitchen in the room along with 1 bathroom. The hotel offered a grab and go breakfast each morning. There were danish, bagels, juice, instant oatmeal and coffee. They had little bags with the food to take back to the rooms since there was no place to seat and eat. The coffee was available all the time.

The pool seemed to close early. It was scheduled to be open until 9PM but we noticed at 8:30PM the one night the padlock was already on the gate.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2008

Booked on hotel's website. Check in was quick and easy. The location of this hotel was great-lots of places to shop and eat nearby.
The room was a nice size studio suite with a kitchen and sitting area, the bed was wonderful with lots of pillows. The bathroom was a good size. The room was very clean.
Breakfast was grab and go and they have orange and apple juice, muffins, granola bars, oatmeal and fruit. Coffee is 24 hrs along with cookies!
My favorite part of this hotel would have to be the staff! The front desk staff was very friendly and on the last day when I accidentally dropped my earing in the sink, they sent up someone right away and within 3 minutes I had my earing. The staff was very professional and extremely helpful and nice. Without a doubt I would stay here again when in the area. (only 15 min. from Nissan Pav.)

  • Liked — Staff and Room.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South

Address: 14036 Thunderbolt Place, Chantilly, VA 20151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Chantilly
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 hotels in Chantilly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South is located just one mile from the Dulles Expo Center and ten minutes from Dulles International Airport IAD. Enjoy daily complimentary continental breakfast, spacious guest suites with fully-equipped kitchens and newly added furniture and accessories, luxurious Marriott bedding and complimentary internet access. Stay fit while staying in our Chantilly Suites hotel with a 24-hour fitness center featuring new equipment, outdoor seasonal swimming pool and jogging trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Chantilly Hotel Chantilly
Chantilly Towneplace Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.