We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was as expected, breakfast had improved.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14036 Thunderbolt Place, Chantilly, VA 20151   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Chantilly
Waynesboro, Virginia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Hotel was as expected, breakfast had improved.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at a number of Townplace Suites and this one is about as you would expect. Our studio suite had a full sized fridge, small stove, microwave and kitchen sink as well as a flat screen tv. The couch pulled out into a slightly larger than twin sized bed, good for one person, too small for two unless they were small children. Breakfast has improved since we were last at this hotel, they now have a small breakfast room, pretty typical continental fare. Rooms are clean and not too worn, location is excellent, very convenient to Dulles, 28 corridor or I66.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
6
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
winkieunc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed one night for business. I had to use the internet and that worked fine. Wireless was not advertised but I was able to connect on my phone. I did not try wireless with the laptop. The staff was really nice. The only negative thing is that the rooms by the stairs are noisy. The bed was comfortable though.

Room Tip: Don't choose 202. Very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was our first stay at a Towneplace suites and we loved it. Rooms are well lit, modern decor and comfortable. Great desk workspace and loads of closet space for anyone with a long-stay. I loved the full kitchen. You could make a more substantial breakfast if the contintental breakfast was not to your liking. Staff was friendly. Great value for money. Very close to Dulles airport. Didnt need a wakeup call, but that is to be expected at an airport hotel location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed two nights at this hotel while on a business trip. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel rooms themselves were not as impressive. They are small and the furniture and decorations are a bit dated. The rooms do have full size kitchens which is convenient, but when traveling I am content with a mini fridge a coffee pot and a microwave. The room was pretty clean overall. The bed was a bit lumpy and uncomfortable, but not terrible. The hotel does not have it's own restaurant, but there is a bar/pub within walking distance. I didn't see any other restaurants nearby, so the choice was limited. The hotel is kind of tucked back off the main road with a few other hotels and an office building so there's not much around it. I did appreciate that the pub delivered, however it pretty much just served bar style food. The hotel served breakfast which consisted of coffee, fruit, cereal, and toast or a muffin. There was no "hot breakfast" like eggs and sausage. Overall, the hotel was average, but I do have one major gripe. The convenience items for sale in the lobby (drinks, food items, toiletries) was very overpriced. I paid $4 for two 16 oz. bottles of water. I guess that's the nature of it being convenient?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I'm almost always happy with TownPlace Suites and this one lived up to my expectations.

Checking was fast, parking was fee, close to the airport and a nice room.

The only ding is that you do hear planes landing, something I would have expected them to account for. Most airport hotels have extra soundproofing due to the noise.

The TV had an expanded selection of channels including Showtime.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed here the night before our flight from Dulles Airport. Very convenient to Dulles and to the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum at Dulles. Room was small but did have a kitchen. This would be an economical choice for a long term stay. Breakfast is not much.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Nice Hotel, Clean, Close to the Airport. Wish the breakfast was a little more than cold cereal.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South

Address: 14036 Thunderbolt Place, Chantilly, VA 20151
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Chantilly
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Chantilly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South is located just one mile from the Dulles Expo Center and ten minutes from Dulles International Airport IAD. Enjoy daily complimentary continental breakfast, spacious guest suites with fully-equipped kitchens and newly added furniture and accessories, luxurious Marriott bedding and complimentary internet access. Stay fit while staying in our Chantilly Suites hotel with a 24-hour fitness center featuring new equipment, outdoor seasonal swimming pool and jogging trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Chantilly Hotel Chantilly
Chantilly Towneplace Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.