We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for quick business stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South

Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14036 Thunderbolt Place, Chantilly, VA 20151   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #12 of 14 hotels in Chantilly
winkieunc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good for quick business stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed one night for business. I had to use the internet and that worked fine. Wireless was not advertised but I was able to connect on my phone. I did not try wireless with the laptop. The staff was really nice. The only negative thing is that the rooms by the stairs are noisy. The bed was comfortable though.

Room Tip: Don't choose 202. Very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
6
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was our first stay at a Towneplace suites and we loved it. Rooms are well lit, modern decor and comfortable. Great desk workspace and loads of closet space for anyone with a long-stay. I loved the full kitchen. You could make a more substantial breakfast if the contintental breakfast was not to your liking. Staff was friendly. Great value for money. Very close to Dulles airport. Didnt need a wakeup call, but that is to be expected at an airport hotel location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed two nights at this hotel while on a business trip. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel rooms themselves were not as impressive. They are small and the furniture and decorations are a bit dated. The rooms do have full size kitchens which is convenient, but when traveling I am content with a mini fridge a coffee pot and a microwave. The room was pretty clean overall. The bed was a bit lumpy and uncomfortable, but not terrible. The hotel does not have it's own restaurant, but there is a bar/pub within walking distance. I didn't see any other restaurants nearby, so the choice was limited. The hotel is kind of tucked back off the main road with a few other hotels and an office building so there's not much around it. I did appreciate that the pub delivered, however it pretty much just served bar style food. The hotel served breakfast which consisted of coffee, fruit, cereal, and toast or a muffin. There was no "hot breakfast" like eggs and sausage. Overall, the hotel was average, but I do have one major gripe. The convenience items for sale in the lobby (drinks, food items, toiletries) was very overpriced. I paid $4 for two 16 oz. bottles of water. I guess that's the nature of it being convenient?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I'm almost always happy with TownPlace Suites and this one lived up to my expectations.

Checking was fast, parking was fee, close to the airport and a nice room.

The only ding is that you do hear planes landing, something I would have expected them to account for. Most airport hotels have extra soundproofing due to the noise.

The TV had an expanded selection of channels including Showtime.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed here the night before our flight from Dulles Airport. Very convenient to Dulles and to the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum at Dulles. Room was small but did have a kitchen. This would be an economical choice for a long term stay. Breakfast is not much.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Nice Hotel, Clean, Close to the Airport. Wish the breakfast was a little more than cold cereal.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Great value for families! We actually used our Marriot points for 1 night stay on our way to Williamsburg VA. We stayed in a studio and it was clean and spacious. Only a queen bed was available for the studio even though we prefer a king bed.

Check in was quick and the staff were nice and helpful. They even helped us locate a Costco nearby to get gas.

The location is very good for going to Dulles. Several restaurants are close by as well. We went to National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center and it is very near the hotel.

Continental breakfast was only a grab and go. It was very minimal but ok. If you are looking for a hot breakfast this won't be the place to get it. The pool is super small near the check in area so we never bothered.

All in all, were satisfied with our stay and we'll stay again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South

Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Chantilly Hotel Chantilly
Towneplace Suites Chantilly Hotel
Chantilly Towneplace Suites
Address: 14036 Thunderbolt Place, Chantilly, VA 20151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Chantilly
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 hotels in Chantilly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South is located just one mile from the Dulles Expo Center and ten minutes from Dulles International Airport IAD. Enjoy daily complimentary continental breakfast, spacious guest suites with fully-equipped kitchens and newly added furniture and accessories, luxurious Marriott bedding and complimentary internet access. Stay fit while staying in our Chantilly Suites hotel with a 24-hour fitness center featuring new equipment, outdoor seasonal swimming pool and jogging trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.