We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good one night stay at the airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14036 Thunderbolt Place, Chantilly, VA 20151   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Chantilly
Florida
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A good one night stay at the airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I'm almost always happy with TownPlace Suites and this one lived up to my expectations.

Checking was fast, parking was fee, close to the airport and a nice room.

The only ding is that you do hear planes landing, something I would have expected them to account for. Most airport hotels have extra soundproofing due to the noise.

The TV had an expanded selection of channels including Showtime.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
6
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed here the night before our flight from Dulles Airport. Very convenient to Dulles and to the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum at Dulles. Room was small but did have a kitchen. This would be an economical choice for a long term stay. Breakfast is not much.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Nice Hotel, Clean, Close to the Airport. Wish the breakfast was a little more than cold cereal.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Great value for families! We actually used our Marriot points for 1 night stay on our way to Williamsburg VA. We stayed in a studio and it was clean and spacious. Only a queen bed was available for the studio even though we prefer a king bed.

Check in was quick and the staff were nice and helpful. They even helped us locate a Costco nearby to get gas.

The location is very good for going to Dulles. Several restaurants are close by as well. We went to National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center and it is very near the hotel.

Continental breakfast was only a grab and go. It was very minimal but ok. If you are looking for a hot breakfast this won't be the place to get it. The pool is super small near the check in area so we never bothered.

All in all, were satisfied with our stay and we'll stay again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I paid 89 a night for this hotel for a multi-week stay and enjoyed it. This is one of the better long-term stay hotels in the area. For breakfast you are given yogurt, granola, nuts, oatmeal, apples and oranges, and I believe there are a few other options. It's basic but satisfying. The kitchen was well stocked and convenient. The bed was nice. I was in a room that had a smoker beneath it, but the front desk immediately took care of the problem and sent me to a different room. The exercise room is pretty sparse - a treadmill, an elliptical, and a bike, with a few hand weights; however, if you're a runner, the area just outside the hotel is great to run in. Very little traffic and some hills, so nice for an urban jog. The service and staff were all excellent. Enjoyed my stay and will stay there again, mostly because of the value and service.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for three nights while visiting D.C. to tour and attend a football game. We used our Marriott Reward Points for all three nights of our stay. I noted the very mixed reviews on this site before making my choice to stay here. For our purposes, it worked out very well. We found the front desk staff to be very friendly and accommodating. Upon arrival, we found that the beds were only queen size. We like a king or two double beds. The front desk person was going to allow us to have a suite with two bedrooms at no additional charge and/or points except one of the nights of our three-night stay was booked. I could not see making a room move during our stay so we stuck with the queen bed which worked out fine. The location was just fine for us as it was close to Dulles International and easy driving distance into D.C. We found the room to be very clean. It was cleaned on a daily basis and the sheets were changed. It was also plenty roomy for our needs. Yes, the TV was small but that type of thing really doesn't bother us. We were out of the room sight seeing most of the time anyway. There are a myriad of restaurants within a short driving distance and two immediately next to the hotel, Bob Evans and The Longhorn. We ate a Bob Evans twice enjoying it both times. The continental breakfast was nothing exceptional but both bananas and apples are available which we enjoy. Also, about mid afternoon into evening they set out freshly baked chocolate chip cookies which were delightful and coffee is available throughout the day. We'd certainly consider staying here again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

The surly housekeeping crew run this hotel. They complain about cleaning and generally refuse to do it. If you try to address the issue with management, they defend their housekeeping crew. From the dingy lobby, to the nasty breakfast, to the lumpy mattress, to the lazy housekeeping crew and obnoxious management, I can't imagine a worse or less professional hotel. warn all your friends and family to avoid this hotel. I've always considered Marriott's to be a safe bet, but not after this horrible experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South

Address: 14036 Thunderbolt Place, Chantilly, VA 20151
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Chantilly
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Chantilly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South is located just one mile from the Dulles Expo Center and ten minutes from Dulles International Airport IAD. Enjoy daily complimentary continental breakfast, spacious guest suites with fully-equipped kitchens and newly added furniture and accessories, luxurious Marriott bedding and complimentary internet access. Stay fit while staying in our Chantilly Suites hotel with a 24-hour fitness center featuring new equipment, outdoor seasonal swimming pool and jogging trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Marriott and Tingo so you can book your TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Chantilly Hotel Chantilly
Chantilly Towneplace Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.