We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic without being too strange for U.S. tastes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aquaymanto

Aquaymanto
5005 Westone Plz Ste D, Chantilly, VA 20151
(703) 657-3240
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 129 restaurants in Chantilly
Cuisines: Peruvian
Restaurant details
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Authentic without being too strange for U.S. tastes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This clean, well-run restaurant is an excellent place to try Peruvian specialties, such as Lomo Saltado and Aji de Gallina. Aquaymanto also offers ceviche, raw fish "cooked" (marinated) in lime juice and chili pepper. They prepare it well, and it's fresh and delicious.

Peruvian cuisine includes many excellent sauces, and this restaurant makes them well. The menu tells you when chili peppers are used and how hot they are.

I enjoyed a variation of Lomo Saltado that was made with fish (probably Tilapia). I loved it.

The wait staff is friendly and well-trained. Sometimes there is music in the evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

58% Recommend
    4
    3
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Don't believe the hype.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

I was staying near here and saw the positive reviews. I ordered the half chicken with yucca. The chicken was just ok, the yucca was terrible. It was completely dried out - not at all like the yucca I am used to. All in all, not worth the price plus tip. I would have been better off going to Moe's next door. I won't be back.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Everything we tasted was soooo good. I had a pulled chicken in creamy sauce and my girlfriend had the first choice on the menu. Highly recommended!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

My boyfriend and I were in the area for business and decided to try something new. Everything we ate here was very good! For an appetizer we had Causa de Pollo which was very good! My boyfriend and I both ordered the Rotisserie chicken with the yuca fries. The sauces they bring out are also very good to dip the yuca fries in. Service was very good. Although our server forgot our salads he made up for it by giving us free desert. I would highly recommend anyone to try this restaurant out!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very Good Food; Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We are cultural hounds so we thoroughly enjoyed our food here. My wife, son and I each ordered something different. My dish (a flat steak cooked Peruvian style) was a 4 out of 5, my wife's (cooked in a cilantro sauce) was a 5 out of 5 and my son's was a 1.5 out of 5 (meat was tough and the dish had way too much of beans and rice in it).

Our server, Madelina, was just great. She made suggestions, brought us samples of the local Preuvian drink (which we didn't order) and was attentive to our needs.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquaymanto also viewed

Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 

Been to Aquaymanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquaymanto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.