We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tour of the Plantation House” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sully Plantation

Sully Plantation
3650 Historic Sully Way, Chantilly, VA 20151
703-437-1794
Website
Improve this listing
Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Tour of the Plantation House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very knowledgeable staff. The tour was great and they were good with children. There is also plenty of open space for kids to run and explore some of the out-buildings on their own. It's certainly a place we go back to on a regular basis. They also have a bunch of special events, but beware these can get very crowded. I've seen the traffic really backed up for things like a Classic Cars event.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Loserboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pretty basic but OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Went to Sully expecting a version of the plantations in the deeper south. Sully was pretty much like a northern farm house as it was built in Federalist style vs Colonial. The property has all of the plantation elements, e.g. house, detached kitchen, smokehouse, dairy, school and slave quarters, but lacked any grandeur. The history of the place was interesting, dating back to the mid-1700's. Some of the house artifacts were of note as originals. A tour of the house provided but there was no access to the other buildings. Overall it is worth the fee for a one hour tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank phoenixtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A little off the beaten track and well worth your visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

There is so little left of the historic buildings in Northern Virginia, that you really should make a visit here. This is a well-restored plantation on beautiful grounds. The docent-led tours are great. While it is open all year, see if you can find out when they have their candle-lit tour around Christmas. You can find this place only be private auto but it is at the intersection of I-66 and Rt 28. Check map ahead of time and watch for signs. I think Rt 28 going N. has the best approach and it is only minutes N. of I-66.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank twoguncharly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent and through tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

One of the best tours of houses in this area. Excellent, detailed tour of a plantation and it's surroundings.

Helpful?
1 Thank ddelga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Historic Preservation is worth checking out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We enjoy going to historic, preserved buildings. We walked around the property and had an interesting tour of the house. I took many notes for my photo scrapbook.

Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sully Plantation also viewed

 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 

Been to Sully Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing