We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lesser Known Home of the Lees of Virginia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sully Plantation

Sully Plantation
3650 Historic Sully Way, Chantilly, VA 20151
703-437-1794
Website
Improve this listing
Cecilia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Lesser Known Home of the Lees of Virginia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Sully Plantation is a rural island in an urban sea. From the tranquility of the site, one would scarcely guess that Dulles International Airport and a section of the National Air and Space Museum (the one with the space shuttle) are nearby. Sully was the 1794 home of Richard Bland Lee, brother of Henry "Lighthorse Harry" Lee and the uncle of Robert E. Lee. The house is not one of Virginia's great palaces, but that difference makes it all the more the interesting. It plainly was intended to be a country seat and it is elegant in its own, less ornate way. The relaxed atmosphere is reflected in the approach of the friendly tour guides, who even allow photographs inside the house! Sully comes recommended for those who would enjoy seeing a different slice of Virginia history than Mount Vernon and Monticello.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    18
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Very pretty grounds with helpful and informative staff. I go every year to the car show that's held every Father's Day. If you're in the DC metro area with time to kill, it's a nice peaceful place to visit. However, I wouldn't plan a vacation around it.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A relaxing time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We've lived in the area for almost seven years, but finally took the time to go to the Sully Plantation. We were always going to stop by with out of town visitors, but it just wasn't happening. The tour of the home was great. Laurie did an outstanding job and was very informative. A walk around the grounds in the fall was lovely. Our toddler loved running around and checkout of all of the out buildings and fences!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice stop while waiting to exit Dulles.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My wife and I had a couple hours to kill before we needed to be at Dulles for our flight back to the West Coast. Sully Plantation really filled the bill! Sully is different from the big plantations we had visited in North and South Carolina, being smaller and less ornate. The tour guide was quite knowledgeable, and very friendly. She welcomed questions, and allowed us plenty of time for photography. The young man who manned the souvenir shop was also friendly and helpful.

Lots of interesting artifacts in the display cases, and rooms decorated and furnished as during the plantation's hayday, including the workshops and outbuildings of what was a compound designed for self-sufficiency. The main house has a large front porch, with benches, where you can admire the grounds, and even get a mental image of Jeb Stuart's cavalry camping out on the front lawn. The plantation grounds were lovely. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Small, but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is one of the smaller plantations, and as such is more easily understood. The house is smaller and more low-key in its furnishings. Battle recreations are also held here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sully Plantation also viewed

 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to Sully Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sully Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.